Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. HBG GW Enthusiast
    3. Posts
    • Profile
    • Following 4
    • Followers 2
    • Topics 47
    • Posts 329
    • Best 83
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by HBG GW Enthusiast

    • RE: Couple dumb questions

      @robson That makes me happy to hear you are watching and learning from Operation Live and Let Die, Robson! We certainly learned a lot making the series!

      I agree with all of Nathan’s answers.

      I’d advise you not to declare war on France on Turn 2 as Germany! Not only are you dramatically increasing the income of both France and Great Britain, but you haven’t yet been able to purchase any medium armor (which is a two year advantage Germany gets over other countries). The USA gets 5 more IPP every turn, so if you are declaring 3 or 4 turns earlier than normal, then that’s an extra 15 or 20 IPP the USA gets as well.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Searching for Memo G!

      @trig Super helpful, as ever! BTW, did you see that Jinx wants to interview you on his podcast?!? He basically said you were on his list of his top three! I agree!!!
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQC_h461nNE
      At 11:42, “… and the big one, Trig…”

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Do the Chinese lose their money when you take their capitols?

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast I don’t know the answer either. I think maybe nothing happens!

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Do the Chinese lose their money when you take their capitols?

      @insanehoshi I count 10, but any time I go against you, I lose, my friend! 8 )
      Washington D.C.
      London
      Calcutta
      Sydney
      Paris
      Nanking
      Berlin
      Tokyo
      Rome
      Moscow

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • Searching for Memo G!

      I am trying to get in contact with Memo G, who is the brilliant and creative person who makes amazing player aid’s. Does anyone know/have contact information for him? Please message me!

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • Attacks on a Territory by Two Powers Not Allowed to Attack Together

      Page 26, 6.1 National Order:
      “USSR and CCP also share a turn but may not Attack together until CCP has evolved to a Major Power.

      USA and KMT also share a turn but may not Attack together until KMT has evolved to a Major Power.”

      How do you handle an attack on the same territory by two powers that take their turn together, but are not allowed to attack together?

      Are the two powers forbidden to attack the same territory (i.e. only one or the other may attack)?

      Or do you have them attack the same territory, but the attacker gets to decide the order of the attack (i.e. a minor power KMT attacks the territory, then USA attacks whatever survives)?

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • How many times can a Lend-Lease Delivery be Interdicted?

      Let’s say a lend-lease delivery passes through three sea zones which each contain submarines of a nation at war with the sending Major Power. Do you only roll one time for Interdiction, or three? My thought is three.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Scorched Earth

      @didier_de_dax said in Scorched Earth:

      Hey!

      Sorry to ask that on this old topic, but I have questions about scorched earth.

      -How many times can we use scorched earth ability per turn, I believe it’s only one territory per turn?

      -Are the facilities remove from the board? Or just taking the maximum damage they can? When you use this ability on a territory.

      -Can we move a factory (with the other USSR special ability) and then destroy the other facilities in that area?
      The correct question should be: “when the factory movement ability is decide? Before or after the combat movement" (witch is the phase where you can use scorched earth).

      Hey, Didier! NP bringing up old topics. 8 )

      You can use Scorched Earth an unlimited number of times in a turn! Go to town, my friend!

      If you use sculpts for your facilities, they can be removed. If you want to use damage markers, you can. Think about it this way: You are the one doing the sabotage, so you get decide how you want to damage the facilities. A minor port would cost 3/3 to produce, but only 2/2 with improved construction. If your enemy had improved construction, he could repair a fully damaged minor port for 8 (one turn), or build a new one for 2/2.

      You can’t move a factory if you destroy the rail out of that territory via Scorched Earth that same turn, because the factory moves during non-combat movement using strategic rail movement. However, you could do Scorched Earth that same turn in the same territory on other facilities like rail leading to other places.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @theveteran No problem.

      Ok, now back to mountainous borders. I’m not saying terrain is magically flat if it is friendly. The way you can be certain that I don’t believe that is to scroll back and read where I said if the armor were in Northern Italy and moving through a friendly Southern France, it would not be allowed to continue on to Aquitaine the same turn.

      I’m saying that when a land zone is friendly, then border terrain doesn’t start affecting you until the moment you cross the border. And the river rules give a hint that my perspective may be the correct one.

      Sidenote on Game Design: There are two ways game designers can approach movement costs: walls or quicksand. With the walls approach, you are not permitted to move unless you have sufficient movement. If I understand Global War’s system, it is a quicksand one. You are allowed to go in, but then get penalized and stuck. This is the way I conceptualize it. I may be wrong, but I know Morten’s approach in general is to give the player choices with consequences. Other game designers forbid players from doing things.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @theveteran said in Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements:

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast

      1. There is no penalty because you started in west Germany. The territory you begin in doesn’t effect movement. / combat .

