Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. kcdzim
    3. Posts
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 1
    • Posts 1,013
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by kcdzim

    • RE: Carrier Mobilization

      @Eqqman:

      @Fortress:

      To put a finer point on this (and since we also ended up discussing carrier movement in addition to placing one), it doesn’t even have to be “likely” for there to be a landing place, just a non-zero chance.

      For instance: If the only way a carrier can make it to pick up planes at the end of their range is for you to win a battle with 1 sub against 146 battleships and then the carrier NCMs through the cleared seazone for the planes to land, then that’s a valid landing place as long as you attack with that sub…

      I don’t think this is correct, since you are supposed to assume that all of your units will miss and all the defenders will hit.  That is, you have to assume that you are going to lose every single battle so you can’t over-stack in this way in anticipation of victory (I know this is explicit in the rules, but don’t have one handy to quote chapter & verse).

      You’ve actually got it backwards.  You’re permitted to task fighters assuming you’ll WIN every battle.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

      @Axisplaya:

      Is it allowed to NCM a sub into a hostile sea zone ?

      yes.  and you can NCM thru the seazone if there’s no enemy DD to stop it.  otherwise, if a DD is there, the sub stops in the hostile seazone.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Axis and Allies Pacific 1940 2nd Edition ( AAP40.2) FAQ/question

      @Lozmoid:

      I’m not sure about something: under Unit Profiles in the rulebook, it mentions that Minor ICs can be upgraded to Major ones but it doesn’t specfically state (as far as I can tell) exactly when this happens. Now, I assume you pay for the upgrade during the Purchase & Repair Units phase, and then the upgrade becomes effective during the Mobilize New Units phase - is this right?

      I read somewhere that Minor ICs being upgraded this turn can’t produce more than 3 new units until your next turn. This is where I am confused because I had guessed that the upgrade took place immediately (in line with any repairs that may have been made). Therefore, am I right in thinking that the correct process would be to place a Major IC in the Mobilization Zone, and then replace the Minor IC with it at the end of the Mobilze New Units phase?

      Thank you very much.

      Like all combat moves, or noncombat moves, mobilization takes place simultaneously.  You can’t upgrade “first”, then drop 10 units there.  The upgrade takes place during the mobilization phase but is not active for use until the next turn, so you’re still limited to place only three units while the factory is effectively upgrading itself at the same time.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Failed ambhib. assault what happens to the transports.

      yup

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Carrier Mobilization

      @Kreuzfeld:

      it does however NOT state that you actually have to build your carrier in a seazone to safe a survived ftr.

      so IMO, you dont have to mobilize a carrier anywhere, all you have to do is to be ABLE to mobilize it.

      No, it does, very explicitly. P21 Pac 2nd Edition- where units can move.

      “A fighter or tactical bomber can land in a sea zone (even a
      hostile one) that is adjacent to an industrial complex you own
      if you will be mobilizing an aircraft carrier that you previously
      purchased in that zone during the Mobilize New Units phase.”

      “You must have a carrier move, remain in place, or be
      mobilized (new carriers only) to pick up a fighter or
      tactical bomber that would end its noncombat movement in
      a sea zone. You can’t deliberately move an air unit out of
      range of a potential safe landing space.”

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Failed ambhib. assault what happens to the transports.

      If you fail to clear the seazone, you need to retreat or you will inevitably lose the transports (transports are only automatically lost on defense).

      And you cannot unload, as you cannot use a transport during both combat and noncombat phases.  So the units are trapped on board. And the units will likely die the next round, unless you have some way to defend (scramble, or naval units)

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Rule Clarification - Scrambles

      Nope.  Once attackers moves are set and FINALIZED, then the defender can choose to scramble.  The attacker is not permitted to revise - they need to plan for scrambles to occur and task accordingly.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: 1st edition played with 2nd edition rules?

      @TheVenocWarlord:

      Yeah, it can, but you’ll need to mark your AA guns somehow as they are now Power Dependent and you’ll have several more lying around on the map.

      Though I’d suggest you go to the trade thread and ask for just the 2nd Map and extra AA guns, you should be able to get them for $10ish +shipping. That’s what I did.

      you don’t REALLY need to mark AA ownership.  It’s rare indeed for Japan to combine AA with Germany, or US to bring AA to UK, etc etc etc.  Since they never can attack, they’ll never share a space with an opposing force. So I don’t see this as being that big of a problem.

      posted in Axis & Allies Spring 1942 Edition
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

      @Cmdr:

      (2) You may retreat your aircraft before any round of combat - just choose to do so before throwing dice for them. (and if they are in the battle, you must throw dice for them!)

      To be clear (because I can’t tell if you answered incorrectly or simple incompletely):

      If you retreat, ALL units that can retreat MUST retreat.  Amphibious units can NEVER retreat.  However, in Ryguy’s example, you cannot retreat air units leaving land units behind if they weren’t an amphibious assault.  Air units cannot retreat separately from other units that are retreating.  Per page 18 of the Pac 1940 rules:

      If there is a retreat, air units and overland units (if any) must retreat at the same time. Air units will land during the Noncombat Move phase.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

      @Cow:

      So can Anzac still land 3 fighters on Java the same round it takes Dutch island? But yugoslavia or northern persia etc (pro allied neutrals) are a no go.

