Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Chris_Henry
    3. Posts
    C
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 47
    • Posts 577
    • Best 81
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 8

    Posts made by Chris_Henry

    • RE: Global War 1936-1945 3rd Edition

      @GeneralHandGrenade thanks! Yeah, that makes sense. Was just curious that they weren’t just adding all the units from the expansions.

      I remember the SPA rules from the Afrika Korps expansion, that’ll be a fantastic piece to have, and will add serious punch to blitzing forces!

      That’s a great Gurkha rule too!

      Looking forward to it! Was hesitant to spend more money on yet another map, but I really do like the terrain feature upgrades to this one. Also fear the version 2 game will fall to the wayside, and miss out on the serious rule book flaws that this one will hopefully fix!

      posted in Global War
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Italy Economy

      @cdatkins74 exactly!

      That thread I mentioned goes into a bit more detail. While that seems like a solid plan for Italy on the surface, you of course end up freeing up however many Allied units/IPP’s to concentrate their efforts elsewhere on the map. Yeah, you can’t just leave the Med/Italy without a force in the area to check them, but an Allied player won’t have to spend so much there keeping them in check either! Some give and take there, but I suppose is something viable one could try sometime!

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: CCP Recruitment Roll

      That’s what GHG is making it sound like to me.

      I definitely get your point, I think it’s a lot of fun to be able to select what you’d want to buy as the minor power. But I guess I understand from a “simplifying the rules” standpoint to make this happen.

      That said, I wonder what’s more helpful to those nations. Take Greece for example. Do they have better odds of building a unit with their 1 IPP a turn (assuming that territory wasn’t captured right away, that is)? Or are they better off rolling a D12 and needing a 1, 2 or 3 (again, depending on what was or wasn’t taken) to get an infantry/2 militia? Greece conceivably has as a 25% chance to get a unit if no territory lost right away. Those are pretty decent odds.

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Italy Economy

      There’s a whole other thread discussing that very thing somewhere on here. It was interesting to see. Hell, they could get 3 easily if they just assisted in helping the Nationalist win the Spanish Civil War too, and still never actually fight anyone.

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Netherlands joins the Axis

      I agree with that. I actually never liked that all the DEI money went straight to the Commonwealth (assuming the attack on the Netherlands thrusts the UK into war right away, that is). This makes a lot more sense to me too.

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Global War 1936-1945 3rd Edition

      @cdatkins74 sounds fun!

      Also curious here, maybe @GeneralHandGrenade can answer, about newer units.

      I see you listed the self-propelled artillery as a new unit, but not an armored car. Curious if that isn’t going to be added to every day games without the expansions they are part of? SPA were part of the Afrika Korps Expansion, if I remember correctly, like armored cars were first introduced in the Manchuoko Expansion, I believe? Just curious if armored cars were becoming part of the unit list as well.

      posted in Global War
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Global War 1936-1945 3rd Edition

      Thanks for the response @GeneralHandGrenade and @cdatkins74 !

      Sorry, I may have come off a bit unclearly, and maybe needlessly. Just trying to start a potential conversation of thought.

      I guess my question was really on “realism”. Which, I’ll just come out and say is obviously not a needed factor, and I completely agree more units is more fun. Again, was maybe just a discussion topic.

      Almost exactly to your point, honestly, is what I mean. If a single cruiser represents maybe 5+ cruisers, it would not be realistic to then show the difference of heavy and light cruisers. On a scale like this it wouldn’t realistically make sense to note all those things.

      But I do concede, realism is not of importance. Was just a curiosity on others’ thoughts there.

      All that said, I do also agree with the point @GeneralHandGrenade makes about smaller nations being able to buy some nicer firepower without having to spend way too big.

      Also, hell yes to Gurkhas! I’d hoped that would be a new unit at some point, looking forward to that one!

      posted in Global War
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Global War 1936-1945 3rd Edition

      Alright, I have a question for everyone here that I’m curious on.

      The above says, and I’ve heard in other places, that the game is adding more new units. Is this true? I’ve heard the difference of Light, Regular, and Heavy Carriers? Light and Heavy Cruisers? etc.

