@wittman:
Rules say either power brings both in to the war. Looks like Anzac can DOW in their own turn and UK get dragged in to it.
correct.
@wittman:
Rules say either power brings both in to the war. Looks like Anzac can DOW in their own turn and UK get dragged in to it.
correct.
Thought they fixed that in Global, so subs can attack unescortet transport anymore?!?! Zzzz Hate all these rules cant figure em out!
PPP
Subs only “attack” on the sub owners turn. Subs are “defending” on the transport owners turn. A sub can “attack” a lone transport as a combat move. It cannot take sneak attack shots against unescorted transports any longer (that’s the rule that was fixed). It CAN stop an amphibious assault from occurring if the transport is alone. But again, that’s defending, NOT attacking.
@Most:
Sorry I tried to help you
House rule whatever you want - if your opponent goes along with it you can play however you want.
But if you’re playing by the rules, that’s the rule. No one said all the rules are realistic and make sense - most of them don’t actually. Maybe A&A isn’t for you. Whining about them hear helps no one - you’re just venting
I understand the rule, I just don’t like it. Sorry if you feel I’m whining and I’m certainly not busting YOUR balls about it. Perhaps you’re right though. This is the wrong place to mention it, and I do thank you for the clarification on this rule. If this situation ever came up in a game I was playing and he’d not read what you wrote I’d have said the invasion fails and the sub kills everything.
Well, assuming that sub did stop the invasion (it doesn’t) and a carrier didn’t count as an escort (it does), please don’t forget that the attacker always has the option to retreat. After one round of combat, in which the sub would fire at a “1”, the carrier and transport could retreat. So the sub can only “kill everything” if the attacker couldn’t retreat or chose not to retreat. Transports and the like are only automatically killed on the defenders side when no other option remains.
It’s reduced to 6. A factory can never have more damage assigned to it than it can possibly sustain.
@Der:
The rules say:
“Defending fighters and tactical bombers (strategic
bombers cannot scramble) located on islands that have
operative airbases can be scrambled to defend against attacks
in the sea zones surrounding those islands.”Does this include your allies fighters that are parked in your territory or only your own fighters?
Allied planes are included, but obviously count towards the 3 plane total (assuming alpha 3). This is in keeping with the joint defense rules.
Not to re-iterate my Round 3 thread, but Egypt should be G2 with 2 tanks, 3inf, art, 2FTR and BB. And the Japanese should kill China and take position at the Phillipines. Don’t hit Pearl at all (considering I doubt the US will be there after US1).
Right, but the OP was in regards to how UK can crush the Indies fleet round 1 assuming the Egypt fighter lives. Attacking Egypt G2 willingly concedes the Indies fleet, if the UK wants it. And considering that the UK cannot realistically stop a G2 Egypt attack, moving the fighter to the Indies and crushing the Japanese force seems to be the ideal move as it would consolidate the UK fleets, send a lot of steel to the bottom of the ocean, and put the japanese fleets on the defensive while the US and UK get into positions.
ugh, right you are. I didn’t study the euro borders - seazones (and setup) completely changed in southern europe. At best, Germany kills the fighter 70% of the time. Which means it looks like Japan can be hammered 30% of the time.
@Herr:
Thanks. What I had in mind was a different situation however: Japan would have conquered a Soviet territory, and then Germany would land a plane there while Germany was not at war with the Soviet Union. The conquered area is now an area containing units belonging to a power with which the Soviet Union is not at war, so by the rules, the Soviet Union can’t counterattack.
It’s not a big thing with the Soviet Union really, because I can’t see a way for the Germans to get a plane over there in time. But there may be a problem with China. According to the rules, China can’t declare war on a European Axis power unless one of those powers declares war on it first. So when that never happens, China can’t attack a Japanese-occupied territory that contains a German or Italian unit.I know it’s a bit of a silly loophole and I apologize for derailing a thread that made sense otherwise, but if I go by the book, I think it’s true.
Per the Global Rule FAQ located here: http://www.harrisgamedesign.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=4278
“China may declare war on a European Axis power if that power moves units into a territory into which Chinese units are allowed to move.”
no loophole, no problem.
Japan no longer has the option to send the BB from SZ 60 to Hawaii anymore, so there is no longer a Pearl Heavy option. � best pearl 2 is now 1 CV, 2 fighters, 1 bomber (ending in Wake or Solomans), 1 sub and 1 cruiser, and more likely than not the Carrier will hold back for a pearl light. � It’s certainly an interesting opening setup… �
Also, unless I am miscounting somewhere, if Japan does hold back the carrier at Pearl, they can only get one fighter to the battle. There is no fighter, other than the one in SZ50, less than 4 spaces from SZ53.
So if they hold back the CV, it is
1 fighter, 1 bomber, 1 sub and 1 cruiser
vs.
1 Fighter, 1 CV, 1 sub and 1 destroyerJapan should win that but they probably take two casualties, maybe 3 if some luck is on the US side.
On the bright side, the UK has no way to reinforce the Pearl fleet on UK1. Though they could try and weaken Pearl2 by killing the Japan sub with 1 cruiser, 1 sub from Australia if they forego the East Indies attack.
Right you are, Pearl light would be down a fighter as well. Edit: Actually, no, it wouldn’t necessarily. You could send the fighter under the assumption that it will live and you will win, and reinforce with the carrier if the fighter survived. But if you took the fighter as a casualty, you could move the carrier anywhere you wanted. Might be a high price to pay, but still possible.
