Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. happynewyear1945
    3. Posts
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 4
    • Posts 23
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by happynewyear1945

    • RE: Conduct Convoy Disruptions

      lol

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Conduct Convoy Disruptions

      i did not know carrier based aircraft counted toward convoy distribution. Learned something new today. And i thought, i’m not the only one…i hope lol

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • Conduct Convoy Disruptions

      Page 24 Europe, Page 23 Pacific

      Each enemy warship (except for aircraft carriers) and carrierbased
      air unit in the sea zone might cause the loss of 1 or more
      IPCs from your income for the turn. The owners of enemy
      battleships, cruisers, and/or destroyers rolls one die for each
      such unit, and the owners of enemy submarines and/or air units
      roll two dice
      for each such unit.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Sub transport with 2 inf dropping on island, island defended by 1 sub

      If the defender scrambles, the defending sub is obligated to surface and fight?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • Transport Chosen Last

      Situation

      G1 Combat

      a) 3 German U-boats attack UK destroyer and transport in SZ109

      b) UK Elects to scramble (because there is a destroyer present)

      c) Germany Rolls 3 dice, gets 1 hit, UK looses destroyer

      d) UK Rolls defense 4 at 4 and 1 at 2  (note: (4 at 4) 3 from UK 1 from Scotland) UK gets 2 Hits, Germany loses 2 U-boats

      What remains for next round of combat

      UK transport with 2 fighters
      German U-boat

      Question

      Can the lone U-boat kill the transport?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Dice Towers

      @CWO:

      @Private:

      … except me! … who did not even know what a dice tower is for! :roll:

      When they’re designed with effective soundproofing, they’re used to save marriages!  :)

      Agreed!

      posted in Customizations
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Dice Towers

      When i was researching dice tower construction i stumbled across examples of cheap and easy dice towers. One was even made out of an i-phone case. For sure a good road to go down if material is not readily on hand. Most people drink milk and would have a milk carton.

      Just for interest sake, I thought i would share a couple Dice tower reviews;

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZWpIm8R6PM

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqjR0tw7_YY

      I had to line the baffles with a sticker sponge material from the dollar store. The dice passing through the tower made considerable noise. My better half ever shut the door to the basement lol. I can’t wait to post a few pics of them in action.

      posted in Customizations
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Dice Towers

      @IWillNeverGrowUp:

      @happynewyear1945:

      I wonder if anyone else uses dice towers?

      Absolutely;

      https://boardgamegeek.com/image/620128

      Very nice looking dice towers!

      posted in Customizations
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Dice Towers

      @Requester45:

      I dont currently use them but we have been thinking about building some of our own. Let me know how it goes!

      will do!

      posted in Customizations
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • Dice Towers

      I scratch two dice towers for my war room. I have a G40 game coming up this weekend. Ill put some pictures up of them in action. I wonder if anyone else uses dice towers?

      posted in Customizations
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Sea lion

      thanks for everyone that commented.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Sea lion

      @P@nther:

      This is the relevant part of the rulebook here:

      @rulebook:

      Political Situation: The United States begins the game at war with no one. In addition to the normal restrictions (see
      “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15), while it’s not at war with Japan, the United States may not move
      any units into or through China or end the movement of its sea units in sea zones that are adjacent to Japan-controlled
      territories. While not at war with Germany or Italy, the United States may end the movement of its sea units on the Europe
      map only in sea zones that are adjacent to U.S. territories, with one exception: U.S. warships (not transports) may also
      conduct long-range patrols into sea zone 102. The United States may not declare war on any Axis power unless an Axis
      power either declares war on it first or captures London or any territory in North America, or Japan makes an unprovoked
      declaration of war against the UK or ANZAC, after which it may declare war on any or all Axis powers on its following
      turn.
      However, if it’s not yet at war by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, the United States may declare war on any
      or all Axis powers at the beginning of that phase. This is an exception to the rules for declaring war (see “Declaring War,”
      page 12), which may normally be done only at the beginning of the Combat Move phase.

