Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. kcdzim
    3. Posts
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 1
    • Posts 1,013
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by kcdzim

    • RE: 2 beginner questions

      @Walhalla:

      We made a mistake in our first game then, we decided that the 19 ICP did not exist…

      Well, you cannot make that mistake again.  The balance of the game more or less hinges on Germany getting enough money quickly enough to actually do anything.  That 19 at the beginning of the game is paramount, especially because of….

      @Walhalla:

      How can u scary the UK with a Sealion with only 2 trs (+1 that u already have)? Even if they build just 4inf in London
      it is enough to keep u at bay…

      The three transports isn’t the thing that’s scary.  What’s scary is the G2 purchase of ENTIRELY transports (or enough to make the difference, anyway).  If Germany does this, they’ll have enough transports to EASILY conquer London IF (and this is critical) London didn’t respect the G1 transport purchase and spend ALL money on infantry for London.  If Germany buys transports, and the UK builds in South Africa, or purchases more expensive, but fewer units, then Germany can abuse this with a G2 transport purchase (that very much depends on the additional 19 IPCs from France on round 1), and sack London on G3 with good odds.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Axis and Allies Europe 1940 2nd Edition ( AAE40.2) FAQ/question

      @texasranger97:

      Also when u attack with carriers can u take them as casualties?

      Yes

      posted in Axis & Allies Europe 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Error detected rulebook europe page 14

      @MEGAEINSTEIN:

      Blitzing first you conquer one territory and only after you conquer another one

      You’re splitting hairs.  Amphibious assaults REQUIRE the completion of naval combat before proceeding with land combat, simply because something may occur that prevents the transports from unloading.

      Blitzing is a combat move (not two different combats, per se).  You pass thru an unoccupied territory into another, and by definition a blitz only occurs when it cannot be prevented (the first space must be completely unoccupied or you cannot blitz it).  It’s a single move, not two separate ones, and can only possibly result in ONE combat (the final space, if units are in that space).  Blitzing may or may not result in combat at the final destination, but combat does not truly occur at the first space (there’s nothing to roll for, control is effectively granted during the combat move phase, not after combat itself).

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Scramble vs. Carrier question

      @Vold:

      So the RUS fighter gets one round defending against the toothless Allied ships, the Allies can retreat both the Carrier and the loaded Transports after the first round of combat, and the planes all have to attack Novgorod for at least a single round (they have committed to the fight but their amphib was just called off) before they too can retreat.

      Correct?

      The carrier and transport should retreat (they’re not required to, but they will eventually die if they don’t).  The planes are required to roll for one round of combat before they too can retreat.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Axis and Allies Pacific 1940 2nd Edition ( AAP40.2) FAQ/question

      @texasranger97:

      Couples of questions

      1-If Uk capture a Japanese territory that was Chinese originally (ex kwangsi) Can china mobilize new troop in it?

      2-a)If Japan invade french indo china does it declare war with uk/usa or they just loose the bonus?
      2-b)what if uk attack japan on g1 then japan invade french indochina turn 2 do theyt loose the bonus and are they at war with usa?

      3-If uk attack japan on turn 1 and japan invade dutch territory turn 2 does it declare war on usa?

      Thanks

      1 - UK can never control a chinese territory, so yes, it will revert to chinese control and china can mobilize in it.

      2a - Japan must declare war on France to invade FIC, and it causes them to lose the bonus, but they do not have to declare war on UK or USA to do so.

      2b - Japan loses the bonus as soon as they attack FIC, as long as USA is still neutral, regardless of UK’s diplomatic status.

      3 - No.  IF UK/Anzac attacks Japan first, japan can freely attack dutch, english, anzac territories (and as long as they don’t attack FIC or a US territory/unit they’ll continue to get the FIC bonus until US declares war on US3)

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Error found

      @Young:

      @otahere34:

      Yes, but only in the Pacific version. If you are playing global, then they start minor and upgrade when the U.S. goes to war, unless the U.S. pays to upgrade them before.

      Is this true?

      yeah, as it was in Alpha3 and as it remains in 2nd Ed.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

      @Young:

      During the non-combat phase, can a transport carrying cargo move into, and than unload from a sea zone that contains only enemy submarines?

      yes.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: AAG40 FAQ

      @Gamerman01:

      He didn’t say tanks and planes, he just said artillery, I think

      yada yada yada. armor piercing shells then.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: AAG40 FAQ

      @oztea:

      Can you imagine how much effort the Chinese forces have to be exerting to DE-INDUSTRIALIZE an area?
      Peasants and conscripts working 24/7 tearing down factories with their bare hands.

      It’s not just “de-industrialization”.  The level of expertise to actually build a functional tank or plane is pretty high.  Australian aircraft and tank design was lacking on their own, using mainly US or UK designs and equipment.  Every major power could design duds.  You’re suggesting China could design an air superiority fighter or a battleworthy tank just capturing a japanese factory?  Kinda doubt it. These are the same peasants and conscripts you describe tearing down the factory.  They aren’t going to put a squadron of tested planes together very quickly.  :wink:

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: AAG40 FAQ

      @Global-commander:

      can the chinese fighter attack Japanese ships off the coast?

