Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Noneshallpass
    3. Best
    N
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 10
    • Posts 273
    • Best 97
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Best posts made by Noneshallpass

    • RE: Radar's Convoy Modifier

      In addition to rule 7.8, which clearly says that with Radar “Escort ships gain +2 to their escort modifier roll” if you look at the Technology Reference Sheet (v3.0) :

      As soon as a nation develops ASW technology, it gets the following advantages: Defending
      convoys gain a +1 to their convoy raiding roll.
      (…)

      Radar gives the nation the following advantages:
      Defending convoys gain +2 to their escort modifier roll

      My understanding is that in the case of ASW the +1 applies to the D6 roll regardless of escorting ships. In the case of radar, it is not +2 to the convoy line, but per escorting warship.

      I think that you are correct that the table 9-8 is misleading when it says only “+2 if having rardar technology”.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: What happens when the Allies declare war on Vichy?

      On a counter-point, rule 4.4 mentions:

      “Once Aligned a Minor Power and its units become part of the Major Power for all purposes and ceases to exist as a separate nation for the rest of the game. KMT, CCP and Free French are exceptions to this rule as they do not become incorporated into their Aligned major power and are run as separate nations with their own National Reference Sheets”.

      See also “Aligning” in Appendix B with the same examples (KMT/CCP/Free France).

      Is Vichy missing for that list or is this intended?

      I also realize that the Vichy document is called a Quick Reference Sheet and not a National Reference Sheet.

      If @CaptainNapalm is correct and only Free France may recapture Southern France without tuning Vichy units and territories to German units and territories, then the odds of this happening are not very likely.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: What happens when the Allies declare war on Vichy?

      I looked for something similar about when the alignment takes effect in the rules but did not find it.

      If you have to declare war before combat and declaring war causes the minor power to align, then Vichy would turn German before the combat takes place and we are back to the original question.

      I personally think than an aligned Vichy should keep its own units, but this needs to be addressed in the Errata.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      MAP may need its own Quick Refererence Sheet with multiple examples given or a new video by @GeneralHandGrenade

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast said in Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships:

      Page 35, Maritime Air Patrol, Starting a Patrol: “Move aircraft into position within range and place a Maritime Air Patrol marker underneath.”

      Does anyone do this? First, is there even a MAP marker we can purchase? Second, do we really need to do this? If there is a plane flying in a sea zone, it’s on MAP, right? Third, how does it work if someone wants to fly MAP in a sea zone where you are also going to have naval combat. Say you are moving 2 BB’s, 2 CA’s and 2 CL’s into a sea zone containing an enemy BB, CA, and CL. You also fly a sea plane into that sea zone on MAP and decline to participate in the naval combat. So you fight out the naval battle without the sea plane, correct?

      HBG has a “Combat Air Patrol” marker which can serve that purpose. CAP was introduced in Axis & Allies Pacific, I believe.
      fd598b69-be05-4dfe-811e-5ba41406c57e-image.png

      If you don’t have the markers, a colored chip under the plane can do the job.

      I think it’s a good practice to distinguish between your aircraft left on MAP an aircraft that must return to base during the non-combat move, as they do not have the same range.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships

      @HBG-GW-Enthusiast Sorry if I confused you with my previous comment. I think that when you consider that one MAP is enough to stop all subs and then you place all of them on the battleboard as @Trig pointed out, it makes things simpler.

      I does not mean that the MAP and DD will actually get a shot at each sub, considering the possible option to submerge, just that they are part of at least one round of naval combat and that is enough to stop them in that zone. The extra subs just don’t get a free pass because they outnumber the MAP aircraft.

      At least my dubious answer got you to clarify things!

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: A dumb technology question

      If there was any doubt, with the 1939 setup, some powers start with tech at stage 1 or 2, for instance Japan has Long Range Aircraft (Stage 1) and Heavy Battleships (Stage 2).

      Therefore, all other tech are at zero (no marker on the Technology Chart), so you indeed need four successes to complete a tech.

      Also remember that if you start in 1936, you cannot research beyond stage II before July 1939 (Rule 7.6 and Global War Tech Sheet), which should also prevent all nations from ending up with all the techs.

      I have yet to see a game when even the technology superpowers like Germany and the USA have acquired everything.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Another dimension - Defender Retreats

      Some retreat concepts are found in the Winter War expansion where ski troops in defense may retreat and in the Deutsch Afrikakorps expansion where armor units may retreat even if they are the Defender.

      The desert terrain rules (1.9) also force Attacking vehicle-class units to retreat on a roll of 12.

      The “Attack Weakness” Special Ability states that each KMT regular infantry and cavalry that rolls a 10 or more retreats from the battle to the zone it attacked from.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: How to incent Chinese Civil War battles in 2-play?

      Part of the Chinese Civil War rules that the CCP and KMT can form a truce.

      The only downside with 2 players is that the controlling player has no incentive to break the truce with himself and can choose to make strategic attacks against Chinese Warlords to turn their units and territory to the other faction.

      However, this is still closer to the rules than having the Japanese play one Chinese faction.

      On the broader picture, the same is true for Allies and Comintern if they are played by the same player. You would not give the Axis player control of one faction or the option to force a conflict between them.

      It’s not ideal playing a three-player game with only two, but it still makes for a challenging game. The rules are complicated enough has they are.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: HBG’s Spanish Civil War version 3.0 (Admiral)

      Hello, I have not played with these specific rules, but one possible interpretation could be that the fighter must be based and return there, in practice limiting his combat moves to the Eastern coast of Spain. Does this make sense?

