Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. SouthsideCH
    3. Posts
    S
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 15
    • Posts 28
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by SouthsideCH

    • RE: Lessons Learned Global 1940

      @Gargantua:

      You could call this a Tips and Tricks thread, or a Strategy Thread, but I figured the best thing to call it, was:

      The “Lessons Learned” Thread

      11.  Taking a French African territory nets the axis +1.  Taking a British African Territory nets the Axis +1 but the Allies -1. so net +2.

      I love when the Axis takes an African or Asian French territory. That means when Allies take it back, they now get the IPCs from it whereas before they could not.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: Help needed against Japan

      Subs, subs, subs and more subs. Forces them to protect transports. Forces them to spend more money on destroyers and less on ground troops for mainland. And they are cheap!!

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • House rule suggestions

      It seems every time we play there are certain things we just don’t understand. While we understand the rules sometimes they just do not seem rational.

      Does anyone have house rules addressing the following?

      1. Artillery supporting infantry during an amphibious assault.

      2. If I move a sub or a destroyer-less navy into a convoy sea zone, forcing the enemy to submerge, why can they convoy me?

      3. It does not make much sense that scramblers are defenders, especially in some cases involving tac bombers.

      4. I get that Kamikaze attacks have to choose their target. But if I bring in 3 cruisers, 2 battleships and a carrier and they choose to hit the battleships, shouldn’t the cruisers get to bombard? They can’t take part in the defense against the Kamikaze.

      5. Convoy Disruption seems easy. There are no ill effects to the disruptor. If you can intercept when facilities are being attacked it makes sense a navy in that sea zone should be able to do the same.

      I would love to hear some input on these as well as any house rules ideas.

      posted in House Rules
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: Ugh, every time we play there are questions, help!!

      Thanks so much!!

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • Ugh, every time we play there are questions, help!!
      1. Please explain sub on sub battle with no other ships present.

      2. Is the rulebook wrong about sea zones 6 & 19 only affecting 8 IPCs to convoy disruption? I count 9 & 11 respectively if Japan owns all the adjacent territories.

      3. Can you theoretically role convoy disruption against 2 countries in one round from same sea zone?

      4. If I have a carrier with 2 fighters on it in a sea zone and my enemy plops down surface ships or subs in the place units phase, can I still role for convoy disruption?

      5. US tried but failed to take Rome. After the battle the US left 4 transports, a carrier with 2 fighters on it and a cruiser in sea zone 97. Later in the round the Brits came in with 3 loaded transports only. Can the Italians scramble one fighter and stave off that amphibious assault even with the US navy there too?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: Russian - when are they part of the allies…...

      @Colt45:

      Have to be at war with Euro-Axis to move into non-russian territory on European half of map.

      Thanks for the reply. Seems rational. Is that why you say that or is there a written rule?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • Russian - when are they part of the allies…...

      …as it pertains to rolling into pro-allied neutrals in non-combat movement?

      They cannot declare war on Germany until turn 4. They can declare war on Japan in turn 1. Does that mean they can roll into pro-allied territories in round 2? Don’t think they can reach any in turn 1.

      Technically they might only be allies with China. That good enough?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: Anzac omission?

      @ShadowHAwk:

      Guess in the EU rulebook there is a line about neutrals and they specify all the countries.

      But anzac are allowed to take over friendly neutrals ( not that there are any in reach but they could )

      So it is an error of omission?

      Yea, I agree there are not a lot of opportunities for Anzac to control these territories, maybe Brazil, maybe Persia.

      Thanks for the reply.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • Anzac omission?

      As far as taking over friendly neutrals, why is Anzac not allowed to? Is this a error in the rulebook?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • Some China clarifications please
      1. When the rulebook states that “China’s resources can not be mixed with those of other Allied powers” what does that mean exactly?

      We are currently in a game now, turn 4, where Russia and Japan are not at war. The Russians have evacuated the east and are working their way back to Moscow. After getting past Mongolia they decided to enter Kansu, alongside a Chinese infantry unit. Is this allowed? Is it allowed if Russia and Japan are at war? Not at war?

      1. I understand the Chinese can leave their marked territories in two examples. But is that only if they have been taken by Japan and the Chinese are liberating them? Or can they enter Brit-owned Kwangtung and Burma to bolster defense?

      2. If any of the Allies capture Manchuria or any of the other original Japanese controlled Chinese-marker territories, do the IPCs go to the Chinese economy?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: Does an airbase make a seazone hostile?

      Scratch question 2. Defender gets to scramble before any dice are rolled.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: Does an airbase make a seazone hostile?

      That brings up some interesting questions for me.

      1. if I am the Japanese and the US attacks me in the Carolines with 2 loaded transports, a fighter and a tac bomber (carrier to be moved there later in non-combat movement) all I have to do is declare I am scrambling a fighter and then what? I have to roll to hit, or both of his loaded transports are dead for free? And round one survivor can flee?

      1a) Lets say he brings the carrier. I still scramble. US is the attacker so he cannot attack my scrambling fighter with his carrier. Is that carrier now defenseless too? Or does he absorb a hit on carrier, transports and carrier retreat, no matter what happens in battle of Carolines fighters are destroyed?

