I agree with @Trig. It’s not a common situation and could have been easily overlooked in the rules. The FAQ likes to contradict me lately, but I also feel that it would be lost.
Best posts made by Noneshallpass
-
RE: Allies on French transport than turns Vichy
-
RE: Lend-leasing of a French Foreign Legion?
If we had definitive answers to all these questions, this forum would be pointless.
Sometimes the answers are clearly in the rules but we missed them and sometimes they require interpretation and sometimes there is no answer to be derived from the existing rules and we get a FAQ or Errata.
-
RE: Lend-leasing of a French Foreign Legion?
Lol @HBG-GW-Enthusiast !
Made me laugh as much as the @GeneralHandGrenade example of building a Romulan War Bird since the rules do not say you can’t.
It has been stated multiple times that in GW1936 if the rules do not say that you can do something, you can’t do it.
-
RE: American Atlantic Fleet
The United States began providing weapons to Great Britain long before they were at war.
Our games always begin by upgrading facilities for the extra tech roll. That is pretty much what the US can spend it’s money on at first.
-
RE: American Atlantic Fleet
Note that the USA rules were changed in the Errata a while ago :
Income-Determined Actions: (Page 2, Applied to v3.4)
Add: “US movement is very restricted in the beginning of the game. They can only move within their Home Country, until they reach a certain income level:”
At 15 IPP they:
“May close Panama Canal. May lend-lease to Spanish Factions (only one Allied sender per turn) and nations at war with a Major Power. (page 2)
At 35 IPP they:
“May move ships, build facilities and reinforce Pacific Islands. Ships must end movement bordering US land zones. May perform Escort duty for Allied Convoy Lines in the Atlantic Ocean within 3 sea zones of US Home Country.”There are also a couple of clarifications in the FAQ :
Q: Is the USA able to upgrade its existing facilities before reaching 35 IPP income?
A: Yes
Q: I am still confused about the USA limits on ship movement. How can US ships perform escort duty ‘within 3 sea zones of US Home Country’ and still ‘end movement bordering US land zones’?
A: You can non-combat move ending adjacent to US land zones.
Escort duty is a combat move. You are able to do that “within 3 zones of US Home Country" -
RE: Armies Retreating house rule
You would drop one paratroop behind enemy lines or land one marine in an adjacent coastal zone to prevent the retreat in that territory.
-
RE: The FAQ Thread
In your example, if the British plane in the Sea zone is on Maritime Air Patrol (MAP), then it will be ignored since MAP only engages enemy naval units (Rule 8.7).
If the fighter is on a carrier in the Channel, then the Bomber cannot pass it when Combat Moving Aircraft, as it may only fly over Enemy-possessed land zones and sea zones if there are no enemy fighters in that zone (Rule 8.3).
Finally, to answer your main question, since the rule about saving enough movement points is itself in the rule for Combat Moving Aircraft (Rule 8.3), then this calculation should be based on the state of the board during that phase and not on a possible state of the board after combat as occured.
Since you do not have to declare yet where you will land, the Combat phase may open additional options for you (especially if you use Optional rule 10.2) but I think that you must at least have one valid option at the start of the Combat Movement phase or the move is illegal.
The only exception could be taking into account carriers that are moved for the purpose of creating a valid landing spot for your attacking aircraft, but that may end up damaged or destroyed, depending on the outcome of the naval battle in the destination sea zone. I don’t see this in the rules either, but I think it’s a mechanic carried over from the Axis & Allies games.
-
RE: The FAQ Thread
So you just prevent strategic bombings by placing MAP in all the coastal Seazones ? I don’t think that is what is intented…
-
RE: Peacetime Income Increases via D6+3 Instead of D12
@HBG-GW-Enthusiast I prefer giving credit to the game designers and leaving games as they were made.
This means that I have to accept that I am not that great at Chess (even if a random promotion of a Pawn to a Rook after x moves would help me) and can get lucky or unlucky in Poker (even when we are way passed due the Ace of Spades coming on the river).
GW1936 has both a preset and random aspect in peacetime increases so that all games don’t turn out the same. I respect your choice to house rules your games. It’s just the pretention of a universal luck/fun ratio that I don’t buy at all.
-
RE: Peacetime Income Increases via D6+3 Instead of D12
I think that the variance in the dice nicely reflects the pre-war politics. It was not granted that the USA would get involved in the War. It took an attack on Pearl Harbor. Stalin did not want to believe that Germany would attack the USSR despite all intelligence to the contrary. The D12 outcome may represent the relative influence of different political opinions towars war within a nation. There are breaking points, but the Axis have to manage rapid expansion vs provocation. It’s part of the fun of this game to have alternative outcomes and that not all games follow the histrorical timeline for declarations of War. A year or two delaying the USA into the war may make all the difference for the Axis.
-
RE: Rolling for turn order
The capacity to play 2 turns in a row (3 for Germany if you count Blitzkrieg), combined with units that have themselves a blitz ability seems simply too overwhelming. You could be from the Soviet border into Moscow before the USSR player can do anything about it and he can’t outbid you to prevent it early in the game due to the income difference.
To compare with the bid mechanic in War Room, ressources are much more comparable for major powers (everybody is at war), all turns are simultaneous and combat ends movement (no blitz). Turn order is still important but not crushing.
-
RE: Commanders and Terrain?
@Trig and @TheVeteran and I are all saying the same thing.
All units defend at the number that they were at the start of the combat round.
So it does not matter if they take a hit (except for first strikes) and if the result of the hit is to destroy them or, as in the case of capital ships, move them to a lower Defense roll level that will only apply at the start of the next combat round.
-
RE: Special Fortification Zones
This rule must be understood as an exception to Rules 12.7 (Fortifications) and 12.9 (Coastal artillery).
Usually, you have to decide which land/sea zone these emplacements will protect. Rule 12.8 says that some areas are so small that all borders are protected.
I have always understood 12.8 (a) to be referring to a named territory, that can be shown either as a single island (Crete) or a group of islands (Philippines, Midway, Solomon Islands).
While the wording is a bit vague, I never undestrood this to include the larger islands that are composed of multiple named territories. They are not “small areas” of the map if they encompass more than one territory.
-
RE: The FAQ Thread
If you eliminated all defenders, there cannot be any further rounds of attack. Your retreat is not “in lieu of” another round.
I do see that the Rule 9.4 says “any combat round”. In table 9-2 it is at step 7.
As they stand, the rules do not prevent a retreat from an empty territory, but this feels wrong.
-
RE: Lend-leasing to newly captured territories
This was FAQ’d :
Q: If you capture a land zone during the combat phase, could you lend-lease to that territory during the same turn?
A: No