Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Trig
    3. Best
    • Profile
    • Following 2
    • Followers 1
    • Topics 18
    • Posts 375
    • Best 140
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Best posts made by Trig

    • RE: Tech problems

      @vondox

      Here is how tech works:

      The production phase is at the start of the turn. In it, you may do actions in any order you like. This means you may repair a facility, finish a tech, and then build that tech, all in the same turn. There is no “cooldown” turn for tech. Once you have it you have it.
      References:
      7.6 “If you repair a damaged factory, you get the technology die roll in the same turn.”

      Secondly, you roll as die to advance to the next stage, it only takes 4 rolls to get a tech. Once your roundel is on “complete” you have completed the tech.
      References:
      7.7 “Rolling the indicated value of higher on a d12 results in success and the player places a roundel on that stage of development to show that the stage is complete.”

      Major factories are not tied to a specific tech. They just grant one tech roll. This is nowhere even hinted at in the rules. Tech rolls may be used for any tech, with the only criteria that a) a tech may be only rolled for once a turn, and b) you can’t move techs past stage 2 before Jul 39.(section 7.6) You may change up your research as much as you like to suit the changing war. There is no sunk cost.

      Thus, as Germany, you start with 4 tech rolls in Jul 36. You roll one dice for wartime income, heavy armor, advanced mechs, and long range aircraft. You hit wartime income and heavy armor. You place a roundel on stage one of each.
      Next turn you have upgraded the Med. Factory, and you get 5 rolls. You roll of the above, along with advanced artillery. You hit wartime income and long range aircraft. You move your roundel to stage 2 of wartime income, and stage one of long range aircraft.
      Next Turn in Jul 37, you roll for the above, but instead of advanced artillery and wartime income, you roll improved construction and improved factories.
      This continues till Jul 39. You have 7 techs currently sitting at stage two. You roll for five of them, and hit wartime income, advanced mechs, and long range aircraft. You move the roundels on those techs to stage 3.
      In Jan 40,with good luck you roll and hit long range aircraft and advanced mechs again! You move your roundel to the last box: “completed.” As of this point, you now have long range aircraft and advanced mechs. This turn your planes get the bonus. This turn you may build advanced mechs.

      I hope that makes sense.
      You may house rule as you like, but this is the official rules.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Tech problems

      @vondox Just a note, Germany can’t build majors in East Prussia. It isn’t German Home country.
      That said, if you have 6 factories, you will be getting absurd amounts of tech. But 6 is also overkill on the most part. You usually can get what you want with 5 at most. I don’t see many nations going above 3 or so. Maybe 4 for the UK and 5 for Germany, US and USSR.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: What if Abyssinia Survives?

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast
      @Chris_Henry
      @insaneHoshi
      @bretters

      Errata:
      “Vichy Reference Sheet:
      French Controlled & Aligned Minor Powers:
      Remove “Controlled” from this sentence:
      “All French Controlled/Aligned Minor Powers””

      If the war is not over, Abyssinia does not align.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Fortifications on shorelines

      @jkempi54
      Same as land. One border for each zone you want to defend against. So you would need 3 forts in Normandy for complete coverage.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Italian campaign in Abyssinia clarification

      @panzerbaguette I believe that since it refers to “normal rules” both sides may attack any territory of the other, like any other nations at war. Thus, Abyssinia may attack Italian Somaliland.
      Eritrea is only important as it is what Abyssinia wants to take to win and end the war.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • Southern Norway Coastal Artillery

      This may seem like an odd thing to post on, but bear me out.
      On the Norwegian setup, there is a Coastal Artillery on the the SZ 12 border.
      cd6de59a-a521-4f65-bdac-f68f190ac97b-image.png

      On several YouTube videos we see it in adjacent to Sea zone 13:

      Here from Fortress Jinx:
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHckEKbbs4M&t=873s 21:36 min in.
      97e97fdb-260a-45a5-aea5-2111101f105b-image.png

      Here from Panzer King:
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7p5_ef39xd4 9:22 min in
      987d17f5-e10e-4798-8b9a-4247b57f3648-image.png

      Here from General Hand Grenade:
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoaDN-NYvLk&list=PLXHm3hvGKeziUOvG_qia52uLw0wFLm0sa&index=4 at 1:22 min in.
      339f68fd-e686-4b01-9524-5cefafa2bbd5-image.png

      Here from Cobra Wargaming:
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUu1UcM8Y7A 50 sec in.
      6e29177b-cf5d-433a-9d8b-b26e46956bd3-image.png

      What is correct?