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Spanish Civil War - 2 players - Issues

      The possibility to win a free Blue Division/International Brigade infantry unit each turn after a win can also represent a 30+ IPP boost over the course of the game for either Germany or the USSR, which is a good return on the investment.

      Even in a two player game, Germany should invest in the SCW because the lend-lease represents a much smaller fraction of its income than the USSR’s and so these ressources are not spent on the defense of the USSR as long as the Civil War drags on.

      I don’t see how any side can afford not try and win the SCW and just give Spain to the other side.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Global war 1936 V3: defender fighter/tactical movement after destroyed carrier

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast

      Interesting comment. I admit that I missed that one on page 35.

      However, I still have a problem with planes pulling double duty, such as fighting in the naval battle and then declaring MAP when the carrier is sunk.

      Plus, if the carrier is sunk, they are not « aircraft on Carriers » anymore. MAP aircraft still needs to have a legal landing within range (see Elimination also on page 35).

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: +5 IPP for America if Italy attacks Free France?

      The US NRS says France, not Free France. They are not the same power.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: "Originally Belonged"- Japan Annam Tonkin

      No. The capturing power would just keep it, as the original owner (France) does not exist if still Free France and Japan is not the original owner.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Air Transport logistics

      I think option 4) is definety out, as there in nothing in the rules that allows you to transport more than a single unit in one turn.

      There is also an additional scenario not mentionned:

      1A. Air transport can only move from Zone A to Zone B, but may pick up an infantry along the way and must end its turn in the same zone where the infantry is unloaded.

      Looking forward to read the correct on in the FAQ.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      Chinese VPS: Since KMT and CCP share home country territories, does either faction holding on to territory subtract VPs from the other? Does this effectively mean that China VPs for either faction if all or nothing and is that intentional.

      Yes, they are part of different alliances.

      “An Attack on China” in order for the warlords to align, China (Warlord or KMT or CCP) need to be attacked. Does this mean that if the KMT goes to war with Japan, Japan cant counterattack without causing the warlords to align?

      Any Japanese attack against KMT, CCP or Warlords will cause the Warlords to Align (Rule 4.9).

      Can either Chinese faction Lend Lease? When they are a major power?

      Only Major Powers may lend-lease (0.9 Glossary). KMT or CCP becomes a Major Power once its land zone IPP values add up to 13 IPP.

      Can a Fighter participate in intercepting a bomber and a battle defending a territory in a single turn

      No, you have to decide what it does and declare your interceptors (Table 9-9).

      When do aircraft count as being “On a carrier” when it comes to auto MAP and the optional Carrier planes retreat rule.

      Planes in a sea zone with a carrier are on the carrier and may also be considered to be on MAP. Planes in a sea zone with no carrier can only remain there on MAP

      Can a fighter scramble to defend: the strategic bombing of a facility with AA, the strategic bombing of a facility without AA (railway), an unescorted convoy line, an escorted convoy line, an AWS convoy line?

      Scramble to defend all facilites, yes (see Errata). Convoy lines no, only aircraft on MAP may participate (Table 9-7).

      Can you lend lease to nation yours is at war with (if all other conditions are met)?

      Why would you want to do that?

      Can Russia game its income by declaring war on Germany as soon as possible, and then declaring war on every single neutral around its home country to force them to become German owned and get like 8d12 income in July 1939

      No, as the increase you are referring to is peacetime income (USSR NRS v. 3.3). At war before full wartime income, it will only get the Sleeping Bear roll.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Scramble from adjacent land zones

      Your question covers two different situations.

      If the attack is a strategic raid against your factory, then I don’t think that you need to have units in the zone to scramble from adjacent zones.

      If the attack is a combat move, then you do need at least one defender in the zone to scramble from adjacent zones.

      You are correct that damage to the airbase will prevent scrambling.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @insanehoshi said in The FAQ Thread:

      Just because they may lend lease, doesn’t mean they can. Since the CCP and KMT lack an explicit permission to do so (like all other nations) on their sheet, one could say they might not be able to.

      1. The basic rule is that Major Powers may send lend-lease (Rule 7.9 and Glossary).

      2. The Glossary adds that “Lend-lease specific notes and restrictions are described on each player’s National Reference Sheet”, not that only Major Power with these with these notes may lend-lease.

      3. As @HBG-GW-Enthusiast correctly pointed out Lend-lease in at least mentioned in the KMT NRS under Turn Phases.

      In the end, the odds of either Chinese factions reaching Major Power status AND having spare ressources to lend-lease are pretty low, so this debate is mostly theorical.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @generalhandgrenade in you Declarations of War video, when you move your British fleet next to Tokyo you say
      « I didn’t tell you that was a combat move. I don’t have to declare War on you yet. ».

      Obviously if you are doing it during your Combat Phase, you will have to attack something in that zone by the end of the turn, so Japan knows that if he wants to block you he must declare war when the fleet enters zone 65 first.

      There has to be some leeway for the players to figure out the timing of the declaration of War, especially if you skip over the zone that you have to go through to get to Tokyo when you move your fleet.

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • RE: Does the Global War 1936-1945 board game (third edition) actually exist? How can I buy one?

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast said in Does the Global War 1936-1945 board game (third edition) actually exist? How can I buy one?:

      I have selected the 4’x8’ map for you. The 3’x6’ map is too small and the 5’x10’ map is too big.

      If you have the room for it, 5’x10’ is the way to go. Just budget a custom table… this one is not for the kitchen table!

      posted in Global War 1936
      N
      Noneshallpass
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 3 / 5