Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Didier_de_Dax
    3. Posts
    D
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 13
    • Posts 47
    • Best 8
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by Didier_de_Dax

    • RE: Peacetime Income Increases via D6+3 Instead of D12

      Last time we were speaking with some friends and came to the same conclusions as you @HBG-GW-Enthusiast : maybe luck has a great (maybe too much) importance in the peacetime rolls.

      We think about the same idea : still having a d6 roll and a fix number to complete the peacetime roll. You propose a d6 + 3 ipc, in our group we didn’t know what is the good number to complete the peacetime roll increase, because we maybe lack some experience.

      To conclude, we support your point of view, less luck is more fun. By adding a fix number you just suppress the “extreme values” like 1-2-3 and 10-11-12, witch seems good.

      We also get a similar discussion about tech rolls because they seems to rely too much on chance. For example, the wartime economy could have a lot of impact in the game.
      The problem isn’t the too powerfull effects of the techs, but the proeminent presence of luck to get them.

      Also, maybe the fact that this game is 3 sided team is meant to counter the presence of too much luck ? idk thats just a thinking.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • Panzergrenadier placement

      Hey !

      I was wondering if the Panzergrenadiers could be placed on captured factories outside of the german home country or if they can only be placed in the german country ?

      Rules 7.8 on page 30 : “Units that become avaible after acquiring advanced technology have to be built in home country”.

      So, are the panzergrenadiers considered has a advanced technology unit ? or just “special infantery” (like mountain or marines) ?

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Scorched Earth

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast Ok ! thanks for the answer !

      So, I’m able to put facilities out of the map using the scorched earth tactic.

      Also, if I use scorched earth tactic on a territory with railroads, these railroads are considered “remove from the map” even if I can’t put them out, because they are printed on the map?

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Danish straits and "warships" meaning

      @trig Ok I see!

      Sorry for the double post, you already explain it in your first reply.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Danish straits and "warships" meaning

      @trig Yep I see this thing about the possibility that submarines can passed by closed straits.

      But if the expression warships is not only concerning surface warships like I pointed out with the examples in the rule book of the expression “surface warship”.
      Maybe, the english sub can’t cross the straits while denmark is neutral.

      So, in that situation the submarines can only cross gibraltar strait even if he is closed.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • Danish straits and "warships" meaning

      Hey!

      I have a question about the danish straits. Is it possible to pass the danish straits with an english submarine, when the danemark is still neutral?

      The rule for the danish straits are in the table 1-1 on page 10: “warships cannot move through the danish straits”.

      The main problem is with the word “warships”, on the glossary, page 6: “warship: any surface ship that has an Attack value”.

      But on the ANZAC reference sheet, in the wartime bonus income section “there are no enemy surface warships”.
      Why is it need to specify a “surface warship” if the definition of a warship is already only the “surface ship that has an attack value”.
      The same interrogation is present in the blockade rule 8.11 on page 37: “if you have three or more surface warships”.

      This situation with the using of the expression “surface warships” is kind of disturbing and present on a few more place in the rule book. So, we also maybe need a clarification about the word “warship”?

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Scorched Earth

      Hey!

      Sorry to ask that on this old topic, but I have questions about scorched earth.

      -How many times can we use scorched earth ability per turn, I believe it’s only one territory per turn?

      -Are the facilities remove from the board? Or just taking the maximum damage they can? When you use this ability on a territory.

      -Can we move a factory (with the other USSR special ability) and then destroy the other facilities in that area?
      The correct question should be: “when the factory movement ability is decide? Before or after the combat movement" (witch is the phase where you can use scorched earth).

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      Thanks again for your answers.
      I have another question related to the terrain movement restrictions, specifically about the border.
      I don’t know if it need to be another topic, since it’s a related stuff.

      “terrain in the territory you start in doesn’t effect your movement, only territory you are travelling THROUGH or attempting to travel through”.

      So, let’s take the initial situation:

      I have 1 medium tank on the territory called “A”. I want to go to a territory called “C”. To do that I have to pass by another territory called “B”.

      -First situation, there is a mountain border in the “B” territory, on the frontier with the “A” territory. Am I still able to reach the “C” territory with my medium tank?

      -Second situation, there is a mountain border on the frontier between the “B” and “C” territory. Am I still able to reach the “C” territory with my medium tank?
      In this situation it’s not necessary to precise on witch territory the mountain border is I think.

      I think that this topic give the answer, but I’m not sure : https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/topic/37413/terrain-movement-restrictions/13

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      Thank you both for your answers !
      @Chris_Henry and @insaneHoshi

      I should have read the errata first as always, my bad!

      And for your question Chris, In the first situation “B” territory isn’t a mountain.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • Terrains modifiers that affect land units movements

      Hey!

