Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. moompix
    3. Posts
    M
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 0
    • Posts 118
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by moompix

    • RE: Yet another dutch territory question

      (page 19)
      Air Units can land in any territory that was friendly at the start of your turn.

      (page 8 )
      Territories are:
      Friendly
      Hostile
      or Neutral

      Hostile territories are controlled by an enemy power
      Neutral territories aren’t controlled by any power and have a white border

      If the Japanese have not captured the Dutch territory, it would be considered friendly to the US.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Transports

      @dinosaur:

      Could it unload during the noncombat move of the same turn?

      @Krieghund:

      Once a transport offloads, it’s done for the turn.  It can’t do anything else. …

      If it moved in the combat move phase, it can’t move in the non-combat phase.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: AAP40 FAQ

      @Van_Trump:

      Can ANZAC (or UK) land fighters on unoccupied Dutch territories during non-combat move?
      Does this count as taking possession of territories?

      _The United Kingdom and ANZAC

      … As a result, they are free to move units into these territories as a noncombat movement at any time, as long as they have not yet been captured by Japan. They may actually take control of them (gaining their IPC income) by moving land units into them._

      The answers to your questions are
      Yes
      No

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Transports

      The AA Gun can move with a transport during a combat move, if it was loaded on a previous turn. (page 25)

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: When is the non combat with US broken?

      @dinosaur:

      Krieg,

      Even an unoccupied Dutch Territory?

      This could be better clarified in the FAQ with another sentence.

      But anyways

      What brings each power into the war is described in their section. There is nothing in the US section that says the US is allowed to declare war on Japan, just because Japan attacks a Dutch territory, so they can’t. However, in order to attack a Dutch territory Japan must be at war with the UK/ANZAC. If Japan was the one who declared first, the US can declare war anyway, attacking the Dutch doesn’t matter. If the UK/ANZAC declare first, the state of war that allows Japan to attack the Dutch exists, but none of the things which allow the US to declare war have occurred, so they aren’t brought into the war.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Dutch Territories and Captured Capital Rules

      The newest FAQ update changed that. The Dutch are not treated like a nation with a captured capital anymore, they have a special arrangement with the UK and ANZAC, that allows only those two powers to take control through a non-combat move. The US can’t take control in this same way. However, if Japan has taken over a Dutch territory, the US takes control if they kick Japan out.

      For example, if Japan takes India but Malaya is still British, will landing Aussies in Malaya automatically turn Malaya to ANZAC?

      No. It does not.

      The allies also can not take the French territories over with a non-combat move, because it is treated like a nation with a captured capital.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: How many units can china put out in one teretory

      There is no limit.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Big News!

      @Veqryn:

      so… i have to go to post office, find a big enough envelope, and mail it to them?
      can’t i just complain on the phone and take a picture of my 6 tac bombers and bad battlestrip beside an unhappy face?

      ps:
      can i have a link to the official wizards page with these instructions of where to send it to, etc…

      They probably aren’t going to care if you fold the one your sending in. So, using a standard envelope will most likely be fine. The total weight of the battle strip, standard envelope, and a piece of paper is less than a ounce so a single first class stamp will cover the postage.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: SBR: 1981-2009

      During the escort/interception encounter, I think the bombers should be allowed to fight using their machine guns, needing a 1 to hit.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Submarine FAQ Question

      @allboxcars:

      (Wow I just spent way too long with 50x errors!!)
      Anyway, I was thinking some UK player might to trigger a Japanese DOW.

      …and just trying to proof the FAQ. Bad habit’s die hard.

      You can’t trigger war or make someone else trigger war. War is declared at the start of your movement phase. (officially unofficially right now)

      If the UK and Japan aren’t at war, the UK is free to move unescorted transports through sea zones containing Japanese subs.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Submarine FAQ Question

      @allboxcars:

      @Krieghund:

      A.  Each transport or group of transports that is not escorted will be fire upon once by each sub in the sea zone.

      And that should be “may”, right?

      I don’t think your opponent will insist you make the attacks, if you really don’t want to.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Victoria

      In order to be a playable territory, it must have its own name printed on the board.

      In order to be considered an island, it must be a single territory, surrounded by a single sea zone.

      Victoria is a coastal territory.

      Tasmania is not playable.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Submarine FAQ Question

      @Col.:

      Does the submarine pick its target or does the defender (needs to be asked since I thought it was like an AA gun)?

