So we had this situation arise from our game this weekend:
At the end of G3, Germany places two transports into SZ113. Germany is NOT at war with USSR. Also in SZ113 is a Soviet sub and Soviet cruiser.
At the beginning of G4 Germany declares war on Soviet Union. What is the ruling on those transports? There are no German combat ships in that sea zone.
My German opponent wanted to load those two transport and drop the troops off into SZ115 to reinforce Finland. If I had aircraft in Novgorod (and I did), could I scramble to destroy those transports in SZ115?
Since they are beginning the turn in a hostile SZ, don’t they have to move during the combat movement phase? And if the move to offload to a SZ adjacent to a territory where I have aircraft at a function airfield, can’t I scramble to defend that sea zone?
There were so many moving parts to this issue (in our minds) we weren’t sure how to proceed.
*edited for correction, Soviet cruiser not transport