      Marsh, I read the rule you posted before I posted my initial reply. I seriously do not think it applies to amphibious assaults without accompanying prior sea battles.

      Read rules of defenseless transports, page 20 Europe Rulebook. Mentions only the “defender” having only transports. Are you saying roles are reversed now? Bottom line is I do not think a scramble can stave off an amphibious assault.

      Another, somewhat related question.

      1. If as Germany I want to attack all the surface ships around the UK can I declare a strategic bombing attack against his air base with a lone strat bomber, knock it out and he cannot scramble later? That assumes he does not intercept on that particular attack. Am I reading it right that there is a certain sequence in combat?
      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: Does an airbase make a seazone hostile?

      I disagree. I think the transports get to load, offload for free in this example. Attacker has to announce their combat moves. If there is no threat to the transports present in adjacent sea zone there is no combat there. If there is no combat there how can defender scramble fighters to sea zone?

      And, if presence of an air base made a sea zone hostile, transports could not even load their cargo. If this were true it would change the game, dramatically.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: The Cliffside Bunker House Rules

      We have been playing with the VO’s for a few months now and love them. We played one 1942 scenario recently and could not wait to get back to the VO’s.

      We really like shooting for something meaningful and the reward system of the R&D makes it very interesting. The system makes for a much better game.

      Playing for 12-15 hours with Japan is limited to their home territory and still won’t concede can be taxing. This eliminates that. We have tied before which is fine.

      We will try the other house rules soon.

      Chris

      posted in House Rules
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: War declarations

      Ok, thanks for the reply. I was afraid of that. We are only 1 turn into it and Germany did not go into Finland so its not like I took that away from him. I will put pieces back and adjust IPCs.

      Chris

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • War declarations

      Sometimes I like the '42 version as it is cut and dry from jump.

      Turn 1 Japan does not declare war on anyone, just attacks China. Same turn UK and Anzac declare war on Japan to get bonuses as they still have Malaya and Kwangtung. America is still neutral. Japan now gets to attack UK and ANZAC for free in turn 2 or 3 right? America still can’t declare because attacks would be provoked?

      Also, any rules against Russia attacking and taking Finland while not at war with Germany?

      Thanks guys.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • Sub question

      I am always confused by submarine warfare. So here goes, specific scenario.

      A Russian sub and cruiser attack a German Cruiser and transport. The Germans were able to scramble 3 fighters is this specific sea zone.

      From what I understand if the sub misses I still get to defend even without a destroyer. Can I defend with the planes too?

      The battle finally got down to a Russian sub vs German transport and 3 fighters. Does he still have to roll to hit the transport? If he misses can planes defend?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • RE: Confused about Neutrals

      @taamvan:

      “as a noncombat move by land units of a power
      that is at war”

      since the AAA gun is a land unit, I don’t see why not.  Nothing under AAA says that it is limited during the noncom.

      Ok, if the Axis attacks and fails, the territory does indeed belong “to the Allies” and to a certain power you choose (Russia, UK etc.).Â

      But, you cannot independently attack with those units, load them on transports, or get the income, until you have “liberated” the territory by placing a friendly allied land unit there.

      Example;
      Italy attacks Yugoslavia.  All the Italian units retreat or die after the first round of combat.  They get no casualties or hits.  Place a face down UK marker and 5 UK infantry there.Â

      Now, the twist is that you CAN land airplanes there (after it has been unsuccessfully attacked by the Axis), as just as the DEI territories, they always friendly.   However, you cannot assert control with air units.   So, you can never place markers, take income, etc until a land unit has visited that territory.  Â

      Only after “taking” the territory during noncoms can you flip the control marker, add the income, and begin controlling the infantry (next turn).  Â

      This will happen very rarely.

      The exception is Mongolia.  If Japan activates war by attacking a Russian held territory adjacent to Mongolian held territory, you place the control markers and the infantry.  They are imm. under the control of Russia and can move or attack starting on its next turn.  You can blitz through the empty (non Japanese held) zones on your turn; you don’t have to stop and control them.

      In other cases, (through an untouched Persia to untouched or enemy marker northwest Persia), you cannot blitz because you cannot blitz during noncom and you must stop to “raise flags/place control marker” even if you had 1 move left.

      Thanks so much. So the scenario was this: Italy attacked Greece, failed miserably. We gave it to UK. Turns later a UK fighter from Jordan flew to SZ 97 to attack a wounded Italian BB. It won, and I wanted it to land in Greece. That’s cool?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • Confused about Neutrals

      I will give a specific example. I know an ally has to move into Greece during non-combat with a land unit. Just curious, can it be an AAA unit?

      Also, continuing with the Greece example, I am confused on what happens when Italy attacks it and fails. Rulebook says it immediately becomes part of the alliance it is friendly to. Allies pick which of its countries will be used when converting their standing army. But a control marker is placed face down.

      Question is can any unit now move into it now? Like an aircraft? Or does it still have to be a land unit?

      Oddly enough this has happened a lot recently. Poor Italians….

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • It's April 25th, ANZAC Day

      Who knew? Apparently the Turks mounted a pretty stiff defense in WW1 at Gallipoli and ANZAC paid a heavy price.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      S
      SouthsideCH
    • 1
    • 2
    • 1 / 2