Different colours are just for aesthetics. It’s your choice.
Posts made by GeneralHandGrenade
-
RE: Why buy ANZAC and FEC Miniatures?posted in Global War 1936
-
RE: UK/France Abyssinia strategyposted in Global War 1936
@KaiserSchmillhelm I like the idea of the railroad and of winning the war in Abyssinia for the same reasons that you stated. However there are some problems with your plans that run afoul with the rules.
- UK can’t lend lease until they are at war with a major power. (UK Reference sheet)
- UK and France don’t align until they are at war with the same major power. (4.4 Aligning)
- Because they aren’t aligned, UK and France can’t use each other’s railways, rivers, or ports. They can’t fly over and set foot in each other’s territories. (Table 4.2 Control and Alignment) (4.6 Neutrality)
- They can’t use the lend lease route you mapped out because France can’t use that path. (11.4 Lend Lease Delivery)
I think that perhaps the best way to win the war in Abyssinia is to convince the Comintern to lend lease an infantry on turn one and France lend lease an infantry on turn 1 through their port in adjacent land zone. If it looks like Abyssinia has a chance to survive after the first Italian turn then upgrade the port to a major for 4 IPP on turn 2 while lend leasing another infantry from France. After that France can send any type of unit beginning on turn 3. Remember that if the Italian player doesn’t fortify Eritrea you can end the war there by owning both Eritrea and Abyssinia. Also, don’t forget to do your recruitment roll for Abyssinia each turn as that may mean the difference between keeping it or losing it to the Italians.
As far as the British railway network, you could take more time to build it so that you have money to use elsewhere as well. You can’t use it to lend lease to Abyssinia anyway so there isn’t a big hurry to complete it.
This is the reason that I made that video yesterday. In order to become a better player people have to fully understand the diplomacy rules. The game mechanics will come naturally and players will get better as they learn to use all of the units effectively, but until they master the the politics they won’t fully understand what moves will are possible and which ones aren’t. The key is learning control and alignment to the fullest extent and not just the simple explanations. Whenever I think I fully understand them I learn something new because there is so much more to consider. In this case it is the relationship between major powers and how control, alignment, and neutrality affect lend lease.
-
RE: ANZAC Naval Unitsposted in Global War 1936
It doesn’t hurt to have one of each because they can also receive lend lease from the Americans. It just gives you that option.
I use British units for ANZAC and paint them.
-
RE: Railroad Questions (Building, bombing, breaking)posted in Global War 1936
He did say that he thought they should be able to build rail into a neutral but not into another major power’s territory without permission.
-
RE: Railroad Questions (Building, bombing, breaking)posted in Global War 1936
Check out the 16:30 mark of this video for your answers;
https://youtu.be/cHx14-KYxOw -
Helpful Tips on the Rules for New Playersposted in Global War 1936
Here is a video for newer players on learning the rules;
https://youtu.be/cHx14-KYxOw -
RE: How can I play Global War?posted in Global War
It’s just called Global War. You will find the game and the links to the rules and needed pieces here;
https://www.historicalboardgaming.com/The-Game_c_1443.htmlYou will find a lot more information on my YouTube channel here;
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVoI898HChr4R5RoP3e8Czg -
RE: Vichy Fly Overposted in Global War 1936
Yes that is correct. I messaged the rules guy last night and he confirmed that Vichy doesn’t fall with the fall of Paris. He said he was considering changing that for Version 4 down the road.
-
RE: Vichy Fly Overposted in Global War 1936
Yes Vichy is neutral and nobody but the Free French are allowed to fly over them ( that includes Germany).
If you attack their boats then it is a declaration of war on Vichy and all of the Vichy units and territories will align to the Germans after the Combat Phase is finished. If the British declared war on Vichy then they could fly over them because they are not neutral to Britain anymore. If you liberate Paris then all of Vichy will revert back to Free French. If you fail to liberate Paris that turn then Vichy will align to Germany after Combat Phase is done. You wouldn’t really need to attack the boats either, you would just have to verbally declare war during your Combat Movement Phase. Make sure you don’t fail in Paris though! -
RE: Landing Allied Planes in Russian Territoryposted in Global War 1936
Yes that’s correct. It’s possible he may have assumed incorrectly and used an A&A strategy to play GW. I have made similar mistakes in confusing the rules of the 2 games in the past. Players will eventually find that none of the A&A strategies work in this game.
-
RE: Vichy Fly Overposted in Global War 1936
Vichy is a neutral minor who is only at war with Free France. The other Allies treat it the same way as any other neutral. They are not aligned to Germany, they are controlled by them. Understanding the difference between Control and Alignment is essential to playing Global War. I had to read and reread that section many times before I truly mastered it. After that the game makes much more sense.
-
RE: Landing Allied Planes in Russian Territoryposted in Global War 1936
The Allies and the Comintern need to help each other in order to have a chance to win the game. However, they are not on the same team and can’t move into each other’s territory or occupy the same land zone. If they do liberate the other’s territory then Rule 9.1 applies.
-
RE: Pairing with Artilleryposted in Global War 1936
@HBG-GW-Enthusiast It looks like you interpreted it all correctly.
-
RE: Requirements for facilitiesposted in Global War 1936
You can place a fortification in any territory that you own. Note that when building a minor factory outside of your Home Country, it has to be in a supply path to a major factory in the Home Country and not just a territory with an IPP value.
-
RE: Do strat bombers get a roll before the AA ?posted in Global War 1936
Technically they both happen at the same time. Both the bomber and the AA get to roll.
-
RE: Surrounded Cityposted in Global War 1936
Unlike A&A the attacker can choose to do whatever attack he wants to in any order. That means he can indeed bomb the airbase in order to complete surrounding a city before the combat begins in the city. You should always give some thought to the order in which you conduct your combats because there are other situations where it’s in your best interest to do one before the other.