      The player moving the transports removes one transport for each hit scored. That’s in the book and the faq answer didn’t change it.


      What’s the definition of a Group?

      Lets say 6 Transports decide to move through a sub’s sea zone unaccompanied. They all start in  SZ-A, move together into SZ-B which contains the sub, 3 of the transports now move to SZ-C and 3 move to SZ-D.

      Moving out of a sub’s sea zone doesn’t trigger this special attack, only moving into or through.

      Was this really one group that became two groups, or was it considered to be two groups from start to finish?

      How about?

      3 transports start in SZ-X, move to SZ-A which contains 3 more transports, they all move together into SZ-B which contains the sub, 3 of the transports now move to SZ-C and the other 3 stay in the sea zone with the sub.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Submarine FAQ Question

      @Krieghund:

      Thanks, Ryx.

      The wording of the FAQ answer leads me to believe that each group of transports that moves through the sea zone unescorted may be fired upon.  Anybody else see that?

      Yes, that’s why it was the third option. But, it seems to not quite fit with idea of all movement being considered to take place at the same time.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Submarine FAQ Question

      @Krieghund:

      Based on the wording of the rules and FAQ, what would you guess the answer is?

      My guess is that a sub can make this special attack once in the combat move phase and once in the non-combat move phase.

      A sub can attack any transport that moves into or through its sz unaccompanied by surface war ships, in either combat or noncombat movement.

      Normally “either/or” is used to emphasize that only one of two things is possible, not both. And here, could be taken to be a reference to when the sub can attack. However in this case, my guess is it is being used to emphasize that it doesn’t matter which type of movement the transport is making, and is not being used to restrict the number of opportunities the sub can have to make this special attack against an unaccompanied transport.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: IPC's

      They were intentionally not included.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Submarine FAQ Question

      @kcdzim:

      Movement is still simultaneous, and by eliminating the vague wording from before of needing a warship in that seazone, there is no leapfrogging possible.  You’re moving 6 unaccompanied transports through on the same phase (combat move).  5 of them are getting shot at.  If you move another 6 through on noncombat, 5 of them are getting shot at.  It doesn’t matter which move point or if there are multiple paths or groups:  6 unaccompanied transports find themselves in the enemy subs’ seazone.  5 are getting shot at.  Just like Kamikazees, the firing occurs after the combat move is finalized, but before the combat phase occurs.  You can’t adjust as you go based on how severly the subs slaughtered your transports.

      I agree with that. Don’t actually roll for the attacks, while moves are still being made. Note which transports moved through a particular sea zone unaccompanied, then make a single attack roll against all of them. It’s really not going to be a big deal keeping this straight. Players are going to make sure their transports are accompanied most of the time. You might have a few unaccompanied moves through sub infested waters per game, tops.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Submarine FAQ Question

      Once per phase could lead to the following:

      A player moves a lone unloaded transport through a sea zone containing 5 enemy subs. The subs attack, most likely destroying the transport. That player now safely moves 5 fully loaded unaccompanied transports through the sea zone.

      Of course, this may be the last game of A&A that player plays with that group, but still.

      You could choose to not shoot at that first transport, obviously the player is trying to be sneaky, best wait for the juicier target.

      What if the player tries to move them one at a time through the sea zone? as a way to try and insure only one can be destroyed, or as a way to make it so only one sub shoots at each transport. Lets say the player has 5 transports that might make a move through the sea zone containing 5 subs. He moves one. OK, he’s up to something, I’ll fire with just one sub. He moves another, I’ll fire with another sub. He moves a third, I’ll fire with my third sub. He doesn’t try to move any others through the sea zone. If he had moved them all at once, all 5 of the subs would have fired, making a kill more likely.

      I don’t really expect the errata to try and cover this situation, though. I can take care of it myself, with a quick toss out the door.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Submarine FAQ Question

      I think what’s a little fuzzy now, is how many times a sub can make this special attack during the enemy’s turn.

      Is it once during the entire turn?

      Is it once per phase?

      Is it once per group of transports moving through its sea zone?

      Obviously, each sub only shoots once, when a single group of any number of transports moves through on their way to a specific sea zone. But, there could be two separate groups making two separate moves from different sea zones and/or to different sea zones.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • RE: Question about the built-in AA on bases & IC's

      There are rules that list what happens when a facility becomes inoperable. losing their AA ability isn’t on the list, they still have it.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      M
      moompix
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 6
    • 3 / 6