Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. GeneralHandGrenade
    3. Posts
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 31
    • Topics 31
    • Posts 966
    • Best 105
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 3

    Posts made by GeneralHandGrenade

    • RE: War time income

      If you look at your Reference Sheets you will notice that Russia and the Axis do not have a Wartime Income. Only the Allies have a Wartime Income. This was changed from Version 2 because it was misleading. The Axis and Russia are not bound by reaching an income threshold before they are allowed to declare war on a Major Power. Instead they simply have a Full Income (the total value of land zones).

      Declaring war on your opponent is the same as attacking them. If Japan were to declare war on Russia then Russia would go to FULL INCOME (not wartime income). Russia declaring on Japan does not raise their economy towards Full Income.

      Remember to keep the value of any land zones that Russia has conquered (Major or Minor Powers) separate from their Economy. They do not count towards their Full Income even though you are still collecting the value of the conquered land zones. It’s helpful to use 2 Russian roundels on the IPP tracker for this until Russia reaches it’s Full Income.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: Are We Forced to Place Units from the Production Chart?

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast

      You have to place them if you’re able to. If not they remain on the production chart until you can place them. Read the last bullet point.

      Place units.png

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: Turkish Straits

      @adalwolf Italy did not declare war on Russia until after it had moved through the Turkish Straits. It was a legal move. We were playing with the optional rule where you couldn’t do that through a Canal, but this was a Strait.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: Soviet Surprise Attack Clarification

      @dran-black The wording seems ambiguous on the German Reference Sheet but it is clear on the Soviet Reference Sheet that it has to be used on the same turn you declare war on the Soviets. (If and when)
      11.2 states that you can upgrade a unit that has moved that turn. Remember though you had to make that purchase on the Production Phase so if that unit is lost or a supply path isn’t opened, then the upgrade remains on the build queue until you can use it.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • The Spring Offensive

      After 15 months of delay the Spring Offensive begins this weekend in Prince George. There are 5 different Youtubers playing so you will have plenty of coverage of the event. Check some of the preview videos for information and prize giveaways.

      You can watch it on these channels;

      Panzer King (Italy)
      https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS4MxQhc_s_dVkdQPg7PfAQ
      Rank Carcass (Germany)
      https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0ARiaN535nXMVmFJSkEqiw
      Fortress Jinx (Japan)
      https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0ARiaN535nXMVmFJSkEqiw
      The Hilltop Pillbox (USA, France, KMT)
      https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVZgz5umjzGNvnJX-o2aDCw
      GeneralHandGrenade (The Comintern)
      https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVoI898HChr4R5RoP3e8Czg
      Mad Man Dan (The Commonwealth)

      We know the border isn’t open yet but the Crazy Canucks invite you all to follow along and sincerely hope you can join us next spring!

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: Recapturing a Liberated Paris in Global War 1936

      @misck All nations have separate surrender conditions in the game. While France does surrender, Free France never surrenders. It doesn’t matter what Italy does when it surrenders, they have their own surrender conditions.

      Vichy still exists when you recapture Paris, Vichy only surrenders when you capture their capital from them.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: On factories, How many can you build?

      @delaja said in On factories, How many can you build?:

      @insanehoshi
      Indeed. Tech is rolled in an earlier phase than movement of major favtory (by USSR)

      This is incorrect. The Soviet reference sheet clearly states that “The factory cannot produce any units/tech the turn it moves.”

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      Declarations of War
      https://youtu.be/Kz5Kl9oOZSA

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast That question was answered over a month ago on the thread that Trig referenced earlier. I didn’t re-answer it because the guy who wrote the rules gave the answer directly. When I have a question I ask him for the answer. His answers are more definite than mine.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @trig said in The FAQ Thread:

      @generalhandgrenade said in The FAQ Thread:

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast said in The FAQ Thread:

      The moving player’s intent need only be declared upon entering a sea zone, sea zone by sea zone. The announcement is something like, “My fleet enters this sea zone and intends to keep moving to this next sea zone. Do you want to declare war before I leave?” Then say the British fleet reaches the final sea zone they want and they announce, “We now declare war on Japan and are going to try to perform an amphibious assault with these ships/units.” [If there are enemy naval units, then add, “These units are my screening force.”] So yes, they can move through a Japanese-occupied sea zone peacefully, only to immediately declare war and conduct combat in the next sea zone all within a single turn.