But UK cannot actually kill the Japanese sub unless the Japanese player is a fool - Subs can always choose to submerge before combat. Unless you have a destroyer, you can never guarantee combat with a sub.
As for East Indies, I think Germany will now be forced to throw ALOT at Egypt on G1- including at least 2 fighter or the fighter and bomber to guarantee that the UK fighter dies. Once the fighter is gone, it looks like a foolish UK player who would throw down against the Indies fleet.
Also, I have a question. (Pardon my ignorance here) You used the abbreviation AP to stand for transport. I was just wondering why. I don’t get it. My mind is drawing a complete blank. I’ll probably smack myself in the forehead when you tell me, though.
It’s the US Naval hull classification symbol for a transport vessel. Generally A stands for auxiliary. P likely stands for Personnel.
Refer to the following for a more complete list:
@Herr:
I have a somewhat related question: in a theoretical situation, if Japan is at war with the Soviet Union while Germany isn’t, and Germany lands a plane in Japanese-occupied territory, does that imply that the Soviet Union can no longer attack that territory? The rules state: “A power can�t attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with which it is not at war.”. This could even happen before round 4, so that the Soviet Union couldn’t declare war on Germany.
Yes. Japanese planes would be temporarily shielded by landing in german territories prior to the Soviets being able to declare war.
If italy DoW on russia and takes a russian territory, is it possible for germany to non-com into that new italian terr. with out being at war with russia himself? Or is it when italy DoW on russia, germany is automatically at war with russia aswell?
Germany can reinforce Italian territories regardless of who originally controlled that territory. Germany does not need to be at war with the original owner.
Ghr is incorrect. Germany and Italy are not diplomatically tied like Anzac/uk and Germany is free to reinforce any Italian territory regardless of who originally controlled it, just like any other friendly territory.
Is it diffent if u place a minor in an orginally controll terro, or a newly caputere 1 ? I mean if it got 2 IPC value, can u only build 2 units ? Or 3 in both ? Hope u get my question!
PPP
minor ICs can build 3. Major ICs can build 10. value of the territory only determines if you can place an IC there or not, it does not determine the capacity of the IC itself.
There is absolutely no reason that Russia should not declare war on Japan on R1.
Interesting… so even though they are at war, if Japan attacks ANY Russian territory beside a mongolian one, mongolia enters?
Yes. Timguska, Yenisey, Yakut, Bury & Amur. Though realistically Yenisey and Yakut will rarely be attacked before Japan has already hit one of the others.
On the other side of the coin, Russia cannot help liberate Kansu, Suiyuyan, Chahar, Jehol, or Manchuria without losing the Mongolians.
American planes can only land if Russia is already at war with Japan. Russia can only declare war on Russia’s turn (unless Japan attacks them on Japan’s turn, obviously)
But… There is absolutely no reason that Russia should not declare war on Japan on R1. They don’t need to attack anything, and they don’t mess up the Mongolian rules if they’re at war - only if they attack Manchuria (almost specifically). Declaring war doesn’t require a combat move. It also allows them to move into China (which again, doesn’t mess up the Mongolian rules).
@captain:
In many versions of this great game (be it Europe 1940 or Anniversary Edition), i often see that buying an aircraft carrier with Germany on G1 is a popular choice. In Europe it helps defend the transports you concurrently purchased, or are set to purchase for sea lion (or a fake sea lion), and etc…
My question is in regards to how this will effect the non-combat move.
On the german Non-combat move, can fighters be placed in the sea zone where the aircraft carrier will reside during the unit placement phase?
That is to say, must my planes return to a friendly land territory and only land on my new aircraft carrier on G2’s noncombat move? Or can I place them in the sea-zone in anticipation of the aircraft carrier that will be placed?
I ask because I would actually be fairly reluctant to purchase transports and an aircraft carrier on G1, if I know that I can’t put fighters on the thing until G2. It is somewhat suicidal for the UK to send her fighters in for the assault, but against a naked aircraft carrier it would cross my mind to try this as the UK player.
Yes, you are permitted to leave planes in the seazone where a carrier will be placed. You can use the purchase of a carrier as a method to determine a valid air route where the plane would not have enough spaces left to reach land, but would have enough spaces to reach the seazone where the carrier will be placed.
I don’t know if “Crush” is the right word.
More like exchange their every naval unit they have east of Egypt to kill two big Japanese ships and maybe a fighter.1@1, 1@2 (SS) 3@3
So 2 hitsvs
1@2, 3@4
2.33 hits. And the BB can soak a hit.
If Germany doesn’t clear the egyptian fighter, it’s a 60% win for the UK if they send the 2nd spit in. If the UK only uses the sub, carrier, cruisers and fighter, it’s a 60% loss for the UK. My gut says it’s a risky move for the UK regardless because it’s definitely an all eggs in one basket ploy.
HOWEVER… With the starting factory, the UK can reinforce India first turn, which means that fighter isn’t quite as important in India.
Japan no longer has the option to send the BB from SZ 60 to Hawaii anymore, so there is no longer a Pearl Heavy option. best pearl 2 is now 1 CV, 2 fighters, 1 bomber (ending in Wake or Solomans), 1 sub and 1 cruiser, and more likely than not the Carrier will hold back for a pearl light. It’s certainly an interesting opening setup…
I thought Mongolia was excluded from the whole neutral thing and is entirely based upon the Japan-Russo neutrality situation.
Only partially. If the Euro Axis attacks a neutral it flips mongolia to pro-Allied just like any other neutral. However, the only way it can flip to pro-Axis is if Russia attacks one of the mongolian territories specifically.