Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Momentum
    3. Posts
    M
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 4
    • Posts 18
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by Momentum

    • RE: Russia declaration of war

      A neutral power cannot make a move into a neutral territory (E40 rulebook, pg 15, “Powers Not at War with One Another” side bar, under “Neutral Powers”)

      The Soviet Union is still considered to be a neutral power on the Europe map even if it is at war with Japan (E40 rulebook, pg. 37, continuation of Soviet Union’s “Political Situation, National Objectives, and Bonus Income”, under Political Situation)

      Taking both of these rules together, the Soviet Union must be at war with either Germany, Italy, or both to move into any neutral territory, pro-Axis, pro-Allies, or strict on the Europe Map.

      So the answer to your question is a definite no.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: Unified Global Rules

      Thank you for all of your responses.

      @Karl7 The reason the rules at the end of the two 1940 rulebooks are not sufficient is that it is just a list of changes to the combined game. Also, some rules are only in the Pacific rulebook and not in the dominant Europe rulebook, therefore it would be nice to have all the rules that apply to G40 in one place.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      M
      Momentum
    • Unified Global Rules

      I would like to create and make public to the A&A community a document that treats G40 as its own game (i.e. format a rulebook that is explicitly for G40).

      But I first need to know if this is legal, or if it would violate copywrite law (even if it is free as this would be).

      Does anyone have the answer to this?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [AA50] NOs as Victory Conditions

      Here is one way to do this:

      The goal of the game is to hold 19 victory points at the end of a round (after US turn).

      Each VC held is worth one point and each NO currently completed is worth one point with the following exceptions:

      • For any NO that says “at least one of the following” a point is gained for each of the territories listed.

      • The USSR’s NO that is worth 10 IPCs is worth two points.

      (The exceptions ensure an equal number of points can be gain from NOs for each side.)

      In the 1941 scenario (for which these rules are made)
      The Allies would start with 17 victory points
      The Axis would start with 8 victory points (If Japan takes Philippine Islands the Axis would have 10 and the Allies 15)

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • [AA50] NOs as Victory Conditions

      I wish to implement the NOs as additional options for victory.

      This would mean a certian number of VCs or NOs would be enough to win the game.

      I will post my ideas on this later, but I want to know other people’s ideas on this.

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      @Corpo24: Thank you for posting and playtesting.  Glad to hear you found it balanced, but if you find a overpowering strategy please just post it here.

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      @ Argothair,  Sorry for not responding. I have been very busy over the past few months.  About the NOs being to powerful.  I reduced the NOs power by cutting down on the amount of NOs that are available instead of reducing the IPC bonus for collecting each.  And about the territories being faster to take, that is the whole point of the scenario, that it is faster.  This doesn’t mean I am set in stone on the NOs staying the same though, but I need data from games to edit/remove/add them.

      @Corpo24: Thanks for playing!  Can you please provide some pros and cons you experienced?

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: I Can't Repair My Battleships!

      @Caesar Seriona: Sorry for the misquote you now have on your post as I modified my post.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: I Can't Repair My Battleships!

      I know I sounded hypocritical by saying this is not a question than asking one, but my point of even posting it was to start a discussion.  I also wonder how many of you actually followed this rule.  This came to me when I was thinking about that classic A&A rule about you can only do Phases X, Y, and Z if your capital is taken.  I thought it was weird and made no sense definitely that your ally can’t heal your capital ships like you guy brought up.

      By the way, the rule book actually addresses the issue of UK repairs (to an extent as you will soon see), as the Global rules state that “An economy whose capital is held by the Axis can’t collect income, spend IPCs, or repair units (pg. 35 of both rule books)”. The rule book also says that the two economies makes their own separate repairs so I am assuming that only repair your ships with Naval Bases on the territories that would belong to that economy who retains their capital should they fall into the hands of the UK.

      But what economy would the Allied capitals fall under as they can never be controlled by the UK, as the definition of the economies in the rulebook rely on UK owning territories.  Therefore the rulebook (as far as I know) never say what economy the non-UK territories fall under…

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      M
      Momentum
    • I Can't Repair My Battleships!

      The Europe rulebook (the one that has precedence in the normal rules according to the Global rules) on page 21 says “The original controller is still in the game but can’t collect income from any territories he or she still controls and can’t buy units. The player skips all but the Combat Move, Conduct Combat, and Noncombat Move phases until the capital is liberated. If that power or one on its side liberates the capital the original controller can once again collect income from territories je or she controls, including territories reverting control to him or her.”