      I have a question about the terrains rules modifiers to movements. I’m not sure to clearly understand the wording of the rule or how to interpret it. I had the discussion with friends and we can’t figure out what the rule mean.

      The mountain rule (1.8 on page 8): “All land units (except cavalry) have their movement reduced to 1 when subject to Mountain rules. Units cannot blitz across an Enemy Mountain border or into Mountain terrain”.

      Let’s take an example: I have 1 medium tank on the territory called “A”. I want to go to a territory called “C”. To do that I have to pass by another territory called “B”.

      -First situation, the “C” territory is a mountain, am I still able to reach the “C” territory with my medium tank?

      -Second situation, the “B” territory is a mountain, am I still able to reach the “C” territory with my medium tank?

      -Third situation, the “A” territory is a mountain, am I still able to reach the “C” territory with my medium tank?

      Thanks for your answer!

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Fortification without unit defending

      @generalhandgrenade Thanks for the answer !

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • Fortification without unit defending

      Hey!

      I have a question about fortification.
      When a land zone protected by fortifications is attacked, but there isn’t units in this fortified province.

      A. The province is taken without any dice roll.

      B. There is a combat occurring with the only 2 first strike of the fortification, lasting for one round of combat.

      Witch is the correct outcome?

      Thanks for your answers.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Japan bonus from money islands

      @jan-aerts

      B)

      Answer could be find in japan reference sheet page 1.

      “WARTIME BONUS INCOME - Once at war with a Major Power. (excluding an evolved CCP/KMT)”

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Canada and Canada at War expansion question

      @jinx1527
      Hey thanks for all this precisions !

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Canada and Canada at War expansion question

      @insanehoshi

      Oh yes I see the specificity here. It was kind of a very particular case and wording usage for this reference sheet. I never see another situation were the rules are write that way, aniway now it’s outdated.
      I understand it better now, thanks.

      “You might be confused, you may be thinking that those were “peacetime bonus income” but they are “peacetime bonus income increases”?”
      No, I wasn’t just understand correctly the “end their turn on a British Convoy Line”.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Canada and Canada at War expansion question

      @trig

      Thank for your answer !

      I didn’t know that there is an update for Canada at War. I found the correct version, maybe someone need to update the Canada at War file from this page : https://www.historicalboardgaming.com/Global-War-1936v3-Downloads_c_1462.html
      I was using it because it contains a lot of other rules and reference sheets, my bad !

      @insaneHoshi
      Well it’s no more a current problem as there is a rule update now.
      But I don’t understand why Canada wont collect the bonus peacetime income on its first turn ? (if this was still up to date).
      The others countries collect their peacetime bonus income at the end of THEIR proper turn, not on the other nation turn.

      P.S. @insaneHoshi I MP you on discord, if you can give me an answer please ? <3

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • Canada and Canada at War expansion question

      Hey!

      I have a few questions about Canada and the Expansion Canada At War.

      -First, Is Ottawa bordering sea zone 21 ?

      -Then, On page 2 of the canadian reference sheet (https://www.historicalboardgaming.com/assets/images/HBG/GW1936v3/Ref Sheets/Canada-V4-32.pdf ), we can read in the corvette description: “Imp. Shipyard tech reduces cost to 3 IPP”.

      I think, Improved Shipyard tech refer to the Improved Construction tech?

      But why is it need to precise the effect of this tech there? Does that mean that the Improved construction cost reduction for the ship IPP cycle doesn’t apply for the one cycle ship like destroyers, transports or submarines?
      (For example: even with the improved construction tech, the subs, destroyers and transports cost is unchanged?)

      -Last, on page 1 of the Canada at War expansion, in the section Peacetime Income Increase we can read: “Axis submarines end their turn on a British convoy line”.

      The problem is that Italy has a submarine in sea zone 80, where there is a British Convoy line, at the start of the game in 1936.
      Italy’s turn is after the Canadian one, so Canada is always going to have this +1 bonus income on the first turn?
      Or Italy isn’t considered member of the axis at the start of the game?

      Thanks for your answer.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Militia questions

      @hbg-gw-enthusiast I think that you are correct I was just guessing with what captain napalm said there (last post) : https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/topic/36668/railing-militia/5

      And for an example it could be the english militia in northern ireland (this province is home country) moving to northern england.

      Also, quite strange that there isn’t a narrow crossing between northern ireland and northern england.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • RE: Militia questions

      Thanks all of you for your answers !

      @HBG-GW-Enthusiast "Because militia can only move “within” home country territories, I don’t see how one could move militia by transport. "

      I thougt that you could move militia by using strategic naval movmement if the unit is starting and ending his move in home country.

      posted in Global War 1936
      D
      Didier_de_Dax
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 1 / 3