Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Crimson_Raptor
    C
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 0
    • Posts 4
    • Best 0
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Crimson_Raptor

    @Crimson_Raptor

    0
    Reputation
    5
    Profile views
    4
    Posts
    0
    Followers
    0
    Following
    Joined Last Online
    Location Tulsa, Oklahoma Age 41

    Crimson_Raptor Unfollow Follow

    Latest posts made by Crimson_Raptor

    • RE: AA42 Questions & Answers

      @Hobbes:

      It can be argued that a big mistake had been done already with the purchase and that changing the order is a way to minimize the error but you learn how to play better when you suffer the full consequences of such mistakes.

      This is very true, although, I saw the non-mobilization of units to be a severe disadvantage even after absorbing such combat losses as well.

      posted in Axis & Allies Spring 1942 Edition
      C
      Crimson_Raptor
    • RE: AA42 Questions & Answers

      @Krieghund:

      It must be in the rules because there are other alternatives for handling the situation.  The player making the error could simply have been penalized by losing the unplaceable units, or they could have been held in reserve for placement in a later turn.

      That is very true.  For good sportmanship though, it would make sense not to penalize the player for an error like that.  I wouldn’t agree with the purchased units being held in reserve, because the opposing players would see this and could purchase to counter what you have to place accordingly.

      @Herr:

      …imagine… you have 36 IPC on hand and can only place 8 units, then you could buy 7 infantry and 3 tanks, and await the combat results before deciding which units to place…this is …unlikely to occur in practical play.

      Here’s the situation I have been running into:

      Germany has 40 IPC.

      2 Battleships are purchased costing 20 IPC each.

      Combat occurs and 8 Tanks are destroyed.

      Germany now realizes the Battleships are not needed, and so returns them to get the 40 IPC in order to possibly purchase 8 Tanks on its next turn.

      According to the rulebook, this unmobilization of units cannot be allowed because Germany has the ability to place the 2 Battleships, correct?

      I’ve always thought that once you have purchased the units, i.e. a Battleship, the keel has been laid but the ship is not complete.

      After a losing combat, Hitler orders the Battleships to be diassembled and scrapped and the metal is to be shipped back to Germany to be used to used for more Panther Tanks.

      Thus, when you mobilize the units after the Non-Combat Movement phase, the units are now completed (some 3 to 6 months after the keel was laid).

      posted in Axis & Allies Spring 1942 Edition
      C
      Crimson_Raptor
    • RE: AA42 Questions & Answers

      @Crimson_Raptor:

      “in the event that you purchase more units than you can actually mobilize”

      The only way this would happen is if you’re not paying attention to the game you are playing right?  You couldn’t lose an Industrial Complex on your own turn correct?  It seems like a very odd, or rather common sense, thing to put into the rulebook, right?

      posted in Axis & Allies Spring 1942 Edition
      C
      Crimson_Raptor
    • RE: AA42 Questions & Answers

      Q. On page 22 it says “in the event that you purchase more units than you can actually mobilize due to production limitations, you must return the over-produced units to the box (your choice on which units), and the cost of the reimbursed units is returned to you.”

      I can see where this happens if I forget the production limit and build, say 10 infantry when my only industrial complex is in a territory with a value of 8?  I understand then I get the 6 IPC cost back and return the 2 infantry into the box.

      Does this mean that I don’t have to mobilize my units if I don’t want to?  Or must I mobilize all of my purchased units that I am able to. I may only hold back units that I can’t mobilize because I don’t have sufficient production capacity like the in the above example.

      I have tried out the GameTableOnline (Official or Uniofficial?) Version [ [u]gametableonline.com/welcome.php ] and this seems to be the case, however, that particular game version does not allow landings on Formosa [[b]Japan] and Iceland [[b]UK] held islands.  Yet, all the other errata seems to have been corrected and understood with regards to other territorial issues.

      posted in Axis & Allies Spring 1942 Edition
      C
      Crimson_Raptor