1941 Map finalized.
Link to the new map:
http://www.mediafire.com/view/8t116yzm2qk8t66/1941-v02.pdf
It would be nice, if someone have checked the map concerning the topology.
1941 Map finalized.
Link to the new map:
http://www.mediafire.com/view/8t116yzm2qk8t66/1941-v02.pdf
It would be nice, if someone have checked the map concerning the topology.
one additional comment:
I recommend to follow the map1942.2-thread in the AA1942 section, the latest version of the map is linked there.
The size of the map is 1625mm x 863 mm, if you give it to a print shop they will appreciate to print this map exactly in this size. If you’d like to have a larger size of the map, the resolution of the map probably will degrade.
I decided to use 1625mm x 863 mm, because the 1942 first edition map is of the same size. One table - two maps of identical size…
Supreme maps for AA1941 finalized.
3 Sizes: 1625x863mm, 1329x700mm, 1119x600mm
2 styles: triple border lines, double border lines
All in all 6 maps (2x3), each approximately 50 MB.
download via link (see download advice below))
map is based on the landscape bitmap of AA1942, first edition (most beautiful map in comparisson to other maps)
mongolia landscape reduced
switzerland landscape reduced
northern turkey landscape added
all borders new according to the topology of AA1941 (OOB)
all territories new according to the topology of AA1941 (OOB)
all seazones new according to the topology of AA1941 (OOB)
background pictures in some seazones
national production chart, NPC (optional)
mobilisation zone, MZ (optional)
To whom it may concern: it would be possible to adjust the map for special home rules or for the purpose of improving game play… (e.g. new borders/countries/seazones, adjusted IPC, modified mobilisation zone).
Downlaod advice:
1. Click on the link, you will be connected to mediafire.com
2. interrupt immediately the automatically starting download process by clicking on the download button at the upper right screen (see picture below)
3. new screen, commence the download by clicking on the green button with the caption “download”
PLEASE LOOK AT PAGE 2 OF THE THREAD FOR THE FINAL VERSIONS!!!
6 VERSIONS OF DIFFERENT SIZE AND STYLE ARE DELIVERED!!!

When checking the income values on the map, I recognized an error on the National production chart concerning the numerical order (error fixed).
Whereas I checked the map several times I recommend people who want to print the map to check it, too. Four or more eyes are better than two.
Some things have been adapted in this last version in comparison to the former version:
PLEASE LOOK ON p2 AND p3 OF THE THREAD FOR THE FINAL VERSIONS!!!
5 VERSIONS OF DIFFERENT STYLE ARE DELIVERED!!!
Corrections and changes:
PLEASE LOOK ON p2 AND p3 OF THE THREAD FOR THE FINAL VERSIONS!!!
5 VERSIONS OF DIFFERENT STYLE ARE DELIVERED!!!
Thank you for your feedback! It’s always important, to know what could be improved.
I’m going to broad the border lines. Right now the lines are very fine (“capillary”), primarily for the reason to sustain the texture of the map as much as possible. Problems may occur, when the print material (e.g. canvas) and the resolution of the printers are not as appropriate as required for these lines.
Anyway, I will upload another file with broader border lines (0.5 mm). Please give me a day.
I know a producer in Germany, who could deliver a mixture of white dashed and continous lines decals (s. picture). One decal consists of 23 white lines, each of 125 mm length and 0,75mm width, where each decal is EUR 3,50. A direct shipping from the producer to the U.S. would be very expensive, it is about EUR 35,-. If you are interested in, I can order the decals and send it to you personally. This will cause shipping costs of roundabout EUR 10 (depending on the weight…).
The decal is a digital print, that is, you have to cut out the lines. More pleasant would be a screen print, then each line is spearated from the others as a distinct decal in the printing process.
The producer also offers an individual development of decals, but I don’t know how much this is in EUR or $. If you are interested in I will ask.
Web: www.ds-design.de, english and german language

Improvements/changes:
PLEASE LOOK ON p2 AND p3 OF THE THREAD FOR THE FINAL VERSIONS!!!
5 VERSIONS OF DIFFERENT STYLE ARE DELIVERED!!!
Sorry for the late reply, but here is newer version, just finished and slightly improved/changed in comparison to the map mentioned above:
http://www.mediafire.com/view/h1t2ko212r9r4eg/1942ed2-v22.pdf
Improvements/changes:
CAVE: this map is really big concerning disk space (2 GB), whereas it has the same size as the other one, mentioned above. This may cause an download time of up to 2 hours, depending on the performance of your PC.
I assume, the disk space needed is due to the transparent bitmaps included and the method of exporting the CorelDraw-File to a PDF-Format (roundabout 20-30 buttons to combine for the settings). Till now, I didn’t find another method to save the CorelDraw-file to a PDF with a less amount of memory space needed.
Thank you for your comments on the map, IL!
Concerning colors, I think, map users can adapt their own favorite color arrangement easily:
Here is a second one, just finished a few days before.
http://www.mediafire.com/view/2m252on1bfzfl52/1942ed2-v08.pdf
I got some time to develop a supreme map for the second edition.