      None of this is correct if neither of us has declared war on each other yet. Other than maybe some canals or straits, my naval movements are not restricted while I’m not at war with you. That’s why you have to put some thought into when you decide to declare war on your turn. In some cases, you might want to make some moves, declare war, then finish your moves. The reason is you would move your ships unimpeded, then if you needed to fly your planes over certain territories, you can declare war on those nation(s) and thus complete your moves (you can’t fly over a neutral nation).

      Why not? That is what happens. You move through the sea zones, and a nation may declare war with you at any time as you are moving though. This is just the slow way of doing it, for instance if you had a really important turn like Japan’s sneak attack or something. There is nothing in that that refers to restricted movement, just giving the other player a chance to DOW. I find it a much more elegant explanation than “you can declare war at anytime, and then figure out what happens”
      (Also, your previous post implied that someone would make their moves while everyone else wasn’t paying attention, or was off doing something different, and then be immune to a preemptive DOW. I find that that just rude and impolite. GW Enthusiast’s interpretation removes that obnoxious loophole.)

      I was giving a literal interpretation of the rules. I wouldn’t wait for someone to go to the bathroom or out for a smoke to declare war on them. As you point out that would be rude. We don’t play our games that way. That said, I’m not going to tell you what my plan is nor am I under any obligation to do so. We explain this quite clearly in the rulebook on page 25. We even gave an example of what I said;

      Declaration of War.png

      The example that was given in this thread by the OP was a rare occasion that I’m not sure I would put myself in as the British player. If I was making that move chances are I’m doing it just to bait the Japanese player into declaring war on me. You can bet that I’ll be sure and give him every opportunity and latitude to do that. If he doesn’t take the bait I might just change my move before I announce any combat. A more appropriate example that would be common would be moving past the American boats on my way to assault the main part of his navy. I would be doing so before he has the ability to declare war on me so I don’t have to form a screening force. Once there I would declare war on him.

      Declaring war in GW 36 is very easy. So easy it takes up hardly any space in the rulebook as you can see from my screenshot. However, it is the most difficult decision to make in the game with consequences that could decide the fate of the game. I have work to do on GW 14 today and other stuff that needs doing. If I have time I’ll make a video on Declarations of War later. If not then I’ll get to it some time after I get home from the lake this weekend.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast said in The FAQ Thread:

      The moving player’s intent need only be declared upon entering a sea zone, sea zone by sea zone. The announcement is something like, “My fleet enters this sea zone and intends to keep moving to this next sea zone. Do you want to declare war before I leave?” Then say the British fleet reaches the final sea zone they want and they announce, “We now declare war on Japan and are going to try to perform an amphibious assault with these ships/units.” [If there are enemy naval units, then add, “These units are my screening force.”] So yes, they can move through a Japanese-occupied sea zone peacefully, only to immediately declare war and conduct combat in the next sea zone all within a single turn.

      None of this is correct if neither of us has declared war on each other yet. Other than maybe some canals or straits, my naval movements are not restricted while I’m not at war with you. That’s why you have to put some thought into when you decide to declare war on your turn. In some cases, you might want to make some moves, declare war, then finish your moves. The reason is you would move your ships unimpeded, then if you needed to fly your planes over certain territories, you can declare war on those nation(s) and thus complete your moves (you can’t fly over a neutral nation).

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @nicbot23 Let me simplify this for you.

      1. It is my turn and I’m not at war with you.
      2. I can move as many of my units as I want after my production phase is over. I don’t need to say anything to you or anyone else around the table. If you want to declare war on me (or anyone else wants to declare war on any other nation for that matter) you may do so at any time if the rules regarding declarations of war permit.
      3. When I’m done moving I have to tell you if I’m attacking you, what I’m attacking with, where I’m attacking, what kind of attack it is (strategic bombing, carpet bombing, regular combat, screening force, MAP, convoy raiding, amphibious assault, or anything else you can do to your opponent).
      4. All nations that I have attacked can now react to my attacks (scrambling, submerging, interception).
      5. Combat begins in the order that I specify. I don’t have to actually say I’m declaring war on you if I don’t want to. Telling you that I’m attacking you in step 3 here ^^ will suffice as a declaration of war.
      6. After all combat has been resolved, the consequences of everything that has happened can now be resolved (income increases, alignments, basically anything in the rulebook or the reference sheets that specify some type of consequence to these actions that have taken place).
      7. I finish my turn. I am probably doing the last 2 phases as you and the others are resolving the consequences.
      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @nicbot23 said in The FAQ Thread:

      If a nation begins moving a naval force intended for an amphibious assault while they’re at peace, is it automatically assumed to be a declaration of war for the purpose of determining peacetime income increases?