      This is not necessarily a question, but if I take this literally I must skip the Purchase and Repair units phase if my capital is captured  and lose my ability to repair capital ships!

      Was this intended, by accident but should be taken as a rule anyway, or by accident and should be ignored?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      @ taamvan: About those NOs being to powerful: Remember this is a different setup, and taking said spaces are not necessarily as easy. (Not opposed to changing, just don’t want to change as it is not tested enough)

      About the Atlantic/Island NO purposed: Might add if other NOs are to powerful/weak or game is not dynamic enough in the Atlantic/Pacific. (I think these are great ideas, if more people want them I might go ahead and change this.)

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      Finished a Round 1 solo playthrough.

      I like the setup for the most part and addressed a few issues with an update.

      Notes: I did not like the allied navy being so strong, so I re-examined the G40 setup as I needed to get it more close to half (as I tried with most placements) anyway.

      The Mediterranean was awful, it was not dynamic and UK was way to strong. � I split the Italian navy up and remove the UK Figh. in Gibraltar.

      I move a 2 USSR Inf. to Yukat SSR. to make the Japan-USSR/China fight more dynamic.

      Please let me know what you think of these changes.

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      @innohub: Thanks for the information.

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      @ Corpo24: Thank you for telling me you will try it out.

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      @innohub Thanks for the offer anyway.  I might solo the first round soon.

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      I don’t know how to play by forum.  I looked at that forum a few times and it seems more that just posting your move.  It seems to rely on TripleA somehow. I don’t have TripleA or know how to use it.  I would need some explanations on how to play by forum before doing so.

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • RE: [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      None, as I said in the post it’s untested.

      I really only have 2 people that will play games with me. One of them hates A&A and the other is currently playing a game of G40 with me, so it is really unfeasible for me to test it right now.

      Due to this there may be blatant errors I over looked. Most “edits” from G40 (besides scaling, obviously) are on the Russian front to prevent an absolute destruction of Russia by Germany.

      You could also just crush France rather easily, but it seemed to me that that would be unwise, as it would put units out of position to attack Russia.

      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • [1942 Second Ed.] 1940 Scenario

      [Last Edited Aug 21, 2017]

      Hello. � I am new to these forums. And although this is a bit bold for a first post, here are potential rules and setup for a(n) (untested) 1940 Scenario for 1942 2nd Edition. ( I know this is not the first time this has been tried/done.)

      Please test, tell me of errors, mistakes, or loopholes in my rules, or suggest rules for playability or depth.

      (Yes, it is heavily based of G40’s setup, and is meant to be a shorter 1940 game. You could also just use it as an alternate setup if you only have 1942, but you will have to study the G40 Rules and get some stand-in pieces for the nations and unit you don�t have pieces for.)

      Materials

      Use the 1942 2nd Edition Map.
      Use the G40 Units.
      Use G40 Unit Prices
      Use G40 Unit stats and abilities (except Naval Bases and Air Bases do not allow units to move an additional space)

      Victory Conditions

      The Allies when the war if they control 10 victory cities at the end of France�s turn.

      The Axis when the war if they control 9 victory cities at the end of France�s Turn.

      Political Situation

      Please note that this section refers to the Political Situation only. This does not include the so-called �NOs�.

      The Political Situation rules are identical to the G40 Political Situation rules, except that the Soviet Union can declare war on Germany/Italy starting on its 3rd turn and the United States can declare war on the Collect Income Phase of its 2nd turn (i.e. both nations can come into the war one round earlier).

      The Neutrals already printed on the map cannot become aligned at all, with the exception of Mongolia (and that only due to a Japanese violation of the Soviet-Mongolian Defense Pact. �

      The territories with upside-down NCM (roundels) on them are Pro-Sided Neutrals. � The ones with British NCM�s are Pro-Allies and the ones with German NCM�s are Pro-Axis. � They act the same way as Pro-Sided Neutrals in G40, with the exception that their standing armies are equal to their IPC value times the number of NCM�s placed on them during setup.

      The East Indies are Dutch (marked by putting a gray unit chip on the territory), and operate like a Dutch territory in G40.

