I may be developing dementia. I thought I had read or heard that researching technology was limited to level 2 prior to a certain point (perhaps Germany going to war with the Allies?) I can’t find this rule. Does it exist? Am I losing it?

Best posts made by HBG GW Enthusiast
-
Limits on Technology in GW 36 Game
-
RE: Advanced Technology Models Requirements By Country
@imperious-leader My favorite WWII game using counters is ADG’s World in Flames: https://www.a-d-g.com.au/collections/super-products/products/world-in-flames-collectors-edition-deluxe-game
Consider using their excellent counters as a role-model, my friend!
-
RE: How Many Magnets/Markers for the Technology Board?
@gen-manstein Thanks so much, my friend!
Loved this:
It’s an inspiration!
-
RE: Advanced Technology Models Requirements By Country
@imperious-leader said in Advanced Technology Models Requirements By Country:
@hbg-gw-enthusiast Another benefit is the planes and ships can have names.
Yeah, like this:
-
RE: GW1936 v3 2-Player Rules?
Off the cuff, I have two suggestions to play two-players.
First, I’d try allowing the Axis to play China CCP. This can represent negotiations between the Japanese and the CCP players that come to an accommodation. It might force the KMT player to aggressively attack the CCP early, or risk the CCP being used a force to attack the FEC if they become a major power.
Second, I’d have the Soviet/Allied player roll a die at the end of the game. 1-6, they only count their Allied points towards victory. 7-12, they only count the Soviet points. It would force the Soviet/Allied player to strive to win with both because they don’t know which one will be the one to count in the end.
-
RE: British Malaya Fortification
@sjelso 12.8 Special Fortification Zones:
Some areas on the map are so small that a single Fortification and/or Coastal Artillery protects the entire zone regardless of how many land or sea zones they border. These areas are:
…(e) British MalayaYour second question is an interesting one. You could use an airborne assault on normal fortifications that are protecting only a single border (not like the special fortification zones, above), to aerially cross a non-fortified border and avoid the fortification bonii. However, if even a single unit attacked across that fortified border, then you would trigger the clause in 12.7, “…protect from attacks across that border.” If there is an attack across that border, then fortifications provide two first strikes at 5 and add+2 Defense to all defending land units on round one of combat. There is no specifier on the word combat. It isn’t round one of amphibious combat or airborne assaults. It is “round one of combat.” Because special fortification zones protect all land and sea zones, there is no way to avoid facing fortified defenders.
-
RE: Gibraltar - Does Axis control and closure deny UK of 6 IPC?
@sjelso said in Gibraltar - Does Axis control and closure deny UK of 6 IPC?:
If the Axis control and block Gibraltar does that cut off the 6 IPC from the Mediterranean convoy line?
Are you using optional rule 15.2?
15.2 Suez Re-Route
If Eastern Egypt or Gibraltar is Enemy-possessed, the British IPP in the Meiterranean cannot be the subject of Convoy Raiding. Instead, reassign the British IPP by adding 3 IPPs to the East African Line and 3 IPPs to the West African Line.If you are not using optional rule 15.2, the 6 IPPs are not “cut-off”, but can easily be raided every turn.
-
Convoy Raiding, Convoy Escorting, and Maritime Air Patrol (MAP) in Global War 1936-1945
A discussion of convoy raiding modifiers, convoy defense modifiers, Maritime Air Patrol (MAP), and four ways to kill a submarine.
0:53 - Surface Ship Raiding
3:05 - Basic Submarine Convoy Raiding
4:09 - Assigning Ships to Escort Duty
7:15 - Advanced ASW
8:19 - Advanced Submarines
9:27 - Radar
10:55 - Maritime Air Patrol
14:13 - Long-Range Aircraft
15:21 - Four Ways to Kill a Submarine -
RE: Aircraft carrier rules in v3- a New Way of Thinking.
@trig I agree the rules as currently written do not allow you to use newly purchased carriers as potential landing sites for planes returning from non-combat. I note that most places where an aircraft carrier will be built are adjacent to airbases, so if you are not using optional rule 15.3, you can still offer them air cover. I’m not particularly bothered that you cannot build carriers with automatic planes on board if you don’t use that optional rule. I am content with the rules as currently written.
With that said, you and I are absolutely on the same page. If you had the ability to clarify the rules on this issue, would there be anything you would change?
-
RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships
@noneshallpass It’s not that I “need” friendly units. I “want” them! I understand that the MAP alone can force the submarine into a fight. And I get that a MAP + DD can engage a submarine in combat on the MAP player’s turn. But what I wanted to ensure (before making another video and causing confusion), is that on the submarine player’s turn, the MAP player can force the submarine to fight all the naval forces in a sea zone if that submarine moves in.
On the MAP player’s turn, they cannot do this. They can’t move say 10 surface ships and a MAP into a sea zone and force a sub pack to fight them. They can only go after subs with MAP + DD pairs (at best).
But on the sub player’s turn, if a sub moves into a sea zone with 10 BB’s, 20 CL’s and one MAP, then the MAP can stop them and force them to fight the armada. That’s my understanding.
-
RE: Subs, Destroyers, MAP and other ships
The idea that the MAP aircraft + all defending naval units get to fire at each submarine entering is really bothering me and feels wrong.
Like I said above, if four submarines enter a sea zone with a single plane flying MAP, I feel the MAP aircraft should be able to stop them from further movement, but then get just one roll total to kill potentially one submarine, then the rest withdraw/submerge.
Noneshallpass and Trig argue that if four submarines enter the sea zone, the MAP aircraft gets four rolls, one for each. The way to conceptualize their position is each submarine enters the sea zone, one by one, and the MAP aircraft gets a chance to spot/destroy each one.