      I wonder what everyone thinks about that from a playability standpoint. My point being the scale of this game.

      This game is on a larger strategic level map. This is not a tactical level game. And each turn is 6 months long. I mention all this only to ask, is showing the difference between a Light and Heavy Cruiser really something that can, and should, be shown on a game like this?

      Don’t get me wrong, I love all the pieces HBG does. Would be awesome to have and what not. That just seems to be things that could be shown on a smaller scale game.

      Is this just me thinking this?

      Thanks,

      Chris

      posted in Global War
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Netherlands joins the Axis

      @Warwick

      Sorry to chime in a bit late, but had a couple thoughts here.

      That’s an interesting reading of the rules, and one I had not fully considered, and I wonder if HBG did not as well when writing them. The rule reads (as in not with the expansion):

      Dutch Territories: When the Axis declares war on the Netherlands, place a British roundel
      on all Dutch territories. Britain receives all income from these once at war. The British player
      may, when collecting income distribute the income from Dutch territories between Great
      Britain, the Far East Command and the ANZAC as he sees fit.

      By that reading, just on it’s face, the UK, FEC, ANZAC do not automatically enter the war once the Netherlands is attacked. They all get increases, sure, but they do not automatically enter the war. So it’s a bit misleading to say the UK is missing out on all that money, when they might not be getting it right away anyways.

      But I see what you’re saying. If you make the adjustment of placing British roundels on all Dutch territory immediately after war is declared, then that could be construed as war on the British.

      My gut tells me that what HBG meant with this was that they are still Neutral Dutch, but are now British controlled until alignment can happen once the UK is also at war. Regardless, it’s another example of really needing to polish the rule set to be waaaaay more clear/less contradictory. But yeah, I agree with @GeneralHandGrenade that the interpretation is as he lays out. But again, I’d say very astute reading on your part for the technicality!

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Italy Economy

      @mrgoatcheese

      Ahhh okay. Yes, that I knew. Apologies, I definitely misunderstood what you said!

      Well, thanks all for the clarifications. Definitely was nice to get clarification for Italy’s IPP’s.

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Italy Economy

      @Wildcat6305

      Thanks Wildcat! No, I understand all that very well! I guess the one part I didn’t realize was the having your “wartime” economy wasn’t necessarily a prerequisite, or something that would be jumped to. But now I know!

      What I’m really curious in now though is the point @mrgoatcheese brought up about not being able to use any IPP from conquered territories until at war with a major power. Can anyone point to me where that’s the rule? I don’t see that as being the case anywhere, so it really took me by surprise hearing that!

      Thanks,

      Chris

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Italy Economy

      @mrgoatcheese

      Thanks again for the reply. I might not be being clear! I definitely understand all the rules you’re laying out above. That’s not really the issue I was having. I suppose it’s morphed into an issue of clarity in the rulebooks at this point. And I’m with you, I hate harping on that subject so much, but it’s always been the largest and most glaring issue.

      I guess my original question, after you answered whether Italy got 10 IPP or 7 IPP, based on the scenario above, was what their income level would be after turn one. That I was unclear on, and is now made clear!

      But what am MAYBE now missing is how Italy could ever possible declare war on a major power, unless there should be a caveat to the rules, or I’m missing something.

      The rules pretty plainly say you need to be at your wartime economy to be able to declare war on a major power. It’s literally impossible for Italy to reach said wartime income then UNTIL they’ve declared war on a major power. That is what I suppose I hadn’t understood before, that Italy has the capacity to declare war on a major power without being at their wartime economy.

      Slight FYI, Sleeping Bear rule doesn’t allow USSR to declare war in 1939, it just allows them to start rolling a D12 each turn to begin getting closer to their wartime economy, regardless of anything the Axis have or have not done.

      Same with the Greece example, that wouldn’t just allow the Allies to declare war on Italy. It’s POSSIBLE they could, but that is if their 2D12 die roll for Italy attacking a minor power got them enough IPP to reach their wartime economy. Regardless, the general point of not much advantage gained is received.

