@andrewaagamer thank you Andrew, that is exactly what I needed
Posts made by nishav
-
RE: Help! American declaration of war privilege
-
RE: Help! American declaration of war privilege
@squirecam so his argument that the restriction in the fourth sentence remains in effect is invalid?
-
Help! American declaration of war privilege
America has the privilege of a special declaration of war at the beginning of their Collect Income phase at the end of turn 3. Generally America always declares war at the earliest point because there is a vested economic interest in doing so, but in this particular instance I chose not to because I could declare war on Germany and Italy to get the NO income and force Japan to decide if the $10/turn from leaving us alone in the Pacific was worth it. Then on turn 5 I declared war on Japan as he had moved his fleets fully into the Indian Ocean and could pressure the Home Islands and Manchuria. However the new player running Japan has argued that I cannot declare war after Turn 3. Per the rules:
The United States may not declare war on any Axis power unless an Axis power either declares war on it first or captures London or any territory in North America, or Japan makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the UK or ANZAC, after which it may declare war on any or all Axis powers on its following turn. However, if it’s not yet at war by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, the United States may declare war on any or all Axis powers at the beginning of that phase. This is an exception to the rules for declaring war (see “Declaring War,” page 12), which may normally be done only at the beginning of the Combat Move phase.
His argument is, rules as written, the second sentence does not remove the restriction of the first sentence, it merely provides a specific exception to both the previous sentence and the general rules for Declaring War. Therefore, he argues, the rules state that if the United States does not exercise it’s privilege to declare war on any or all Axis powers at the beginning of it’s Collect Income phase in turn 3 it does not have the ability to pro-actively declare war against the remaining Axis from that point on. He further argues that from a thematic standpoint, isolationist politics being what they were, in the absence of a direct attack on American interests, there would be a narrow window of time in which a pro-active American declaration of war could happen.
My question is does anybody have a good argument to counter this other than “we’ve always done it this way” because with the rules written as they are I don’t seem to have a leg to stand on, despite the absurdity of the situation.
-
RE: The Irish Sea
@krieghund interesting, thank you. So, then, UK doesn’t even need a transport to activate Eire, they can simply non-combat the Scottish infantry in on Turn 1?
-
The Irish Sea
I can’t imagine it ever mattering for strategy purposes. But the pedant in me demands clarity. Where is the line between Sea Zones 119 and 109 in the Irish Sea? Is it assumed to be down the middle of the North Channel where the roundel is stamped?