Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Didier_de_Dax
    3. Posts
    D
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 13
    • Posts 47
    • Best 8
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by Didier_de_Dax

    • Militia questions

      Hey,

      I have some questions about militia movements rules :

      -Can militia use strategic movement (by using rail or rivers), even if they aren’t in home country?

      -Can militia use strategic naval movement, even if they aren’t in home country?

      -Can Spanish nationalist or republican militia could move and attack in Spain? Or do they have to be upgraded to infantry first?

      -When a country that has militia is aligned to a major power, can the militia (newly acquired) move or attack in his old home country?

      Thanks for your answers.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: FEC income when Calculta is occupied

      @noneshallpass

      Ok thanks I don’t see the modification in the errata my bad.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • Optional rule 10,2 “reinforcement of captured bases”

      Hey,

      I have a question about the optional rule 10,2 “reinforcement of captured bases”, page 45) specifically on the aircraft movement.

      It says that “aircraft may land in non-combat movement at an airbase captured this turn”, but this didn’t precise if this aircraft can land in a captured air base this turn if he didn’t make a combat this turn or not.

      In the rules 10,3 “Air Movement” (page 45), it doesn’t precise much.

      For example : If the airplanes that combat this turn can land in a captured air base this turn, it means that a air transport and a paratrooper based in Normandy can land in New-York after taken it this same turn.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • FEC income when Calculta is occupied

      Hey,

      When Calcutta is taken by an enemy, all the FEC ipp reserve disappeared, but he don’t surrender (see reference sheet for details).
      The question is: during the collect income phase of the FEC, do he still gather the ipp value of his other provinces?

      Also, how is the new capital of FEC determine? Or it’s not need to choose a new capital? (so the enemy can’t take it and make the ipp reserve disappears again).

      Thanks for your answers.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: URSS income

      @bretters .

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • URSS income

      Hey !

      I have a question regarding the USSR’s peacetime income/wartime income. How the USSR’s income changes when it annexes a minor country while still at peacetime income? For example, let’s say you sign the Molotov-Ribbentrop with Germany in 1939 and you annex the 2 regions in eastern Poland + the 3 Baltics states and finally Karjala in Finland what happens to your income? Here are my guesses:

      1. You stay at your peacetime income (which is 8 + eventually some additional income from peacetime income increases from sleeping bear or axis nation taking region next to your home country). But your wartime income increases from 46 to 49 since you took 3 incomes. Which means you now need to get to 49 instead of 46 to be at wartime income.
      2. You stay at your peacetime income (8+) but when you reach 46 income you automatically reach 49 to match your real states values
      3. You get right away those 3 incomes so your peacetime income reaches 11+ but you need to get to 49 to be at wartime income.
      4. You get right away those 3 incomes so your peacetime income reaches 11+ and once you reach 46 income you automatically reach 49 to match your real states values.

      Thanks for you answers.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: A list of terrains on some of the harder-to-see land zones?

      What about Malaya ? is it jungle or mountain or both ?

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Surrounding a city question

      @jon-b

      You’re right, the attacker choose the order of the combat resolution.

      So, in the situation that you describe : yes, the city is surronded.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Free France a Given?

      I have the same conclusions as @Trig for me creating Vichy is way more interesting for the Germans. Or maybe, the classic surrender rule applies when Vichy is not created and all the units are removed from the board.

      Some of your others questions are also interesting, I hope that someone could help!

      Unfortunately, I don’t come with answers but more questions, as you invited us: “or other questions you have”.

      • In page 61, rule 14.4.2 : “All french Aligned Minor Powers (e.g. Abyssinia) become Align to Free French”. The errata recently remove the word “controlled” (page 3).
        The problem is that: if Abyssinia isn’t annex by Italy and the war between them continue until the surrendering of France. Abyssinia is ONLY CONTROLLED by France, as long as Italy doesn’t declare war on France before the fall of this last country.
        So it means that: Abyssinia isn’t considered Align with France and Abyssinia isn’t aligned with Free France. Then Abyssinia only remains controlled by Free France?

      • In the USA reference sheet (page 2) on the peacetime income increases: “Japan declares war on British Commonwealth or France: +5D12” and “Japan declares war on any other neutral: +2D12”.
        If Vichy France is created and Free France gets the French Indochina Provinces (Annam-Tonkin and Cochinchina), when Japan attacks, the USA gets 5D12 or 2D12? Because it’s not France but a neutral minor.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Can submarines move through enemey channals like the suez Channel in combat move

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast

      I agree with want you say !

      I know GHG is doing an important task by answering a thousand of questions, I’m the first to say that he is very helpfull : “he explains us a lot of good thingS” (I should not forget the “s” there).