      Keep in mind that this coastal gun is probably based off the famous Oscarborg Fortress: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oscarsborg_Fortress
      Which is located here:
      bb105a10-7517-40a6-bde0-2609e959267e-image.png

      Thoughts?
      I believe that the gun should be on 13, and 12 is a setup mistake. The historical status agrees, as does the boards of many prominent community members.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Japanese surprise attack clarification

      @panzerbaguette My thought is that if you are amphibiously assaulting, it is a two part attack in both the land and nearby sea. Since you cannot split it into two separate discrete combats, the two are intrinsically tied. Thus, ships bombarding or landing troops (or even screening) would qualify for the bonus, as they are taking part in some part of the attack.

      On a side note, would you have to use the surprise attack on a screening force if there is one? You sort of lose the element of surprise when you blow up the pickets.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Are We Forced to Place Units from the Production Chart?

      @theveteran Militia are really quite strong due to their low cost and flexibility in building. They are the perfect cannon fodder in large numbers.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Italian campaign in Abyssinia clarification

      @panzerbaguette @insaneHoshi @HMS-Serapis
      Note that you cannot fly over the canal at all. It is in a land zone, and you cannot move through a neutral land zone. Only a friendly or hostile one.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Questions on the outcome of Spanish Civil War

      @noneshallpass It’s another holdover from v2. It it one got +1 IPP/turn from having won the war, not +inf/turn. The V3 way is a little more valuable. :)

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Danish straits and "warships" meaning

      @didier_de_dax In this case, I believe it it doesn’t matter
      “Submarines may move through closed straits but not closed canals.”
      So that UK sub can go through.

      As for the “surface warship” I believe that is just an emphasis. It is just redundant.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Danish straits and "warships" meaning

      @didier_de_dax Warships is defined as just “surface ships with an attack value.” That does not ever include subs. Surface warships is just bad wording, being redundant.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @insanehoshi My thought is that since AAA is a land unit, anything referring to “land unit” such as terrain or forts, applies. Also, it is listed as having an attack and defense value on the battleboard and rulebook, so I would say that it does have an attack and defense.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Panzergrenadier placement

      @didier_de_dax Considering the become available after attaining Adv. Mech, I would say you need to build them in home country. Same with Katyushas or other such nation-specific tech units.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: 2.1 Variable End and CCP Possession of Nanking

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast said in 2.1 Variable End and CCP Possession of Nanking:

      Page 13, 2.1 Variable End, “Add +1 per Major Power capital that is Enemy-possessed.”

      The KMT is not a major power. Case closed.

      Unless it evolves. Then yes.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @HBG-GW-Enthusiast
      The FAQ is up on two questions:

      Q: Are the Bering sea and Hudson Bay sea zones adjacent?

      A: No

      Q: Do Island Nations (Great Britain and Japan) count as blocaded if their remaining naval facilities are damaged?

      A: No.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: Allies on French transport than turns Vichy

      @caesar-seriona I do that that is being a bit harsh, there are so many situations that come up once in a hundred games, and with a game this size you can’t hit everything.

      I would agree that they are removed. Going Vichy sounds just wrong, and disembarking also doesn’t sound as plausible, and has no basis in the rules. The remove from the board does have a basis in a surrounded Paris.

      That said, this one needs an errata.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • RE: USSR entering China

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast No one your last point. To share a territory you must be aligned. (From the same side and at war with the same major power.)
      That means to share Sinkiang, both the USSR and CCP would need to be at war with Japan, or FEC, or something like that.

      posted in Global War 1936
      TrigT
      Trig
    • Task Forces

      So I for one have been watching the GW85 facebook page and noticed that task forces seem to come around alot. There always seems to be some mention of task forces or their importance or disrupting and forming them, etc… So to anyone who knows, how to these work? Does it represent flagship capabilities? Is it a glorified army marker? What does it do? I heard something about a use in ASW. I understand if the designers wish to not reveal this information, but some of us out here would like to know a little.

      posted in Global War 1985
      TrigT
      Trig
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 6
    • 7
    • 2 / 7