Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. moompix
    3. Posts
    M
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 0
    • Posts 118
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by moompix

    • RE: Dutch Territory Question

      If the UK isn’t at war with Japan and doesn’t plan to be, then all its moves will be non-combat moves.

      If they are at war with Japan, are making combat moves, and it’s a friendly game, it probably doesn’t make a difference.

      But no sneaking past Japanese ships to take Dutch territories at the beginning of the combat move phase, then provoking war with Japan later in the turn. It’s also my understanding that you can’t non-combat units past Japanese ships and then non-combat units into China, provoking war.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Possible new rule book, and/or boxes with correct stuff?

      The Errata for the Anniversary edition is bigger. Who’s demanding updated rule books for that?

      The power of a little extra tartar sauce is amazing.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Getting extra pieces?

      @Richter:

      As I got my Pacific game on Thursday and set it up on the weekend, I must ask a (maybe) stupid question.

      Whats going on here. 6 tacs are not much I agree, but you “only” need 5 (japanese) for Setup - so you could either buy turn 1 or split one group.

      Use chips for planes??? That’s crazy talk  :-D

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Combat move. Pre DoW question

      @fanofbond:

      Can a jap transport move through an allied controlled seazone?
      While i’m on the subject of questions can us planes land in either Anzac or uk  territories before the dow.

      If Japan is at war with any of the allies in the sea zone, and there’s a ship that you can’t ignore, then the answer is no.

      If Japan is not at war with any of the allies in the sea zone, but will be by the end of Japan’s turn, and there’s a ship that you can’t ignore, then the answer is no.

      Japan can move past allies it is not at war with, to attack allies it is at war with, provided none of Japan’s moves will result in war with the moved through power.

      The answer to your second question is no. US planes can only land in US territories or on US Carriers, when it is not at war.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: UK/ANZAC at war question

      @Krieghund:

      Yes.

      Take it, this declaration is effective before your movement, no matter when you make it. No non-combat moving past another powers ships or into the same sea zone, then declaring war at the very end of your turn.

      I’m liking the idea of a rule that a power must declare war before its combat move phase, or it doesn’t get to make combat moves against another power or end its turn at war with that power, except the US auto declare, of course.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: UK/ANZAC at war question

      @Krieghund:

      Yes, you missed something in the errata.  You must be at war to make a convoy raid.  The intent was that declaring war is an action you take on your own turn, rather than on someone else’s.

      But is declaring war an action you can make without doing anything else? (UK Player - Purchase units, move nothing, declare war on Japan, place units???)

      I only remember reading about the other actions that resulted in a state of war. Like UK moving units into China, etc.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Getting extra pieces?

      @skinny1:

      Why couldn’t WotC send them out with the new battle strip in February when they said the battle strip will be sent? I would much rather prefer that than wait until AAE40 is released. I think it would be a better decision to send them sooner than later to keep the fan base happy.

      The cost of making the Japanese TACs, would be a lot higher than if they wait and make them when they were planing to make others anyway. The ideal time to make them would be when they do a second print run of this game, if they were planing to or needed to. Second best time would be when they make the TACs for Europe.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Getting extra pieces?

      @valthonis:

      You think or you hope?
      I mean from a WotC business point of view which makes more sense to them?  Reprint setup cards and send out more units or reprint setup cards?

      I think.

      I haven’t heard anything about them sending out new setup cards. I’ve heard of new Battle Boards.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Getting extra pieces?

      I think there’s virtually zero chance they will adjust the setup. They will eventually make 6 more Japanese TACs available. Maybe including them in E40 and sending them to those who ask. However, they won’t be manufactured until they make the TACs for Europe, if they haven’t made those yet.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Ok We Give Up

      @bcguitars:

      @Frontovik:

      subs can’t do more damage than a countries’ value
      so japan + korea: max of 11 damage, even with 6 or 7 or 8 or 91569 subs ;)

      You missed the errata.  You can block an extra IPC beyond the maximum if using 90,000 subs or more.

      Great! Now I have to get WotC to send me 89988 more subs. No. I won’t use chips, my ceiling isn’t that high.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Craziest rolls you've seen in AAP40?

      @Razor:

      That should teach you a lesson: Never leave your expansive units alone without protection/fodder.

      I disagree with Razor. If those three UK planes are all that can hit your planes, you should do the exact same thing again. His attack was a bad move, try to get him to make it again.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Can US land on Celebes before war is declared?

      @WILD:

      I thought I read in another topic that the UK/Anz could noncombat air to the Dutch at any time (unless of coarse it was Jap controlled). I must of miss read (or it changed), my bad.

      Yea you did read it in another topic, but then Krieghund changed his mind. :? and added:

      I don’t think that UK/ANZAC planes should be allowed to land on Dutch or French territories while they’re still Dutch or French controlled, unless they are at war.  The reason for this is that powers not at war are prohibited from moving units into territories belonging to other powers.  The UK/ANZAC exception to this rule is the ability to take control of these territories with land units only.  This seems to indicate that the UK or ANZAC can’t move units into these territories until either they’re at war or they take control of them, and they can’t do that with air units alone.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: New Tac Bombers for my set, painted fgtrs

      @Autarch:

      Someone posted pics (somewhere) of Vals in about the same scale as the game aircraft. They came unpainted in a bag of 4 and you had to glue the landing gear on. For the life of me, I can’t recall where or the name of the company that made them. Any ideas?

      Tumbling Dice UK is the name of the company. 1/600 scale. The Vals are a little smaller than the Tacs in the game, but are bigger than the fighters.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Questions about DEI political situation.

      Thanks Krieghund.

      I take it the following would be correct then:

      While not at war, the US can’t move into French and Dutch territories at all.

      After it does join the war, the US can’t take control of the French and Dutch territories with a noncombat move. That is something only the UK and ANZAC can do.

      The US can take control of the French and Dutch territories, if it liberates them from Japan.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Questions about DEI political situation.

      If Japan has captured New South Wales, but hasn’t taken Western Australia, Northern Territory, and South Australia. Can the UK take control of those three and collect their income?

      There are two different ways to move into the territories of an ally whose capitol is controlled by the enemy:

      1-If the territory is currently controlled by the enemy, you fight, liberate, and then take control of the territory, until the capital is liberated.

      2-If the territory is not controlled by the enemy, you noncombat move into it.

      Do both situations result in you taking control of the territory, if done with land units?

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Does this indicate limited run or pacific1940 bieng fixed?

      Could just mean the distributor is sold out, and needs to order more copies from the manufacturer.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Getting extra pieces?

      @Butcher:

      Now that we have gotten the battle strip and tac bomber issues handled, we should try to get new boxes from WOTC with correct set-up info on them.

      The easier solution for them, if people start demanding new boxes, would be to not include the setup changes in the official errata, when it’s released.

      Or they could just say No to new boxes, which is what they will most likely do.

      Nice to see they are probably going to be sending people more Tac Bombers.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: War

      @Krieghund:

      If Japan does not provoke war, the US will declare war in the Collect Income phase of its third turn.  This means that its income will increase by 40 on turn 3 and it will be able to attack on turn 4.

      Hi, first post time.

      I think this is one of those situations where someone familiar with the rules doesn’t see the ambiguity.

      Does the Declaration of war, and the resulting increase in income, happen before or after the US collects its income in the Collect income phase of the 3rd turn?

      My suggestion to make it clear would be to replace the phrase “the US will declare war in the Collect Income phase” with “the US will declare war at the start of the Collect Income phase”… Unless that’s in correct.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • 1 / 1