      2. Yes the River penalty would occur because you crossed a river during movement.

      See my post back on page 1, put in like a second before you.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @theveteran said in Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements:

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast terrain still affects you in friendly territory, that doesn’t change anything : you are still crossing a River with the cavalry and will face the River penalty. - friendly territory doesn’t mean the terrain is magically flat , or magically ignored when traveling through it. For example tanks do not move 2 when moving in Russia through the mountains when all territories are Soviet controlled (in the east) .

      Page 9, 1.12 Rivers, “Land units that must cross river artwork in the attacked land zone before reaching the roundel in that land zone are subject to river rules.”

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @theveteran said in Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements:

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast terrain still affects you in friendly territory, that doesn’t change anything : you are still crossing a River with the cavalry and will face the River penalty.

      1. It’s July, 1939 and you are a neutral Germany. You declare war on Belgium and attack with units from West Germany. You believe you face the river penalty?

      2. Same situation, but you bring a medium armor from Berlin. Do you believe that armor incurs the river penalty?

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @spartantom said in Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements:

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast
      Yes of course, I know that. My question was: since @theveteran says the second move is roundel to roundel, do you get the river penalty in addition since there is a river in Southern France when you go from Aquitaine to Northern Italy? So, the movement isn’t allowed since there is a mountain at the border however, if I understood well, if you have a cavalry in Aquitaine and you possess Southern France if you do a combat move into Northern Italy through Southern France you will suffer river penalty (on the first round obviously) since there is a river between the roundels and you have to consider all terrain modifier that are between the roundels for the second movement.

      If you have a cavalry in Aquitaine and Southern France is friendly, then you do not face a river penalty when moving to Northern Italy.

      @theveteran Do you agree with me here about the cavalry not facing the river penalty in this situation? If so, then I think you should reverse your opinion about an armor moving from Aquitaine through a friendly Southern France into Northern Italy.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @spartantom
      Your scenario was what happens when an armor unit moves from Aquitaine to Southern France and tries to go on to Northern Italy. We never clarified if Southern France is friendly or enemy-possessed. I assumed we were talking about Southern France being friendly because in Global War 1936-1945, you cannot “blitz” through an empty territory like you can in Axis & Allies. Let’s just make sure we are all on the same page that in your armor movement example, Southern France is friendly. In Global War 1936-1945, if both Southern France and Northern Italy were enemy-possessed, then moving on to Northern Italy during combat movement would be illegal.

      In your armor movement scenario, are we talking about Southern France being friendly? If so, then when the armor moves from Southern France to Northern Italy, you do not face a river penalty.

      In your armor movement scenario, if Southern France is enemy-possessed, you could combat move into it, but could not blitz to Northern Italy due to the rule on Page 8, 1.8 Mountains, “Units cannot blitz across an Enemy Mountain border or into Mountain terrain.”

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @spartantom said in Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements:

      @theveteran
      I see, does that mean I also get the river penalty then ?

      Yes, when going from Northern Italy to Southern France, you face the river penalty.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @spartantom said in Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements:

      @theveteran
      Ok thank you very much, just to explain myself more clearly my reasoning was:

      Because the rule 1.7 says “assume you are standing right at the border”. So, my guess was: I start at the border of Aquitaine and then go to the roundel in Southern France, no mountains. Then second move I stand at the border of Southern France and go to the Northern Italy’s roundel. In that case I didn’t cross the mountain border between Southern France and Northern Italy, but I might be wrong.

      You do assume you are standing right at the border, but don’t forget the part about “the territory you are standing in does not count.” You are right at the border and the moment you cross into the next territory is when it affects you.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @spartantom said in Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements:

      @theveteran
      So does that mean I can’t blitz from Aquitaine to Northern Italy through Southern France since there is a mountain on the border between Southern France and Northern Italy ?

      This is the disagreement between The Veteran and myself. I say you can go from Aquitaine to Northern Italy with armor, he says you can’t.

      But we both agree you cannot go from Northern Italy to Aquitaine with armor.

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      @didier_de_dax
      @theveteran said in Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements:

      @didier_de_dax 1. NO 2. NO
      I have a slightly different answer.

      1. No, because as you cross that mountain border between A and B, that ends the armor’s movement.
      2. Yes, because the roundel for territory B is in clear terrain and only has a mountain border between B and C. You may cross into C, incurring the mountain penalty as you do so.

      I’ll be interested to see what others say. The Veteran says he’s only wrong 5% of the time, so my odds aren’t good!

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Are We Forced to Place Units from the Production Chart?

      @noneshallpass said in Are We Forced to Place Units from the Production Chart?:

      And knowing is half the battle : G.I. Joe!

      OMG! Made me grin ear to ear!!!

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • RE: Are We Forced to Place Units from the Production Chart?

      @insanehoshi said in Are We Forced to Place Units from the Production Chart?:

      Faq’d

      Q: Are you able to buy units, and keep them in reserve on the “Place Units” box of the production chart, to be placed in later turns?

      A: No, you must place them in the same turn if you’re able to.

      Boom! Now we know. 8 )

      posted in Global War 1936
      HBG GW EnthusiastH
      HBG GW Enthusiast
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 6
    • 7
    • 16
    • 17
    • 5 / 17