The map is based on the scan of the map of the first edition by Imperious Leader. I decided to take the 1942 scan of IL, because it is a much more nicer map than the OOB map of 1942 2nd edition. Another advantage: it has the same size as the 1942 first edition supreme map of IL (1625 mm X 863 mm).
What you get:
Many thanks to IL, that I could use his 1942 first edition map!
PLEASE LOOK ON p2 and p3 OF THE THREAD FOR THE FINAL VERSIONS!!!
5 VERSIONS OF DIFFERENT STYLE ARE DELIVERED!!!
“An enemy submarine and/or transport does not block any of your units’ movement, nor does it prevent loading or offloading in that seazone.” (AA42.1, Rulebook, p.11)
“An enemy submarine and/or transport does not block any of your units’ movement, nor does it prevent loading or offloading in that seazone with one exception: a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a seazone containing on eor more ignored enemy submarines unless at least one warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the seazone at the end of the combat move phase.” (AA42.2, Rulebook, p.11 and 13)
In my interpretation of the rules, the answer to your question would be: in AA42.1 you don’t prevent the offloading, in AA42.2 you do.
However there is one thing that confuses me. Take the amphibious assault move for example. I load 2 inf units, then I offload them. Does this not count as 2 moves for the inf ?
South Europe - > transporter @ Seazone 16 = 1 Move.
Seazone 16 -> North Africa = 1 Move.Inf can only move 1.
?
“Loading onto and/or offloading from a transport counts as a land unit’s entire move.” (Rulebook)
It is the transport which is moving within/through the seazone, not the inf. The inf is only cargo. In the case of a transfer of land units by transports, the land units do not move themselve. The transport is performing the movement, and the transport is allowed to move up to 2 seazones. Loading and/or offloading is the land units movement. As prior condition, land units intended to be moved via transports are not allowed to be moved itself before or after the transport movement.
Example:
1 inf moved from one territory to another territory, where a transport waits. The inf is not allowed to board
May be I misundestood the expression “other than”, as I’m a non native speaker. In my understanding, “other than” means “with the exception” or something like “unless”. An “exception”, related to “only during the non combat move phase” I took as “not only during the non combat move phase”.
If I control southern europe and north africa, and have ground units in southern europe, can I move them to North africa during my move phase if I have a transport ship in sea zone 16, or do I have to load them and unload them during my next turn? (same for Japan and Manchuria).
Yes, as long as both territories are yours, you move the units via “bridging” in seazone 16 in the noncombat move phase. That is, you don’t have to move the transport, it remains in seazone 16 and you are allowed to transfer 2 units from south europe to North Africa. After offloading the units the “movement” of the transport ends. You may not move the transport to another seazone.
What if I own Southern Europe and North Africa is occupied. Can I land my troops there during my attack move if I have a transporter at zone 16?
Yes. This is an amphibious assault, conducted in the combat move phase. Again, only two units per transport (1 infantry + 1 other land unit) are allowed to transfer from South europe to north Africa.
Rulebook 1941, p.29: “A transport can load and offload units without moving from the friendly sea zone it is in. Moving land units across a sea zone in this way is called “bridging”.”
2 > Transports unloading on combat and non-combat movements. Suppose the US uses a transport to move 1 infantry and 1 AA gun from SZ 101 to SZ 91, which borders Morocco and Gibraltar. Can the US unload the infantry in the combat move into German controlled Morocco then unload the AA gun into UK controlled Gibraltar in the non-combat move since the transport did not have to leave SZ 91?
However, I do not think you can unload units into different territories. I am unsure on whether or not you can unload the aa gun in a noncom to the same territory.
“Each transport can offload in only one territory and once it offloads, it can’t move, load or offload again that turn.” (AA40.2, Rulebook, p.33)
Non combat move: “This is the only phase in which AAA can move.” (AA40.2, Rulebook, p.22)
AAA: “Normally,this unit can be moved only during noncombat move phase. An AAA unit cannot move during the combat move phase other than being carried on a transport if the unit was loaded on a prior turn.”(AA40.2. Rulebook, p.29)
The answer to your question is: no, your transport is not allowed to offload twice. If you unload both units in one territory, there would be no problem. If you load the AAA in the non combat move phase on a previous turn, you could unload the AAA in the next turn in an amphibious assault.
@ panther: …bearing in mind the formerly questions, you was well advised to differentiate between attacker and defender… :-D
She is attacking me by sea with 3 transports, a battleship and a cruiser. She hasnt reached my land yet. But she is in range of my bombers. Can i attack the fleet and so destroy here Battleship, cruiser and here Transport(inc cargo)?
Yes, you can destroy her fleet, providing the fleet is within reach of your bombers. “Within reach”, that means, you have to take into the account the total move value of the bombers (=6). You have to save some movement points for to land at a save landing spot in the non-combat movement phase. Example: if her fleet is 4 spaces apart of your bombers, then you will use 4 movement points to reach the fleet, with 2 movement points left to reach a save landing spot (friendly territory, friendly carrier or new mobilized carrier).