      National Objectives

      Germany
      Not at war with USSR:

      • 5 IPC for not declaring war on the USSR
        At war with USSR:
      • 5 IPC for Axis controlling Karelia SSR
      • 5 IPC for Axis controlling Russia

      Soviet Union
      At war with Germany or Italy:

      • 3 IPC for controlling Finland
      • 3 IPC each for each original German or Italian territory the USSR controls
      • 5 IPC for controlling Archangel and no Allied units on original USSR territories

      Japan:
      Not at war with USA:

      • 5 IPC for not declaring war with the USA and not making a unprovoked declaration of war against UK, ANZAC or France
        While at war with UK, ANZAC, France, or USA:
      • 5 IPC for Axis controlling India
      • 5 IPC for Axis controlling Hawaii
      • 5 IPC for Axis controlling New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Wake Island

      United States
      While at war:

      • 10 IPC for controlling Western United States, Central United States, and Eastern United States
      • 5 IPC for controlling Philippine Islands

      China
      While at war:

      • 6 IPC for Allies controlling Burma

      United Kingdom
      At war with Germany or Italy:

      • 5 IPC for controlling all original UK territories (awarded to UK Europe)
        At war with Japan:
        -5 IPC for controlling Malaya and Kwangtung (awarded to UK Pacific)

      Italy
      While at war:

      • 5 IPC for no Allied surface warships in sea zones 14, 15, and 17
      • 5 IPC for Axis controlling Morocco, Algeria, and Libya

      ANZAC
      At war with Japan:

      • 5 IPC for controlling New Guinea and Solomon Islands
      • 5 IPC for controlling Western Australia, Eastern Australia, and Malaya

      France

      • 6 IPC worth of units first time France is liberated

      Additional Rules

      The Turn Order is same as G40.

      The Danish Straits (controlled by Northwest Europe) and the Straits of Gibraltar (controlled by Gibraltar) operate (including the sub rules) on the G40 rules. � The Turkish Straits are always impassable.

      Manchuria and Kiangsu are considered original China territories.

      All other territories� originality is determined by who owns them at the beginning of the game according to the scenario setup.

      The China rules are the same as G40 (including the ability to move into and temporarily control Kwangtung and Burma), except they can never buy artillery.

      The UK�s economy is split as in G40, with Pacific claiming (if it controls it, of course) income from the following territories (and all others going to Europe):

      • All original UK, ANZAC, China, and Japan territories
      • Philippine Islands and Hawaii
      • Evenki National Okrug, Yukat SSR, Buryatia SSR, and Soviet Far East

      The American Factory rules work the same way, except the C. Un. St. does not have, nor receive a factory of any grade.

      The Soviet-Mongolian Defense Pact works the same as G40, except if the Japanese violate the pact the USSR takes control of Mongolia and receives 3 free infantry in Mongolia.

      Germany may not move any units into the Baltic States on its first turn, even if it declares war on the USSR.

      Air bases are useless on non-coastal territories, as the extra move rules is removed from them in these rules. As a result all land-locked air bases from G40 setup are not represented in this setup.

      Starting Income

      Germany: 18 IPC
      Soviet Union: 32 IPC
      Japan: 13 IPC
      United States: 38 IPC
      China: 4 IPC
      United Kingdom (Europe): 19 IPC
      United Kingdom (Pacific): 10 IPC
      Italy: 7 IPC
      ANZAC: 5 IPC
      France: 13 IPC

      Setup

      NCM (Roundel) Setup
      4 IPC: 1 China
      5 IPC: 1 ANZAC
      7 IPC: 1 Italy
      10 IPC: 1 UK Pacific
      13 IPC: 1 Japan, 1 France
      18 IPC: 1 Germany
      19 IPC: 1 UK
      32 IPC: 1 USSR
      38 IPC: 1 USA
      Brazil: 1 UK (back)
      Finland: 2 Germany (back)
      Persia: 1 UK (back)
      France: 1 France
      Morocco: 1 France
      Algeria: 1 France
      F. West A.: 1 France (use red unit chip if not owned)
      F. Equ. A.: 1 France (use red unit chip if not owned)
      F. Mada.: 1 France (use red unit chip if not owned)
      F. Indo China: 1 France
      Italy: 1 Italy
      Southern E.: 1 Italy
      Libya: 1 Italy
      Italian E. A.: 1 Italy �
      Sinkiang: 1 China (if owned, otherwise leave empty to mark as China owning)
      Anhwei: 1 China (if owned, otherwise leave empty to mark as China owning)
      Szechwan: 1 China (if owned, otherwise leave empty to mark as China owning)
      Yunnan: 1 China (if owned, otherwise leave empty to mark as China owning)
      E. Australia: 1 ANZAC
      W. Australia: 1 ANZAC
      New Guinea: 1 ANZAC
      Solomon I.: 1 ANZAC
      New Zealand: 1 ANZAC
      Malaya: 1 ANZAC
      West Russia: 1 USSR
      Belorussia: 1 USSR
      Baltic States: 1 USSR
      Ukraine SSR: 1 USSR
      India: 1 UK Pacific, if owned
      Burma: 1 UK Pacific, if owned
      Kwangtung: 1 UK (or UK Pacific, if owned)
      Borneo: 1 UK (or UK Pacific, if owned)
      Philippine I.: 1 USA
      Wake Island: 1 USA

