I noticed that on the FEC reference sheet that units made available through tech can’t be built there, however I did not notice the same restriction on Anzac’s. Anzac has its own home country, I’ve been taking that as they may move militia and upgrade factories but what I was wondering was whether they may build units made available through the Commonwealth’s tech since it would be in home country. And also, if Anzac upgraded their factory to a major, would that give the Commonwealth an additional tech roll as well? As always, any help or clarification would be appreciated, thanks.
Posts made by JbuckBuddy
-
Anzac - Home Country
-
RE: Improved Construction tech
@Noneshallpass
A strong tech indeed. I’m assuming that the all cycles part would also apply to ships that can be built in 1 turn. So destroyers would cost 6 and subs 5? -
Airborne Assaults
I was curious whether the air transport is only at risk on the 1st round of battle during an airborne assault. It’s clear from the rulebook that if the air transport is taken as a casualty on the 1st round that the airborne unit is also destroyed, but what I’m not clear on is if the air transport essentially “leaves” after the 1st round to fly back home, and if it doesn’t and still remains in the battle, can it then be taken as a casualty? Or does it function similarly to how it does in non airborne assault battles (chosen last as a casualty)?
I suppose my confusion comes from my assumption of an air transport(or strategic bomber) in an airborne assault heading back to friendly territory after dropping off it’s cargo instead of sticking around to get shot down. Also there is minimal info about airborne assaults in the v3 rules. Any help or info would be awesome. Thank you.
-
SS Panzer Grenadiers
My opponent believes that the SS unit would not be considered an infantry class unit as they become available when advanced mechanized infantry is researched and the fact that they can blitz. He thinks they would be closer to a mech infantry, and therefore not able to fill out an infranty slot on a transport or be buffed by artillery, similar to motorized infantry and mechanized infantry, as they are vehicle class units. I’m inclined to agree with this logic except for the classification on the German reference sheet for them as specialist infantry. Seeing as motorized and mech also have infantry in their name though and are not considered infantry class units, I was left seeking further clarification once again. Any help or info would be appreciated. Thanks.
-
AA Guns in Fortifications
Since Anti Aircraft Artillery is a land unit, the fortification rules would seem to bring them to hitting on 5s, my opponent seems to think. I’m hoping that the fortification would not give plus 2 to the AA guns seeing as the planes would be attacking from above and not across a land border, and not sure how a fortification would allow the AA guns to hit planes more accurately. Additionally this seems as if it could be very lethal to planes for just a 4 IPP unit. However I could not find anything in the rules suggesting anything otherwise, seeing as they are a land unit firing on the 1st round. Was hoping I could get some clarification on this, as always any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
-
Advanced Artillery Attrition Attack
I was curious about how and when exactly this works. The same for carpet bombing. Would this happen before combat movement or would it happen simultaneously? For example is the attrition attack/carpet bombing done first and then the combat movement is made or does one have to make all their combat moves including these special type of attacks at the same time. What if a player intends to combat move units into a land zone but also wants to conduct an attrition attack or carpet bombing on the units in the land zone? Couldn’t find anything in the rules to clarify. Any info or help would be appreciated, thanks.
-
RE: Air Transport Surgical Strikes
Thank u sir, and do AA guns have a cap on shots they get on aircraft like in aa40? Like they can only get as many shots as there are aircraft. I didn’t think so but wanted to check.
-
Air Transport Surgical Strikes
I’ve been trying to figure out a good counter for these, especially on the eastern front when the front line starts getting closer to moscow. An air transport in Romania can make a landing in transcaucasia to get turkey to align or moscow. If you add the luftwaffe it makes it difficult to mount an effective defense. Any thoughts on an effective counter to these? Permanent garrison and aa guns are the best I can come up with. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
-
Improved Construction tech
The only example it gives is one that takes 3 turns to build, but the wording suggests that it would apply to ships or facilities that take 2 turns to build as well. As in once the tech is completed, instead of saving the 1 ipp per cycle, a player could pay for a cruiser or airfield and complete them the turn they start. It doesn’t specify whether that was only intended for 3 stage ships and facilities or all ships and facilities. Can anyone clarify this? I would appreciate it. Thanks.
-
Far East Command
Since Far East Command surrenders when Great Britain surrenders, are their IPPs destroyed when Calcutta is taken? And if Calcutta is taken would they still collect income from far east land zones and place units that don’t require a factory. Couldn’t find anything relating to this or whether Calcutta is even considered their capital. Any info would be appreciated, thanks.
-
Movement in Terrain
I am playing an opponent who thinks that the terrain rules only apply to combat movement. I disagreed but then I reread the rules, the wording or way of explaining it left me somewhat unsure despite its apparent definitive nature. What gets me is the initial “units are subject to ‘terrain’ rules when in that type of zone” and then the later: “all land units have their movement reduced to 1 when subject to ‘terrain’ rules.” I can understand why one would think that they could move 2 in non combat. Can someone possibly assist me with some clarification? I would appreciate any info. Thanks.
-
RE: American Peacetime Income Increase
I understand that the remaining dutch forces align to the British at the end of the non combat phase but would that also entail that the allied player cant make decisions about the dutch forces being attacked in the combat phase. For example could the allied player choose to submerge the subs at borneo or java instead of doing battle? (given that the attacker didn’t have aircraft on maritime patrol)
-
Convoy Raiding Damage
Was wondering a few things regarding this:
-
A nation may not lose more than the IPP value of each convoy line per calendar turn. Does this mean the damage “resests” every two turns on January at the beginning of German turn?
-
Does this also mean that at the intersection of the convoy lines off the west coast of Gibraltar that up to 15(3 for w.Africa + 6 for med + 6 for e.atlantic lines) can be lost?
At first I assumed that the 6 ipps from the med line were the same as the 6 for the e Atlantic line as that seemed to add up to 25 of Britain’s overall ipps but now I’m not so sure. And further I assumed that the convoy lines were the ipps from colonies making their way back home but that doesnt seem to really add up either. Any info or clarification would be helpful. Thanks.
-
-
RE: American Peacetime Income Increase
I have another America Peacetime Income Increase quesion:
Say Germany attacks Netherlands and then Japan attacks the Dutch colonies in the same turn. Would US get the +2d12 increase for Japan attacking a neutral(dutch)? Or would the US get the +5d12 increase for japan attacking the British since the Dutch colonies would align to Great Britain once the Netherlands were attacked by Germany? My gut tells me it’s the +5d12 increase but wanted to be sure.
-
RE: India in Global War 1936 v3
Was wondering if the no home country stipulation for FEC applies to the militia movement as well. I know for KMT and CCP it specifically states militia can move 1 within China only after they evolve to a major power. But it doesn’t mention anything of the sort on the FEC reference sheet, only the same 1 movement within home country. so can militia move 1 within Far East borders or are they stuck in the tt they begin in since they don’t have home country?