Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. General Steiner
    3. Posts
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 10
    • Posts 67
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by General Steiner

    • RE: BOTB rule clarifications

      Ahhh ok, so if the axis player gets reinforced with a tank division, it can be driven to the front lines inside a zone of control. Then after a supply token is payed for that tank division, it can blitz into enemy lines in the same turn.

      Another thing I don’t understand is lets say the axis player is reinforced with a tank division, and in that same reinforcement phase assuming it does not enter an enemy zone of control, the tank can keep on driving until it hits an enemy city? Leaving a hypothetical scenario whereby, the axis player controls Werbomot, and when he is reinforced with a tank, drives the tank into enemy lines all the way to Huy or Ciney, assuming no enemy zone of control is ever entered into.

      Thanks again for bearing with me Krieghund.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      General SteinerG
      General Steiner
    • RE: BOTB rule clarifications

      I hate to bombard you with queries Krieghund, and I came across another problem. You expend a supply token to attack a hex in combat, do you then expend another supply token in the movement phase, when you move your units out of the hex. So in effect an attack and subsequent movement with the same units from the same hex requires two supply tokens, is that correct?

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      General SteinerG
      General Steiner
    • RE: BOTB rule clarifications

      Haha six times, thats enough to make anyone unhappy.

      I played my first game tonight, I was allies, and I think I made every mistake in the book. I managed to lose most of my transport trucks, and has my army in the centre without any supply tokens, it was a disaster. Axis didn’t win until turn 5, which is re-assuring, because it means that I understand the rules of the game to a large degree, as people previously have posted that it takes at least 5 turns for the Axis to win. I can also see what you mean when you say its your best axis game, for me its definately the best axis and allies game I have played with two people so far. The whole dice scenario mixed in with the attack first, rather than the defender gets to hit back, makes for a fun new game.

      I do have another query though :) In the reinforcement phase, when you receive a tank, as long as you stick to the roads can you send it straight to the zone of conflict, so that the same tank can be used in combat in the next turn? And do you use up any supply tokens? When you travel in your own territory (outside of the zones of conflict and without a transport), I assume supply tokens work the same way, one token for every one space, and two tokens for a tank blitz of two spaces infront.

      I totally understand the air combat, and land combat phases of a turn, what I am still hazy on after playing for the first time is the movement, and reinforcement phases, but I think I have 80% of that figured out and correct.

      Thanks again for all your help so far Krieghund, I don’t know how I would have figured out the dynamics of the game without it.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      General SteinerG
      General Steiner
    • RE: BOTB rule clarifications

      Thanks Krieghund, I understand completly now. So its quite possible that a hex remains allied, not because the Germans have a lack of units, but because they failed to hit at least one allied unit in that hex during an attack. Which makes sense, because in warfare that would be like stalling a superior force for a period of time.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      General SteinerG
      General Steiner
    • RE: BOTB rule clarifications

      Thanks Krieghund, your best, the game makes alot more sense now :)

      I do have one last clarification though. Lets say the German player attacks an adjacent hex with 2 allied infantry in it, the axis player destroys one infantry, and does not hit the second allied infantry man. The allied infantry man remains in the hex, and the initiative is passed to the allied player, who decides to attack somewhere else on the board. When the initiative passes back to the axis player, can he attack that same hex with the one remaining allied infantryman in it? And then and only then when he clears the hex of all enemy units, can he move into it in the movement phase?

      Thats the last real problem I have, once I solve that, I can get a game going, and hopefully playing the game will get rid of the muddle in my head which the instructions have produced.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      General SteinerG
      General Steiner
    • RE: My last game: maybe a balance solution?

      Mot, have you played with your additional rules yet? They look sound, and I am really keen to try them out. Especially the rule with one arty from suez, the tank from the east, the infantry from the draft, and the sub for the wolf packs. These are rules that don’t adjust the attack and defense capabilities of the units, whilst at the same time adding a nice historical touch to the game. Anyways I’ll be sure to tell you how I go when I try these rules out next.

      posted in Axis & Allies Europe
      General SteinerG
      General Steiner
    • BOTB rule clarifications

      Hi all,

      I have tried really hard to understand a few basic concepts regarding BOTB but to no avail. So if someone could clarify the following queries for me, I’d really appreciate it!

      1. Does the defender get to fire back? If the axis attacks a hexagon does the allied player fire back, making his roll with all of his units (including those that get destroyed and have retreated)? Something similar to regular versions of Axis and Allies, or does passing initiative solve this problem? For example the axis player attacks a hexagons, takes it over, and then on the same turn, the allied player will attack back on his initiative phase with surrounding units that same hexagon that the axis play just took over.

      2. After the first dice roll, what happens to the units that aren’t hit, and that remain in the hexagon, do they get to fire back? So in the example in the instruction manual, what happens to the infantryman who remains in the hexagon, who the axis player did not hit? Does this mean that the axis player cannot take this hexagon on that turn?

      I hope these two queries make sense, compared to Europe, Pacific and A&A revised, these rules are mighty complicated.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      General SteinerG
      General Steiner
    • 1 / 1