      Chip Setup
      East Indies: 1 Gray Chip

      Germany Setup

      Land
      Germany: 11 Inf., 3 Art., 2 Mech., 3 AAA, 1 Figh., 2 Tac., 1 Bom., 1 Maj., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Northwest Europe: 2 Inf., 1 Art, 4 Tank, 1 Figh.
      Norway: 2 Inf.
      Poland: 2 Inf., 1 Tac.
      Bulgaria Romania: 3 Inf., 1 Figh.
      Total: 20 Inf., 4 Art., 2 Mech., 4 Tank, 3 AAA, 3 Figh., 3 Tac., 1 Bom., 1 Maj., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.

      Sea
      5: 1 Bat., 1 Tran.
      7: 1 Sub.
      9: 1 Sub.
      Total: 1 Bat., 2 Sub, 1 Tran.

      Soviet Union Setup

      Land
      Russia: 1 Inf., 1 Art., 1 Mech., 1 Tank, 1 AAA, 1 Tac., 1 Maj.
      Archangel: 1 Inf.
      Karelia SSR: 5 Inf., 1 Art., 1 AAA, 1 Figh., 1 Min., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Belorussia: 2 Inf.
      Baltic States: 2 Inf.
      Ukraine SSR: 5 Inf., 1 Art.
      Caucasus: 1 Inf., 1 Min.
      Buryatia SSR: 5 Inf., 1 AAA
      Yukat SSR: 4 Inf.
      Total: 26 Inf., 3 Art., 1 Mech., 1 Tank, 3 AAA, 1 Figh., 1 Tac., 1 Maj., 2 Min., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.

      Sea
      4: 1 Sub.
      5: 1 Cru.
      Total: 1 Cru., 1 Sub.

      Japan Setup

      Land
      Japan: 3 Inf., 1 Art., 1 Mech., 1 Tank, 1 AAA, 1 Figh, 1 Tac., 1 Bom., 1 Maj., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Manchuria: 6 Inf., 1 Art., 1 Figh., 1 Tac.
      Kiangsu: 6 Inf., 2 Art., 1 Tac.
      Iwo Jima: 1 Inf.
      Okinawa: 1 Inf.
      Formosa: 1 Figh.
      Caroline I.: 1 Inf., 1 AAA, 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Total, 18 Inf., 4 Art., 1 Tank, 2 AAA., 4 Figh., 3 Tac., 1 Bom., 1 Maj., 2 Air B, 2 Naval B.

      Sea
      60: 1 Bat., 1 Car. (1F,1T), 1 Des., 1 Sub, 1 Tran.
      61: 1 Cru., 1 Des., 1 Tran.
      50: 1 Car. (1F)
      Total: 1 Bat., 2 Car. (2F,1T), 1 Cru., 2 Des., 1 Sub., 2 Tran.

      United States Setup

      Land
      E. Un. St.: 1 Inf., 1 Art., 1 AAA, 1 Figh., 1 Min., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B,
      C. Un. St.: � , 1 Tank, 1 Bom.
      W. Un. St.: 1 Inf., 1 Art., 1 AAA, 1 Min., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Midway: 1 Air Base
      Hawaii: 1 Inf., 1 Figh., 1 Air B. 1 Naval B.
      Wake Island: 1 Air Base
      Philippine I.: 1 Inf., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Total: 4 Inf., 2 Art., 1 Tank, 2 Figh., 2 Tac., 1 Bom., 2 Min., 6 Air B., 4 Naval B.

      Sea
      11: 1 Des., 1 Tran.
      48: 1 Des.
      53: 1 Cru., 1 Sub.
      56: 1 Bat., 1 Car. (1F,1T), 1 Tran.
      Total: 1 Bat., 1 Car. (1F,1T), 1 Cru., 2 Des., 1 Sub., 2 Tran.

      China Setup

      Land
      Szechwan: 5 Inf., 1 Figh.
      Yunnan: 2 Inf.
      Sinkiang: 2 Inf.
      Total: 7 Inf.