      The DEI are already friendly territories.  They’re not neutral.  The only difference between DEI and a french territory (for example) is that control is transferred to the UK/Anzac should a land unit of their enter the territory, which would not occur with a french territory.  But both are allied friendly and NOT neutral.

      So yes, the planes can land.  And no, they cannot land in a neutral.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Scramble vs. Carrier question

      @Global-commander:

      can you change your attack after your opponent declares his intent to scramble? I don’t think so, but am not sure.

      No.  Scrambling is declared after combat moves are completed.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

      @Global-commander:

      I believe that somewhere in the new rulebook it said that once you declared your combat moves and your opponent declared his scrambling fighters you could not then change your attacks. is this correct?

      Yes.  Scrambling is declared after combat moves are completed.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

      @zanetheinsane:

      When an Anti-Air gun is already loaded on a transport with an infantry unit and that transport takes places in an amphibious assault, what happens with the AA? Is it stuck on the transport until you can unload it next turn?

      My interpretation was that it can’t unload because it can’t take place in the combat move and you can’t unload the transport during the non-combat move because it unloaded during the assault. Is this correct? Or can you unload units during the non-combat move even after an amphibious assault?

      You’re correct.  The AA artillery is indeed stuck.  AAA can only unload during noncombat (and can only be loaded during noncombat as well - they aren’t permitted to attack, therefore they aren’t permitted to move during the combat phase)  Transports can only move/unload in EITHER combat or Noncombat, but not both.
      So the AAA must wait at least until the next noncom phase, assuming the transport doesn’t move again during the combat phase.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Really important question about taking friendly territories.

      As you say, in OOB 2nd edition, West India is Pacific (but not OOB 1st edition).  But more than likely all answers at this point will be addressed as a 2nd edition question, unless someone specifically says OOB rules for first edition.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Is a Major IC Reduced to a Minor IC after been conquered?

      @wittmann:

      Is an upgrade not 20?
      UK would need 20, not 30.

      you’re of course correct - I was only pointing out that A) Germany cannot upgrade and B) UK gets stung this way, but yes, thank you for correcting overall cost of UK reupping the factory.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Is a Major IC Reduced to a Minor IC after been conquered?

      UK needs to rebuild it.  so yes.  ouch.

      But that also means that Germany CANNOT upgrade it, so it can only ever produce 3 units MAX

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Really important question about taking friendly territories.

      @osu888:

      Another Example with Question:

      UK England is controlled by Germany, and the Italians take West India followed by UK Pacific taking it back…That means UK Pacific gets those IPC until UK England is liberated?

      In the global game, Western Canada on the pacific board goes to UK Europe econ and West India goes to Pacific econ.

      There’s no difference between UK pacific units and UK europe units.  It’s UK that takes it back, not UK pacific or UK Europe.  But if you recaptured Persia as UK, for example, no one would collect income for it if London was occupied as it’s a London econ territory, NOT a pacific econ territory.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Is a Major IC Reduced to a Minor IC after been conquered?

      @osu888:

      @Vance:

      yes, for capitols and victory cities.�  Majors always become minors and any SBR damage stays.

      I confused myself by the question…I understand it goes down to a MINOR…

      Is that applicable to Capitols?

      absolutely.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Is a Major IC Reduced to a Minor IC after been conquered?

      @Vance:

      … and any SBR damage stays.

      But, damage that stays cannot exceed the maximum that a minor factory can take - any damage in excess of the minor factory damage capacity is discarded.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • RE: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

      @Chicochico:

      Thanks a lot!

      So (4) is not all wrong then, unless the book specifically states that it only counts for originally pro-axis territories? (dont have it here w/ me). But i understand why it wouldn’t work, it would be unbalanced to have the french attack, say, Sierra Leone, just to allow the soviets to make 27 IPC a turn out of south america. Plus 15+ in africa :p

      It is only “original” pro axis.  flipped true neutrals do not count.

      @Chicochico:

      Here’s another. Like my question 6, except during the non-combat movement turn; can i move my carries and then launch the loaded fighters to land somewhere else?

      No.  Your Aircraft always move separately from your carriers.  The carriers can move a total of 2 (or three at a base), but your planes (when on a carrier) will always only be able to move 4 (or 5 w/ long range tech).  Effectively, your planes “launch” at the beginning of your turn and are never considered cargo nor moved by the carrier.  The ONLY way a plane can be cargo is when it’s on another power’s carrier during their turn (or, heaven forbid, on a subsequent turn after the carrier took damage when it performed an attack while the plane was on it - the only way to lock a plane on a carrier)

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      kcdzimK
      kcdzim
    • 1 / 1