      So a J1 DOW on USA has the effect that USA may DOW Italy and/or Germany on US1. This US DOW is mandatory for enabling the USA to extend the range of their units on the Europe side of the map and to land in UK. When Germany attacks UK, UK and US defend together.

      HTH :-)

      Ya that is what i thought. The reason i was asking this question is my friend was playing a Triple_A Global 1940 2nd and this situation happened. I guess it was a glitch.

      thanks panther

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Sea lion

      @Requester45:

      Europe rule book Pg. 22 Under Where Units Can Move Air Units: “An air unit must end its move in an eligible landing space. Air units can land in any territory that was friendly (but not friendly neutral) at the start of the current turn.” further down it says " If your power isn’t at war, you can’t move your air units into territories or onto aircraft carriers belonging to another friendly power."

      The states is Not Neutral in this situation, it is at war with Japan

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Sea lion

      @happynewyear1945:

      @seancb:

      America is immediately able to declare war on Germany after the J1 DOW. America plays after Japan so they can just boogie right over to UK and any other allied areas including ANZAC as well as park next to Japanese islands.

      No problems here.

      Yes i understand America CAN declare war on Germany. That is not the question.

      What happens to American Aircraft on the UK after G3 Sea Lion, while Germany is Not at war with America.

      America would be at war with Japan, and not Germay

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Sea lion

      @seancb:

      America is immediately able to declare war on Germany after the J1 DOW. America plays after Japan so they can just boogie right over to UK and any other allied areas including ANZAC as well as park next to Japanese islands.

      No problems here.

      Yes i understand America CAN declare war on Germany. That is not the question.

      What happens to American Aircraft on the UK after G3 Sea Lion, while Germany is Not at war with America.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Sea lion

      Can you show me where that rule is?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: Sea lion

      Page 15

      Neutral Powers: When a power is not at war with
      anyone, it is neutral. Powers that begin the game
      neutral, such as the United States and the Soviet
      Union, aren’t initially part of the Allies or the Axis. The
      Axis powers are on the opposite side of these neutral
      powers, but they are not yet considered enemies.
      While a power remains neutral, it operates under
      even tighter restrictions. A neutral power can’t move
      land or air units into or through neutral territories. It
      can’t move units into or through territories or onto
      ships belonging to another power or use another
      power’s naval bases, nor can another power move
      land or air units into or through its territories or onto
      its ships or use its naval bases.

      So when Japan Attacks America it is no longer neutral. As far as i understand that mean america can move onto UK and not be at war with Germany

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • Sea lion

      Situation;

      j1 DoW on America,

      America no longer neutral, it can move planes and ships onto the UK, because it is no longer neutral,

      G3 Sea Lion,

      Germany is still not at war with America/nor DoW america,

      I believe the american units would just leave on america turn,

      Thoughts?

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: I Can't Repair My Battleships!

      The original controller of the captured capital is still in
      the game but can’t collect income from any territories he
      or she still controls and can’t buy new units. The player
      skips all but the Combat Move, Conduct Combat, and
      Noncombat Move phases until the capital is liberated
      .
      If that power or one on its side liberates the capital,
      the original controller can once again collect income
      from territories he or she controls, including territories
      reverting control to him or her.

      You guys are correct, thanks for clearing that up. Been doing that wrong.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • RE: I Can't Repair My Battleships!

      @ShadowHAwk:

      A bit weird with the wording.

      But what would happen if germany captures russia and in the same turn russia captures germany.
      Russia now has money, so why cant they spend it?

      But the whole section is kinda useless, you dont get to collect income would be enough.
      You cant buy units without money so you dont have to skip the step you just buy forces with all the cash (0) you have.

      I agree with Shadowhawk,

      Repairing is a mechanic of the harbor. If a damaged capital ship is next to an operational harbor it automatically repairs during the purchase and repair phase. All that can stop a repair is a harbor that is not operational. So if your country has “0” money, you cant repair the harbor, then your ship cant repair.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      happynewyear1945H
      happynewyear1945
    • 1 / 1