@BigBlocky:
Laststrike, I am not sure I agree with you. So you are saying if both the sub and transport hits you will say, oh the transport hit my transport so the sub hit is wasted as it can’t hit the plane. I don’t buy that.
This is what the rules say. Please re-read the rule I quoted above. It says that you start with column 1, then roll column 2, etc. For the Baltic example, the transport is in column 1 and the sub is in column 2. Thus, if you are following the rules, first you roll the transport, if it hits, the attacker would remove a piece (most likely the attacking transport). Then the defending sub would roll.
@BigBlocky:
Sure, if you attack a lone carrier with 2 fighters on it with say 3 subs and all 3 hit, obviously you can only apply 1 hit. But if I had 1 fighter in the attack as well and scored 4 hits, you honestly expect to say “Well, the fighter hits the carrier so your 3 sub hits are wasted” and have the attacker say “Oh well, so I scored 4 hits and you only take 1 off”. As the attacker I would not stand for that ‘rule interpretation’.
In you air craft carrier example, you applied the rule completely backwards. Just like in the Baltic example, subs are in category 2 and fighters are in category 3. Thus, you would roll the subs first and the fighter second. So in your example, the attacker would score two hits against the defender.
@BigBlocky:
Perhaps I am in the minority on this one but you and I both know what is fair. If you roll 2 hits you should do 2 hits if possible.
What is fair, is that both players agree to play the game with the same rules. If they agree to play strictly by what is written in the rules, then the above rule applies.
@BigBlocky:
The real reason you go in with 1 transport is if you are attacking the lone german sub further south, if you don’t do a 1 sub on 1 sub then you really should attack the baltic fleet with that sub and 1 ftr and keep the transport to put in with the brits.
This is a matter of opinion. I’ll play my strategy and you play your’s. :D