But then we add in friendly naval units for the MAP aircraft. If there are 5 BB’s, 5 CA’s, 5 DD’s, and 1 CVE with a fighter being attacked by 100 submarines, with Noneshallpass and Trig’s method, the BB/CC/DD/CVE force defeats the subs piecemeal, one by one. I must not be understanding.
My conceptualization is the MAP stops as many naval units as it wants, then we proceed to one giant naval battle. So if 4 subs enter, the MAP can stop them all, but then gets 1 roll.
-
RE: Homemade Reference Sheets
Great work! This is an important thread! Very useful.
-
RE: Variable ending roll
Great catch! I predict the ruling will be for the D12 because in my experience, D6’s are resolved for economics. One powerful argument for it being D12 is the table on Page 13, which states, “Each Turn Thereafter…1-6”. If it were a D6, it would say, July 1946, Game Ends.
But the conclusive evidence is on page 67, 16. Variable Die Roll End. If you read the first paragraph, and look at the percentages discussed there, then you know without a doubt it is a D12.
-
RE: How to incent Chinese Civil War battles in 2-play?
@caesar-seriona Oh, I’m totally with you, Caesar! I want to play Global War '36 as a 3-player game and I hate scripting! I even made a video about it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIN2oVkr6oE
-
RE: The FAQ Thread
@captainnapalm I get it! Bolstering your perspective, units cannot blitz across an enemy mountain, jungle, desert, marsh border or into mountain, jungle, desert, marsh terrain.
We definitely need clarification on this one! You have persuaded me, CaptainNapalm.
-
RE: The FAQ Thread
@hbg-gw-enthusiast said in The FAQ Thread:
“Planes cannot land on newly placed carriers. Newly placed carriers may not be used to guarantee land spots. Thus, effectively, a carrier must sit naked for a turn after it is built.”
This is my understanding, Trig, but I agree with you that it would be helpful to have it definitively answered. : )
-
RE: USA peacetime increase
@trig said in USA peacetime increase:
@hbg-gw-enthusiast Excellent answer.
Also, if Japan attacked the Dutch, it is likely that there are 3 territories left for the recruitment roll. See this sheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1CCjrtM8TWCyXmzDOslPz2MsG_OTv-UQNe6mL65glRww/edit#gid=0
I’m glad you nudged me about this! I had forgotten, so appreciate the reminder about Suriname and Lesser Antilles!
-
RE: USA peacetime increase
@manincellv If the Dutch Align with the British upon a German DoW and subsequent capitulation, then it must mean that Germany is at war with the British. If the Germans were not at war with the British, then the Dutch wouldn’t Align. They would be controlled. I just want to make sure we are on the the same page as far as that goes.
As long as we are talking about the Dutch having Aligned with the British and The Netherlands has fallen, then any surviving Dutch units (naval, air, land, whatever) are replaced by British units. The Dutch cease to exist as a separate nation for purposes of the game. The British collect the income from the DEI and Suriname (10 IPP). The Dutch do NOT make a recruitment roll because that is for controlled minors, not Aligned minors (Page 21, Table 4-2, If a Major Power controls a minor power).
Rule 4.12 is about minors which are controlled. Let’s explore that. Let’s say the Germans are neutral to everyone and then declare war on the Dutch. As I wrote two posts above, “Now, The Netherlands East Indies becomes controlled by Great Britain as long as Germany isn’t at war with another Major Power. This increases Great Britain’s peacetime income by 2D12, which is an average of 13. Their starting income is 11 and their wartime income is 25. Perhaps you get to 24. Risky, but possible.” So it’s possible that the British control the DEI. The moment Great Britain is a war with the Germans, the DEI will change from controlled to Aligned, but until that time, the Dutch units remain Dutch. They are controlled by the British, but still Dutch. The British do NOT collect income form the DEI. You can make recruitment rolls at “9” once a turn while the DEI, Lesser Antilles, and Suriname are controlled.
-
RE: USA peacetime increase
@manincellv If I understand your question, you want both one and two to happen.
Let’s say it’s 1938 and everyone’s neutral. No Declarations of War have occurred.
Path A - Germany declares war on The Netherlands before Japan does. Now, The Netherlands East Indies becomes controlled by Great Britain as long as Germany isn’t at war with another Major Power. This increases Great Britain’s peacetime income by 2D12, which is an average of 13. Their starting income is 11 and their wartime income is 25. Perhaps you get to 24. Risky, but possible.
Then, Japan declares war on the NEI. This increases USA peacetime income by 2D12, just as you were hoping. Great Britain’s peacetime income increases by +2, possibly allowing them to declare war on Japan.
Path B - Japan declares war on The Netherlands before Germany does. As long as Japan isn’t at war with another Major Power, The Netherlands cannot align with anyone. Instead, The Netherlands becomes controlled by Great Britain (and GB’s peacetime income increases by +2, btw). USA peacetime income increases by 2D12, just as you were hoping. On Great Britain’s turn, they could lend-lease to The Netherlands and this would occur before Germany gets to take its turn. They would also get to roll a D12 and on a “1” they would recruit either an infantry or 2 militia in The Netherlands.
Now, it’s Germany’s turn. They declare war on The Netherlands. This increases Great Britain’s peacetime income by 2D12, which is an average of 13. Their starting income is 11 and the Japanese DoW on the NEI has increased that to 13. Great Britain’s wartime income is 25. The most likely outcome statistically is that Great Britain will hit 25 with their roll of 2D12 and be able to DoW Germany, but there is a chance of your dream outcome going down this path.
But I’d wait to make sure folks like Trig, Noneshallpass, or GeneralHandGrendade concur, because I’m still learning.
-
RE: USA peacetime increase
@trig Ramble on, my knowledgeable friend! Thanks for the correction!