      No. They are not required to declare war until they actually reach Japan and announce an attack in your example. They could make multiple moves and then declare war if they want to. The only thing you can’t do related to this is make a combat move through a canal if you are playing with this optional rule.

      For example, if a British landing force departs during the combat movement phase with the intention of landing units in Japan before either side has declared war, does this mean Japan is allowed intercept the invasion fleet without triggering USA’s 5 D12 worth of peacetime income increase? Or does Japan have to declare war first in order intercept and attack the British fleet? I don’t find it feasible that a nation can’t deal with an invasion headed their way without having to make the unprovoked declaration of war.

      No. Japan has to guess if it’s a combat move and decide if it wants to declare war before the move happens. Once they British player has moved past the Japanese ships it’s too late to stop them. The Japanese declaration will trigger the income increase. I have to think that the British player would only do this if the Americans were near their wartime income anyway or they may be committing suicide taking on the Japanese by themselves. Declaring war in this game is always a dicey prospect regardless of who and when it is. There are many consequences and that’s why the time to do it is more flexible than A&A.
      It’s the choice that makes it interesting. Sea zones are thousands of square miles, how would Japan even know that the British are making a combat move when they are not at war with them? In the real world, it would only be a guess assuming their patrols observed them. Note that if there were surface war ships in the sea zone where the amphibious assault was taking place that the British would have to assault them with a screening force.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: Finland diplomacy and thoughts on the molotov-ribbontropPACT

      @chris_henry It’s detrimental for a couple of reasons.
      First of all there are tangible benefits for 2 of the 3 factions and you’re not 1 of them.
      The other is that both of those factions are starting to cooperate which could lead to more cooperation. As long as they perceive their relationship to be beneficial they (especially Germany) can concentrate more resources on your demise.
      Russia can’t win the game by themselves. It’s not in your best interests to have them turn to Germany instead of you for help. Remember, this game isn’t played solely on the board. The more players work against each other the more resentment and tension that’s created between them. At some point you cross the line and instead of winning your main goal becomes making sure that jerk doesn’t win because he screwed you. This pact does absolutely nothing for the Allies except make the hill they need to climb steeper.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: Finland diplomacy and thoughts on the molotov-ribbontropPACT

      It seems pretty obvious to me that Germany gets more benefit from the pact than Russia does. That doesn’t always mean that it’s a bad idea for Russia to sign it. It depends on Russia’s overall plan for the game and how they plan on defeating both of the other factions. If you’re the German player and you’re playing against a top level Russian player, you better beware that he has got a plan to defeat you and he’s using the pact as a means to that end even if you can’t decipher what that is. If he’s a new player and it just sounds like a good, safe thing to do then Germany will take advantage of him and beat him like a rented mule.
      One thing is for sure, it sucks if you’re the Allied player. There is no upside to the pact for them.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @insanehoshi said in The FAQ Thread:

      Can Fighters/Tactical Bombers land on friendly/aligned aircraft carriers. For example an ANZAC plane landing on an American Carrier? In the US turn if the carrier combat or non-combat moves, does the ANZAC plane come with it? Does it participate in any attacks?

      Yes you can land your fighters/tactical bombers on an aligned carrier. They will participate in defensive combat but will not be used on offence by the owner of the carrier. They will move with the carrier but will only be considered as cargo. They will fly and fight on offence only on their own turn. The rules regarding damaged carriers still apply to them.

      Assuming an evolved Chinese power, Does the USSR and CCP (or USA and KMT) share rail movement or no? Can the USSR rail 2 units in the USSR and then can CCP rail 2 units?

      The USSR and CCP are 2 different nations. The US and the KMT are 2 different nations. Their economies and per turn limits are separate from each other.

      A German submarine is in a sea zone with a British destroyer and an escort carrier with a fighter on board. On the British turn the fighter goes on MAP and attacks pairing with a destroyer. The submarine is hit and decides to defend, and it rolls a 1 and gets target selection. Can it target select the escort carrier?

      The rules for target selection are defined clearly on page 38 under the heading “All Rounds of Combat.” Since the submarine only scores hits on ships, it is up to the owner of the submarine to decide which ship they choose as a casualty.