      I was just pointing that his reaction wasn’t appropriate, nor helpfull for the community, when he say that he will no more answer questions because peoples disagree with what he was explaining (some says that the explications wasn’t clear enough and if we compare with your last explanation the last was way more comprehensive and clear).
      What kind of childish blackmail is that ? :joy:

      Also, my last post is not intended to criticize game designers and their work.
      I greatly support your opinion when you say that they need time and playtest. I wasn’t asking for more rapid answers, but more comprehensive and complete explanations.

      I think I’m not the only one who prefers a long and detailled clarification about a rule or a concept, rather than an expeditive : “Listen to me, I speak with the game designers, you don’t understand the spirit of the rules” ; “if you disagree with me, you are wrong”.
      Come on we can take the time to have a real discussion and understand all the aspects.

      Of course I’m not speaking of questions that can be answered quickly, but more complex and particular situations like we had discussed here.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Can submarines move through enemey channals like the suez Channel in combat move

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast

      Hey,

      First, thank you very much for your answer. I think that it will help a lot of people (and I) who doesn’t understand properly the thing about declaring war and the naval combat associated.
      This thing is very complex and by taking a concrete example and describing step by step each actions, you explain it very clearly.

      Also, I would like to say that : Unlike GHG in his video “GW36 declaration of Wars” and the recent “Channel update” of the 30th april, you are not bored by answering questions and debating. It should be recognized.

      I think that, he is taking these questions too personally. A lot of people have nothing wrong with him and he explains us a lot of good thing.
      But, when we are asking questions and advancing arguments he seems angry because we don’t listen to his holy voice. Also, saying “I speak with the game designers a lot, so I’m right and you’re wrong”, isn’t enough to prove that you’re right.

      We all make mistakes and the discussions help the game designers to clarifying the rules, in order that they could be more understandable by the majority of players in the futur.
      And thats what you put in words when you say : "I totally agree that in version 4 of the rules, we should strive for clarity on whether my understanding of the way it should work is correct. "

      Finally, peoples try to justify their explanations of the rules by saying : “It work that way, it’s the spirith of the rules”. Sorry, but how could we know this so called “spirit of the rules” ? we only have the rulebook, some FAQ and errata as ressources. And, there isn’t a “spirit of the rules” categorie on these sheets.
      So rather than keep saying “its against the spirith or interpretation of the rules”, it’s better to take the time to explain or if necessary, correct the formulation of the rules, making an errata, etc …

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Can submarines move through enemey channals like the suez Channel in combat move

      Hey @Trig,

      At first, thank you for your detailed answer and for taking the time to do it.

      The problem with the video of GHG that you have posted is that: “the video is rather bad”, as you said earlier on the topic. So it’s not very clear and there is some errors (we can see this in the commentary section).

      The FAQ thread link doesn’t help me to answer the questions I still have, so here it is:

      I understand that orders maters and that all units attacking in different combats don’t move at the same time.
      If I understand it well, for example: a japan fleet attacks an FEC navy (near Australia) by passing thought an ANZAC navy, it create a state of war between the two opponents when the Japanese fleet is in the same sea zone as the FEC (because Japan did not tell is intention before). And after that, the Japanese player also announces that he will conduct a land battle against FEC in Burma. The combats are then resolves in the order of the attacking player (Japan here).
      But if the Japanese player announces the land combat in Burma (creating a state of war between the two opponents) before announcing the naval battle with the FEC. Then, the naval battle with FEC is stopped by the ANZAC navy and the naval battle between Japan and ANZAC takes places instead of the one with FEC.

      Or maybe the screening force rules could be use there? One part of the Japan fleet fight with the ANZAC and the other part fight with the FEC? Even if there isn’t naval invasion occurring.
      (I think that the screening forces rules didn’t happen there, but I prefer to make sure, so I ask).

      Then, you say that the player should announce what is he doing with his fleet, each time that he enter a new sea zone right? (not at the beginning of the move).
      So, during the combat move phase, the attacking player move his fleet on the same sea zone as his opponent, he announce that he will conduct a blockade (for example) on an enemy naval base in another sea zone (the naval base should be controlled by a nation which the attacking player is already at war before the start of the movement or he could also be a naval base controlled by the player who will defend against the attacking fleet?).
      After that, his move continue and when he enters in the sea zone where the attacker wants to fight the enemy fleet, the war is declare.

      But this only works if there is a trade route to raid, to escort, or a naval base to blockade in a sea zone within the range of the navy, right? Or not necessarily?