      No.  The Chinese fighter is not permitted to move outside of territories that are originally chinese plus burma/kwangtung.  Seazones are included in that restriction, so the chinese fighter cannot enter any seazone.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Question about Russia terriotories at the pacific map

      Not that it should matter anyway.  Russia (or any country) is free to declare war but not actually perform a combat move (as I don’t think this changed from 1st Ed, and was still the case with Alpha 3).  This can be simply to get fly-over access.

      Russia can (and should from a strictly abusive game mechanic position), on it’s first turn, declare war on Japan, even if it has no intention to ever attack any Japanese territory, simply to open the US up for landing spaces.  There’s no reason not to as Japan can do the same if it needs or wants to do fly-over passage.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Axis and Allies Europe 1940 2nd Edition ( AAE40.2) FAQ/question

      @texasranger97:

      Hello

      1-I need some clarification on the convoy disruption rule
      Ex: A Ger submarine on the coast of New Brunswick and Quebec (sz 106) When does the damage is done? during the ger turn or the uk one� Because if its uk it leaves them time to kill the sub and makes convoy raiding too risky

      2-About the USA NOs. They require that ths USA be at war. USA usely gets into the war at their collect income phase on turn 3? So my question is do they get the +20 IPC bonus at the collect income phase of round 3 or 4?
      3-Just to be sure if Ger declare war to usa on round 1, usa gets the +20 IPC on their collect income of round 1?

      1 - Collect income phase of UK.  Yes, it does give them a chance to kill the sub, but only if they have a destroyer to spot it (otherwise it can always submerge to avoid combat and remain in the seazone).

      2 - Collect at US’s collect income phase of turn 3 (the turn they go to war).

      3 - Collect at US’s collect income phase of turn 1 (the turn they go to war)

      posted in Axis & Allies Europe 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: New Italian Sculpts?

      Totally new.

      Some photos can be found here: http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28583.0

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Japan is an island?

      I don’t see why it’s relevant that Japan is considered an Island (it is, by the very definition of island in the rules as noted by many) or that IC’s can’t be placed on islands.

      Setup =/ Placement. The game starts with an IC there. You can’t place a new IC for an island, but the rules don’t contradict that you can start with an IC on an island.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Union Jack Roundels

      @Razor:

      Yeah right, because that is not confusing, in the heat of a match, all stuff to keep track on, like 100 NO’s etc you also have to sort out what UK tokens are for who UK player ?
      So hard to print out Union Jack sympols for all Indian purposes.

      Uhhh….  if the UK symbols are on the Pacific board, they’re Pacific UK.  If they’re on the Europe board, they’re Euro UK.  I don’t see why this is confusing.  There’s no difference between UK and Pacific units, and there’s no difference between who captured it - it’s all UK.  But if it’s Pacific board, it’s India.  it’s not like you need a different roundel to figure out who it belongs to.  It’s determined by the board.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Union Jack Roundels

      They’re for the Global game to track the India income on the IPC chart.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: This is a Alpha 3(final) triplea game question regarding G, J vs USA T3

      @JamesAleman:

      Still fine tuning this one, I like where it is going. Carriers being able to have air units convoy is a bit over powered I believe.

      Personally, I’m thinking I may house rule that only tac bombers can convoy raid.  Air supremacy fighters weren’t exactly the primary threat to merchant vessels and if tac bombers more or less represent heavy fighters, naval bombers, torpedo bombers, and dive bombers, it makes sense to me that the standard fighter doesn’t have that role. It also encourages (mildly) tac bomber purchases, which is good, considering a fighter is almost always a better buy in my eyes.  Would tone down this down a little, but maybe not overly.  I don’t dislike this as a rogue strategy, but yeah, it shouldn’t down right break the game.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: 1ED and 2ED compatable game boards?

      @vonLettowVorbeck1914:

      @Razor:

      No you cant do that man, you’ll be short of the AA-gun pieces, need to buy 2 ed of both games

      Not a big deal; he can just use the cardboard pieces from the version he does have. Remember: People were playing Alpha 3 with the non-unique AA guns.

      Also, considering that AA guns can never attack (and only defend, and are obnoxious to transport due to their disembarkation rules), it’s almost completely irrelevant that they’re nation specific.  the only instance it can possibly be confusing is with joint defense, but usually it’s pretty obvious who controlled the aa guns, as generally speaking they’ll belong to one power.  I can’t think of a single game where I’ve moved US AA to a UK territory that already had UK AA as an infantry is almost always better.  Or an Italian AA into a german territory (although they may serve well as fodder if Italy isn’t under air assault).

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: AAG40 FAQ

      @Gargantua:

      Do Industrial Complexes on Chinese territory get REMOVED?  or are they just -useless- ?

      I’ve forgotten…

      removed

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

      @Imperious:

      Island rule for IC don’t include Japan, Australia, UK.

      Per the definitions in the game rules, the UK is not an Island.  Australia is not an Island either (I mean, sure, it’s a continent, we all know that, but it’s also not a single territory surrounded by a single seazone).  But yes, the island rule doesn’t include Japan.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • 1 / 1