Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. General Retreat
    3. Posts
    G
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 9
    • Posts 36
    • Best 1
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by General Retreat

    • Moving Bombers

      :? During the movement turn, can a bomber make it from New Caledonia island/land to Santa Isabel or only to sea zone H? Can it make it to Sea Zone I? I’m guessing No to Santa Isabel but yes to Sea Zone I.  8-)

      Regroup situation: Japanese bombers that attacked New Georgia find all friendly airfields damaged. Can they make it to Rabaul? I’m guessing not.  :oops:

      posted in Axis & Allies Guadalcanal
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Few Questions

      :| Between this and the answer to a posting of mine … it’s time to start over! :-o

      posted in Axis & Allies Guadalcanal
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Few Questions

      Saw this and this question came to mind: Since fighters get a free ride on a carrier and their movement sequence is later, can they move two more zones after the carrier moves them one?

      If so, fighters and a carrier at New Calendonia could do this: load up the planes, move the carrier to J or K, then fly off the planes to, say, to New Georgia or Santa Isabel.

      posted in Axis & Allies Guadalcanal
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Subs and Ranged Firing

      :-o I thought I was asking a question about subs and instead I learn I’ve misunderstood surface fleet action! Looked more closely at the rules and they never say there’s ranged sea fire. Thanks for straightening me out on a very important matter! :wink:

      posted in Axis & Allies Guadalcanal
      G
      General Retreat
    • Subs and Ranged Firing

      I could use clarification on how subs are sunk. I understand that a sub can only attack ships in the same sea zone. Since surface ships have ranged firing and can shoot into the next sea zone, can they attack (and sink) subs in an adjacent sea zone or only in their own?  :?

      8-) An observation while we’re on the subject of subs: Seems subs won’t last long. It has to invade the enemy’s zone, so it probably has no allied ships with it and can easily be taken out. Then it only has 1/3 chance of hitting–only 1/6 chance of sinking capital ships. Would seem a loaded transport is the only target worth stalking because of the payoff.

      posted in Axis & Allies Guadalcanal
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Too many units left over; not enough on board

      So the supplies are stuck off-board.  :-o

      And by the way, thanks!  :wink:

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Too many units left over; not enough on board

      :roll: And while I have your attention … Rules and FAQ talk about off-board trucks bringing supply tokens with them. What about supply tokens for which there are no more off-board trucks–the trucks have filled up on other stuff (infantry, arty, supply tokens). Are these supply tokens stuck off-board until an upcoming turn when a truck may have room? Or can they be deposited on a valid board-edge reiniforcement hex much like combat units?

      Hope this question makes sense.  :-D

      And wow! This just came up in a game: A hex has just a truck and supply hexes. Can the other side attack it? Sure, he’d prefer to comandeer them, but it’s just a single infantry who won’t exist by the movement phase. So he might as well try to destroy one of them.  :?

      And here’s another: when those trucks return to the off-board area, can they take something with them? If there are three supply tokens and an arty, can the truck take those off-board to be brought back on immediately, if desired?

      The rules are vague about truck capacity. I understand it to be six units: two arty items. Or could a truck haul six artillery?

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Too many units left over; not enough on board

      :-D And here come a couple already! Trucks not in enemy ZOC can move offboard to bring up reinforcements and supplies. What about trucks that are in an enemy ZOC?  :? Can they move anywhere onboard (over roads not in enemy ZOCs, of course)? The FAQ explains, “It is important to note, however, that a Truck moving out of an enemy zone of control can only be moved to an adjoining hex that is linked by road. A Truck, beginning its movement in an enemy zone of control may load units that are in that hex.” So you move the truck to an adjacent hex via road (the only way trucks move) and take off and go anywhere in the bakcfield roads reach? Do trucks ever need to spend supply tokes to move?

      :-o Attacks. Must all attacks be declared and irretrievably paid for? I can see that one should. I’m thinking specifically of attacks from two (or more hexes) on one enemy. The first attack may do it all but if it doesn’t, you’ll want another. When one attack kills/forces back all combat units, there is nothing for the next hex to attack. Can you call it off and take back that token?

      Hey, thanks for all the help so far!!  :wink:

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Too many units left over; not enough on board

      Quite helpful. But now answer this(!):  :? Must one have loaded up the newly units onto truck(s) the previous turn? That is, must one place them on an edge hex during the reinforcement phase and right then and there load them onto a truck (that has to be there then, too) for movement on the truck the next turn’s movement phase(?).  :cry:

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Too many units left over; not enough on board

      :-o Oh.

      (Thanks again.)

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Too many units left over; not enough on board

      :-o Looked again at page 8. Are off-board units placed at the beginning of movement or during reinforcement? If in time for movement, they can move–right? If only during reinforcement, can they move? Sounds like trucks can anyway and haul stuff, too.
      :?

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Attacking from two hexes

      :-D Thanks again!  :lol:

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • Attacking from two hexes

      :? Here’s a question: Can units from two hexes attack one?  :evil: The rules address splitting the forces in one hex to attack two, but what about two hexes ganging up on one? If permitted, is it just one roll or separately? Generally, more dice means more kills. But if the attacker has more than 12 units, he loses some punch if all combined.  :| Then he’d want to make one attack after another.

      What’s the thinking on this?

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • Help! Iron blitz Crashes before first screen

      :cry: I’m trying to run Iron Blitz in XP. I don’t get to the first game screen. Monitor blacks out and then Windows returns with one of its opaque messages: Axis.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." [anyone believe that?]

      The additional information isn’t meaningful to me.

      Any fixes out there?  :?

      By the way: How can I embed an image here? I could show the messages.

      posted in TripleA Support
      G
      General Retreat
    • RE: Too many units left over; not enough on board

      :-) Thanks for the quick reply–and on Christmas, no less!  Shortages are no problems–losses provide more. I don’t see where the Germans start with two trucks but it would help and explain why I have two “left over.”

      I’m still wondering about the excess, especially of artillery. In fact, on the two page spread (pages 4 & 5), the game is set up to play–at least for the Germans–and extra units abound. Has anyone else noticed this?

      The FAQ looks helpful.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • Too many units left over; not enough on board

      :?Just got game, brand new. (Downloaded and read rules a year ago but different when you get down to playing.) The number of units provided, while in agreement with Page 4 “Game Components” doesn’t seem right. Generally, I have many more than I’ll ever put on the board and reinforcement chart. This is glaringly obvious with Brits: Have twice the tanks needed. US & Brit artillery in abundance. Germans have lots of “left over” artillery, too.  :-o And this stuff would seem to be needed on the board. I can picture both armies running out early. Do the Germans only get three trucks total? Again, I have two “left over.”*

      This is a matter of strategy/movement: Germans are stranded before Bastogne.

      *Have D-Day and the unit count to exact. No room for error or loss of so much as one.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      G
      General Retreat
    • 1 / 1