      When are units subject to terrain rules that affect their movement. Lets assume three Land Zones: LZ1: Mountain, LZ2: no terrain, LZ3: no terrain. If a tank starts in LZ1 can it move to 2 and then 3? If a tank starts in LZ3 can it move to 2 and then 1?

      To simplify this for everyone, movement through terrain is best described this way; The territory you are standing in does not count when it comes to movement. Assume you are standing right at the border. The first territory you encounter determines what type of terrain you are moving in. If there are no terrain features you have to cross in the first territory you cross then you can move into a second territory if your unit has movement points left. Cavalry is the only unit that could move through a territory with terrain (mountain) and into a second territory.
      On the other hand, there are restrictions involving blitzing. For instance, you cannot blitz out of a city. That means that if you moved into a city on combat movement phase and successfully conquered that territory, then you can’t subsequently move into a second enemy territory as a blitz.
      You can’t blitz into a mountain territory or over a mountain border. That means that you can’t attack an enemy territory with no terrain on combat movement and then blitz into a second enemy mountain territory and conquer it. You could, however, move through a friendly territory with no terrain and then attack a mountain territory as that is not considered a blitz. The first territory you entered did not restrict your movement.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      @insanehoshi said in The FAQ Thread:

      If the U.S.S.R. is attacked by Major Power it goes to full income. Does this refer to originally owned USSR land zones, or any owned land zone with or without USSR Units. In the Operation Frostbite YouTube game, the USSR player took Romania and Slovakia. The Germans counter attacked Slovakia, does the USSR player now have full income? One could say that since the USSR is now at war, they don’t get their peacetime increases, but how is that functionally different from say Germany declaring war first, but not attacking?
      Germany would have declared war on the USSR if they attacked any land zone owned by the USSR regardless of whether they had units there or not. There is no difference between a German attack on an enemy or Germany declaring war verbally on them.
      On a similar note (and this is just me being dumb most likely) where does it say a nation goes to wartime income if attacked/DOW’d (Of course the USA goes to full income if japan declares war, I just cant see that anywhere).
      You will find them on the National Reference Sheets under the Peacetime Income Increases section. Note that Russia and the Axis don’t have a wartime income. Russia goes to full income and the Axis start the game there at full income.
      USSR’s Ice Free VP is as follows “Score 1 Victory Objective if the U.S.S.R. possess one of the following (a) a Major Naval Base with a sea zone # of 8 or greater or (b) Crimea and Istanbul.” While it is obvious that the intention is that any Black Sea Major Naval Base doesn’t count unless Istanbul is soviet occupied, however rules as written don’t actually seem to restrict this, as the Black Sea has sea zones of 31 and 32 and any naval base there would count (rules as written). Also this means both Leningrad and Vladivostok count towards this VP (despite them not exactly being Ice Free Ports; which is a bit weird in my eyes.).
      The Victory Point is awarded as written. The name of the VP was never changed from V2. There will be a drastic change in the VP’s and how they are awarded in V4. It’s possible we might reveal them at the Spring Offensive this July in Prince George. If not then it will be in the fall on a YouTube game.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: USA peacetime increase

      @manincellv The Americans get 2 D12 if the Japanese declare war on the Dutch.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: The FAQ Thread

      Sea Zone 25 and Coastal Artillery at Narrow Crossings.
      The seems to be a lot of confusion about Sea Zone 25 and the narrow crossings/coastal artillery adjacent to it.
      Page 56, 12.9 Coastal Artillery
      A) Defends against Amphibious Assaults across the land/sea border it is placed.
      B) May shoot at any enemy surface ship passing through (up to a maximum of 3 shots per turn.
      It has nothing to do with naval battles or blockades taking place in Sea Zone 25. It is all one sea zone.
      Example - Germany is at war with both UK (ships entered in the south but didn’t pass through the narrow crossing) and US (ships entered in the north but didn’t pass through the narrow crossing). Germany enters Sea Zone 25 and conducts combat with both UK and US ships. Again, it is all one sea zone.
      The only time the Coastal Artillery gets shots is if enemy ships pass through the sea zone (enters one side and exits other side of the sea zone, even if that is on a subsequent turn).

      Can you lend lease to nation yours is at war with (if all other conditions are met)?
      The Reference Sheets are very clear on who a nation can lend lease to and under what conditions. There are no restrictions as to whether or not you can lend lease to a nation you are at war with given the other conditions are met. If you are lend leasing to your enemy then you are probably playing the game wrong. Rarely would that be in your best interests.