      United Kingdom Setup

      Land
      United Kingdom: 2 Inf., 1 Mech., 2 AAA, 1 Figh., 1 Bom., 1 Maj., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Iceland: 1 Air B.
      E. Canada: 1 Inf., 1 Tank, 1 Min., 1 Naval B.
      Gibraltar: 1 Naval B.
      Egypt: 1 Inf., 1 Art., 1 Mech., 1 Tank, 1 Naval B.
      A-E Sudan: 1 Inf.
      South Africa: 1 Inf., 1 Min., 1 Naval B.
      India, 3 Inf., 1 Art., 2 AAA, 1 Tac., 1 Maj., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Burma: 1 Inf. 1 Figh.
      Malaya: 1 Inf.
      Kwangtung: 1 Inf., 1 Naval B.
      Total: 12 Inf., 2 Art., 2 Mech., 2 Tank, 4 AAA, 3 Figh., 1 Tac., 1 Bom., 2 Maj., 2 Min., 3 Air B., 7 Naval B.

      Sea
      6: 1 Bat., 1 Cru.
      8: 1 Des.
      10: 1 Des., 1 Tran.
      13: 1 Cru.
      17: 1 Car. (1T), 1 Des., 1 Tran.
      35: 1 Bat., 1 Des., 1 Tran.
      Total: 1 Bat., 1 Car. (1T), 2 Cru., 4 Des., 3 Tran.

      Italy Setup

      Land
      Italy: 5 Inf., 1 Art., 2 AAA, 1 Figh., 1 Bom., 1 Maj., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      Southern Europe: 1 Inf., 1 Tank
      Libya: 1 Inf., 1 Art., 1 Mech, 1 Tank
      Italian E. A.: 1 Inf., 1 Art.
      Total: 8 Inf., 3 Art., 1 Mech., 2 Tank, 2 AAA, 1 Figh., 1 Bom., 1 Maj., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.

      Sea
      14: 1 Des., 1 Sub., 1 Tran.
      15: 1 Bat., 1 Cru., 1 Tran.
      Total: 1 Bat., 1 Cru., 1 Des. 1 Sub., 2 Tran.

      ANZAC Setup

      Land
      E. Australia: 2 Inf., 1 Art., 1 AAA, 1 Figh., 1 Min., 1 Air B., 1 Naval B.
      New Zealand: 1 Inf., 1 Figh., 1 Air B. 1 Naval B.
      Malaya: 1 Inf., 1 Naval B
      Egypt: 1 Inf.
      Total: 6 Inf., 1 Art., 1 AAA, 2 Figh., 1 Min. 2 Air B., 3 Naval B.

      Sea
      39: 1 Cru., 1 Tran.

      France Setup

      Land
      France: 4 Inf., 2 Art., 1 Tank, 1 AAA, 1 Figh., 1 Maj., 1 Naval B.
      United Kingdom: 1 Inf., 1 Figh.
      Trans-Jordan: 1 Inf.
      Morocco: 1 Inf.
      Algeria: 1 Inf.
      French W. A.: 1 Inf.
      Total: 9 Inf., 2 Art., 1 Tank., 1 AAA, 2 Figh., 1 Maj., 1 Naval B.

      Sea
      14: 1 Cru.
      33:1 Des.
      Total: 1 Cru., 1 Des.

      Edit Log

      Note: General spelling and typing errors and rearrangement of information will not be recorded here, only actual changes to content.

      Aug 19, 2017:

      • Added Turn Order rule (under Additional Rules)
      • Added Turkish Straits rule (under Additional Rules, in the straits paragraph)
      • Finished the incomplete China Rules paragraph (under additional rules)
      • Added note about Air B. (under Additional Rules)
      • Added tips for players not owning enough French or Chinese NCM’s for setup (UK Pac. tips were already there.)
      • Removed extraneous Air B. in Caucasus in USSR setup
      • Removed repeat of Naval B. in Malaya from UK setup (it is still in ANZAC setup.)
      • Added Edit Log (I know this is a bit overkill…)

      Aug 21, 2017

      • Revised Naval setup for Germany, Japan, US, UK, and Italy. (Removed German Sub., Japanese Des., US Des., UK Des., UK Tran., � and UK Des., � from SZs 3, 60, 56, 6, 8, and 28 respectively. � Moved Italian Cru. and Sub. to SZ 14 and Japanese main fleet to SZ 60. � Changed UK Bat. to UK Cru. in SZ 35.)
      • Removed UK Figh. from Gibraltar
      • Moved 2 USSR Inf. from Buryatia SSR to Yukat SSR
      posted in House Rules
      M
      Momentum
    • 1 / 1