      Let’s take a concrete example to understand my question better: (I will try to upload an image of this situation to make it more clear).
      The Japanese player wants to attack a US destroyer in sea zone 42 with its destroyer that are in sea zone 56 (bay of Tokyo, so they benefits from the +1 naval movement of the major port in the sea zone). US and Japan are not already at war.
      So, during the combat phase, he intended to pass by the sea zone 39, 40 that contains two US destroyers and 41, before finally entering in sea zone 42 at fight the US destroyer that is alone and so declares war.

      In order to pass the two destroyers that are in sea zone 40 without fighting, he has to pretend that he will raid, escort on a naval route or blockade a naval base. The problem is that there isn’t such trade routes or naval facilities within the range of the two Japanese destroyers when they enter sea zone 40. So are the Japanese destroyers still able to continue their movement? Even if they can’t pretend to raid, escort in a sea route or blockade a naval base to within the range of these boats.

      “6.2 also states that a player may resolve the actions during a phase in any order ».

      This rule is useful when there is a city that could be encircled before attacking it. The attacking player choose to resolve the combat that allows a city to be encircled first, then the attacking player resolves the combat against the city that is now encircled (because there isn’t airbase or naval base undamaged there), so the malus of encirclement applies to the defender in the city, right?

      Example 1.jpg

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Can submarines move through enemey channals like the suez Channel in combat move

      Hey,

      I don’t know who is right or wrong about this debate. But I think that : if we are all speaking about it and have different opinions about this type of move, then the real problem is that there is a lack of clarifications in the rules.

      We need a precision from the game developper and maybe a video that explain it more precisely.

      Maybe should we create another topic for this particular debate ?

      For your question @alphaaeffchen :
      The subs can only cross a closed strait but not a closed canal. Like I said in my first answer on your topic : rule 1.15 C), page 10.
      Also, remember that the turkist strait are considered as a canal (despite the word strait in the name of the location).

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Can submarines move through enemey channals like the suez Channel in combat move

      @trig

      That 's more clear, but its very complicated to explain as I see.

      Specially the clarifying order effects of page 37 doesn’t sound very clear in this context.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Can submarines move through enemey channals like the suez Channel in combat move

      @trig

      So as you say :

      Italy can pass the canal without declaring a war and then declare war and resolve the combat. And all this actions in the same turn ?

      I don’t think that the rules allows it ? as some says in the commentary section of the General Hand Grenade video here :
      https://youtu.be/Kz5Kl9oOZSA

      • “Page 37, Clarifying Ordering Effects, does say the Attacker must announce their intentions first.”
        -Also, how the italian fleet moves during the combat movement phase in the same sea zone of the britain’s one without declaring war at the beginning of the movement and without a combat ?
        And then the Italian declares war and the combat is resolved.

      For me, it’s two different phase and the non combat move takes place before the combat move in this situation (something that never happen normaly). I don’t understand how is it possible ?

      Finally, the Great Britain can decides to declare war on Italy (if he has the requirement listed on his reference sheet) as soon as the italian is starting to move his fleet ? (even if it’s the italian turn, according to the rule 5.5 on page 25). In that case, the italian navy cannot cross the canal and finish his movement.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: USSR D12 roll

      Yes it’s right.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Can submarines move through enemey channals like the suez Channel in combat move

      Hi,

      For questions about canals and straits refers to rule number 1.15 on page 10 of the rulebook : https://www.historicalboardgaming.com/assets/images/GW1936 Rules v3.pdf

      All differents canals and straits have particular rules that are summarize on the table 1.1 and 1.2 on page 10.

      For your particular question : the owner of the suez canal can close it to enemy nations (The great britain considers a nation as enemy, only when they are at war together). So, when you declare war to Great Britain with Italy and try to cross it with your ships, the Great Britain can decides to close it and you can’t attack the ships.

      Your submarines can’t cross canals if they are closed by the owner. They can only cross straits even if they are closed, for example : Gibraltar and the Danish straits (I’m not sure for this last strait, maybe someone could clarify this ?, because of its particular status).

      Also, remember that the turkish straits count as a canal.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Correct date of alignment of Siam ?

      @trig @Noneshallpass

      Thanks for your answers.

      The errata has been updated with the following :

      "Page 23:

      Siam:
      Replace:
      “July”
      with:
      “January”
      "

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • Correct date of alignment of Siam ?

      Hello,

      When Siam aligns with Japan ?

      In the japanese’s sheet : “Siam aligns with Japan in january 1939”.

      In the rulebook page 21 : “In the production phase of the japanese july 1939 turn, …”

      So, wich one is correct ?

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Case Anton

      @chris_henry I think that you’re right.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 2 / 3