      The question on submarines blocking movement.
      8.10 Screening Forces on page 37 lays out exactly how this is to be handled on the Combat Movement Phase.
      9.8 Amphibious Assaults on page 40 states that submarines do not hinder amphibious assaults.
      10.1 Non-Combat Movement on page 45. We omitted to state what happens on NCM. Submarines DO NOT block movement on NCM. Whether a sub has submerged or not is irrelevant.

      Chinese Victory Points
      Only territories that are worth IPP’s would prevent the opposite Chinese faction from counting VP’s. The same rule applies as with the other nations with subtracting points for those territories lost. Note-The 2 factions don’t count as foreign countries.

      Attack on China
      This has been added to the Errata. Some words were missing.

      China Lend Lease
      7.9 Lend Lease on page 32 states that Major Powers may lend lease to other Major Powers and Minor Powers. Although it has been omitted from the Chinese Reference Sheets, they do have the ability to lend lease when they evolve to a Major Power. Since it hasn’t been listed, I would say that there is no restriction on who and when they can lend lease. Things like this will be clarified further in V4.

      Can a Fighter participate in 2 different combats in one turn?
      Obviously not. The only way any unit can participate in 2 different battles is when they are blitzing.

      When do aircraft count as being “On a carrier” when it comes to auto MAP and the optional Carrier planes retreat rule.
      **I’ve already done a video to answer this question and it was answered at great length and in the simplest of terms so it can be easily understood.
      When someone asks a question online because they don’t understand a phrase or the wording in the rulebook, it doesn’t do much good to simply quote what it says in the rulebook. A simple explanation and a demonstration is a great way to show someone the correct way to interpret a rule. At times when I do that I get a response like “but that’s not what it says in the rulebook”. No, it isn’t. You asked what it meant and I gave you the correct answer. In this case, quoting the rulebook wouldn’t answer the question.

      1. There is no such thing as auto MAP.
      2. The designers of the game don’t care about the optional rules as they are just suggestions given years ago. We should have deleted them and I can assure you most of them will not be in the next version of the rulebook. The ones only listed at near the end of the book are for all intents and purposes “house rules”. The ones you find in the sections of the book that pertain to the rules are legit and we will continue to interpret them.**

      Here is the video that explains carriers;
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AaJxeTalbs&t=799s

      Can a fighter scramble to defend: the strategic bombing of a facility with AA, the strategic bombing of a facility without AA (railway), an unescorted convoy line, an escorted convoy line, an AWS convoy line?
      A Fighter can scramble to defend a facility from strategic bombing. A convoy line is not a facility. Scrambling has nothing to do with convoy raiding.

      Can Russia game its income by declaring war on Germany as soon as possible, and then declaring war on every single neutral around its home country to force them to become German owned and get like 8d12 income in July 1939?
      Noneshallpass answered this question correctly.
      The D12’s you refer to are Peacetime increases.There is no possible way they could be aligned to Germany, Italy, or Japan if you were not also at war with one of those nations. They would only be Controlled by if you were at peace.

      I don’t think this is a sufficient answer. This interpretation means you can combat move a carrier 3 spaces away to a submarine (despite the carrier not being able to attack the sub, combat could occur and thus its combat movement), bring a plane, is that plane now “on a carrier” and thus on maritime air patrol? I don’t think its the intention to have carrier based aircraft be able to move 3-4 spaces on a carrier and attack submarines.
      Please just watch the video. You are referring to regular naval combat. A plane and a carrier can only move 1 total space combined to be considered on MAP.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • RE: Air Transport logistics

      @ghetty said in Air Transport logistics:

      I’m just trying to figure out the logistics of Air Transports. During a non-combat move, can my Air Transport fly from one zone to an adjacent zone, pick up an Infantry, fly to another adjacent zone, drop it off, and then return to it’s original zone (assuming I’m within it’s 6 or 7 move limit)?
      Thanks.

      Thanks for bringing to our attention that this was omitted in the rule book. The Air Transport may continue to move up to the limit of it’s movement capacity after it drops off an Infantry class unit on Non-Combat Movement and then land in a friendly territory. The Air Transport and the unit being transported do not have to begin the turn in the same territory. The Air Transport may only transport 1 Infantry class unit per turn.

      posted in Global War 1936
      GeneralHandGrenadeG
      GeneralHandGrenade
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 48
    • 49
    • 2 / 49