Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. JbuckBuddy
    3. Topics
    J
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 36
    • Posts 81
    • Best 4
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Topics created by JbuckBuddy

    • J

      Manchuria and Rehe

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      4
      0
      Votes
      4
      Posts
      267
      Views

      GeneralHandGrenadeG

      OK so the rules says that the Manchurian and Rehe territories start the game as Japanese so they aren’t technically “recaptured” as per rule 9.20. The Russian player has the option to give them to CCP or keep them for Russia. He is putting a note in the FAQ to reflect this.

    • J

      Vichy Fly Over

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      11
      0
      Votes
      11
      Posts
      820
      Views

      J

      @GeneralHandGrenade Ah I see, and yes i placed Le resistance in Paris upon liberation but the part I want to be clear on is if the other allied units have to vacate paris once vichy chooses to attack, or are they forced to withdraw only if vichy defeats the French forces. If there are no french units and only British or American units in a french land zone, is vichy able to move in, force a withdrawal and take it, or can they only attack french forces?

      The reason i inquired is because the German player in my game is planning to attack Paris(US,British & French units occupy it) with Germany and Vichy if able. They would move on the same turn of course but not attack together, but say the german’s attack Paris and all the French units are killed(they are militia and AAA) leaving only British or American units, once vichy attacked would they be forced to vacate or would vichy be unable to move in since there are no French forces?

      Wanted to be sure before I went ahead. Any help would be awesome. Thanks.

    • J

      Variable Ending

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      2
      0
      Votes
      2
      Posts
      218
      Views

      GeneralHandGrenadeG

      @JbuckBuddy Go with the numbers in the rule book.

    • J

      Victory Objectives: Loss

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      2
      0
      Votes
      2
      Posts
      281
      Views

      I

      @JbuckBuddy said in Victory Objectives: Loss:

      Would the objective cities count seperately from the NOs, as in if the KMT owned Nanking, could it be subtracted as a result of having enemy occupied territories worth at least 1 IPP like the NOs can? I am inclined to think the cities are awarded by alliance and not nation but i wanted to be sure. The same would apply to France/Free France(and Paris) if territories in France are still occupied, I am assuming. Any help or info would be

      A couple points

      The subtraction for VPs for occupied zones applies to Chinese Home Country, not continental china or any other definition. FEC occupying FEC would not subtract KMP VPs as FEC and KMT could never be considered enemies. This also means I think that if at the end of the game KMT and CCP are still at truce, they are not considered enemies either. I would also consider zones “occupied” by a surrendered japan to not be held by Enemies either, but this might be just personal on my part.

      I would agree however that the rules as written seam to me that VPs for either chinese faction is very all or nothing; its going to be difficult for either faction to conquer some of the Japanese starting zones like Manchuria or Formosa as either faction.

      For reference:

      Enemy: Nations (and all their units, facilities and land zones) are enemies when they are at war with each other. (E.g. Germany and France are not “Enemies” until they are at war.

    • J

      Surrounded City

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      6
      0
      Votes
      6
      Posts
      718
      Views

      TheVeteranT

      @generalhandgrenade sounds like at least one good rule change is in the works!

    • J

      Anzac - Home Country

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      2
      0
      Votes
      2
      Posts
      306
      Views

      N

      Yes, since Anzac has a Home Country, it can upgrade its minor factory and move milita and build anything on the Commonwealth’s tech tree, provided that it also has the required infrastructure (such as a Major Shipyard for some types of warships).

      If Anzac upgrades to a Major Factory, this also gives an additional tech roll to the Commonwealth.

      Remember that “British Commonwealth includes Great Britain, FEC and ANZAC. These share the same turn, war status, technology marker, per-turn limits on technology development, per-turn lend-lease limits, as well as strategic rail and strategic naval movement limits.” (G-B, FEC and Anzac National Reference Sheets).

      Only FEC has the restriction that it cannot build units made available to Great Britain after acquiring technology (i.e. advanced artillery, adv. mech., heavy armor, jet fighters…). This does not apply to tech that does not require specific builds (i.e. long range aircraft, radar, adv. sub. warfare, advanced factories…) which benefit all members of the Commonwealth.

    • J

      Airborne Assaults

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      3
      0
      Votes
      3
      Posts
      357
      Views

      J

      @GeneralHandGrenade
      Thank u sir, I appreciate it.

    • J

      SS Panzer Grenadiers

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      10
      0
      Votes
      10
      Posts
      763
      Views

      HBG GW EnthusiastH

      @generalhandgrenade said in SS Panzer Grenadiers:

      They could have been either but it seemed to me that they were more of a vehicle class unit.

      Agreed!

    • J

      AA Guns in Fortifications

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      3
      0
      Votes
      3
      Posts
      358
      Views

      N

      AA Artillery is a land unit, part of the Artillery class (12.1).

      However, it’s worth noting that fortifications are placed across a border and protect from attacks across that border (Rule 12.7), except for some Special Fortification Zones where the fortification protects the entire zone (12.8). The Maginot Line also has its own rules (1.23).

      Therefore, if you can get your planes to attack from an unfortified border, the fortification bonus for the AA would not apply.

      The same is true for the attacking land units if they can flank the fortified border.

    • J

      Advanced Artillery Attrition Attack

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      7
      0
      Votes
      7
      Posts
      778
      Views

      J

      Hmm must have had them mixed up.

    • J

      Air Transport Surgical Strikes

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      5
      0
      Votes
      5
      Posts
      455
      Views

      I

      Two points

      Airborne Inf. aren’t very effective attackers, attacking at 3/2. By the numbers a couple of militia is a sufficient garrison to probably win.

      Using airbases to scramble into adjacent zones where an airborne assaults are taking place. You do however need one defending unit there though.

    • J

      Improved Construction tech

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      4
      0
      Votes
      4
      Posts
      311
      Views

      GeneralHandGrenadeG

      Yes that’s correct.

    • J

      Far East Command

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      3
      0
      Votes
      3
      Posts
      320
      Views

      J

      Thank u sir

    • J

      Movement in Terrain

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      4
      0
      Votes
      4
      Posts
      420
      Views

      J

      I figured as much but thank u.

    • J

      Convoy Raiding Damage

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      3
      0
      Votes
      3
      Posts
      262
      Views

      J

      Thank u sir

    • J

      Seaplane MAP Range

      Global War 1936
      • • • JbuckBuddy
      8
      0
      Votes
      8
      Posts
      718
      Views

      S

      @insaneHoshi Hi, I meant that if the Seaplane have a patrol range of 2 instead of 1 from the start - that would mean that the allies can cover all convoy spaces with aircraft from start. That would be wrong, historically. So the range should be 1 to simulate the Atlantic gap problem the allies had.

    • 1
    • 2
    • 2 / 2