      Now this is something I wasn’t aware of at all, and would love your clarification. So you’re saying no Axis powers can accrue any money other than what is stated as their wartime economy (or in Italy’s case just the 7 IPP) until they are at war with a major power, despite how many minors they may take? As in, Germany 20 IPP, Japan 16 IPP, and Italy 7 IPP, and that’s it?

      To expound, if Germany annexes Austria, Sudentenland, and Slovakia, one each the first three turns of the game, they do not get to gain control of and use those new IPP’s until at war with a major? Even further, let’s say the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact is in play, and they get the Polish territories, they wouldn’t be able to accrue anything more than the 20 IPP?

      Also, as you state above, same goes for Japan? If they go to war with China, but are not at war with another major, they don’t get to accrue/use any of the IPP’s from Chinese territory? It’s just 16 IPP until at war with a major?

      That seems a little shocking to me. I just scoured the rulebook as well, and I don’t see that mentioned anywhere. I’m curious how it is you decided that was the case? Genuinely would love to know, as that isn’t something I’ve ever considered to be interpreted from my readings of the rulebook!

      Thanks again!

      Chris

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: CCP Recruitment Roll

      Interesting, thanks for the info. I think that will be a good new addition to have for neutral/minor nations!

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Italy Economy

      Thanks guys!

      I didn’t over look any of that. In fact, you thinking I may have is part of the problem I think!

      The rule states that they don’t get 10 IPP until at war. Does that mean with another Major Power only? Or does that also mean any minor power? Because yes, they start the game at war with Abyssinia, so that would not count, as it’s not declaring war. Also annexing Albania would not count. So in that regard that makes sense.

      But does this all mean that the common rules for the Allies and USSR, of needing to reach your wartime income before you can declare any war yourself, is not applied to Italy? Because they’d have no way in the current structure to up their income without fighting someone.

      So I take this to mean that if Italy were to attack anyone, let’s just say Greece for now, they would automatically jump to the 10 IPP a turn, despite not being at war with a Major Power just yet?

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: CCP Recruitment Roll

      @mrgoatcheese

      Thanks! I figured as much, just wanted to clarify!

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Italy Economy

      @mrgoatcheese

      Thanks man. I wondered that. I just didn’t seem clear anywhere in the rules. All the Allied powers have the clearly laid out ways to reach their wartime income, that just didn’t seem to be listed anywhere for Italy.

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • CCP Recruitment Roll

      Another quick clarification question.

      I’ve always assumed to this point that the CCP recruitment roll is the same as the Spanish Civil War belligerents, that you roll a D12 and have to hit the number or lower of the mainland territories you own.

      So if that applies, the CCP has to roll a 1 on a D12 until they can take other territory, right?

      Sorry if that’s incorrect and I’ve missed it somewhere else. My playing mates who are having to learn a lot more than me at this point ask some questions that I either have assumed to this point, or am potentially missing the answer to, so I just want to be sure I’m relaying the correct information!

      Thanks,

      Chris

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • Italy Economy

      Hey all!

      I’ve been a little unclear on Italy’s IPP’s here.

      Their wartime economy is 10 IPP (amount from territory they start the game with), but their starting money is 7 IPP.

      Does that just mean they only get 7 IPP the first turn to use, then at their collect income phase at the end of turn one they get to collect the full 10 IPP that their territories are worth? Assuming they haven’t taken anything worth something, that is.

      Or do they just not get to make more than 7 IPP until at war with another major power?

      I’ve up to this point given them the 10 IPP at the end of the first turn. The other Axis powers all have the IPP available for the total of their territories, so I’m just trying to see a way that Italy could possibly work up to their IPP total’s that aren’t explicitly written anywhere otherwise.

      Thanks!

      Chris

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Russian Militia

      @mrgoatcheese

      Expanding on what GHG said here. The Home Country does not expand. It is only their original territories connected by land to their capital.

      Russian Militia may move/attack within any original USSR territories once at war with a major power. They may never move/attack anyone outside of any of their existing original territories.

      That is definitively the official rule, as they’ve been asked that question before!

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • RE: Russian Militia

      Nope, the rule is that Militia can move 1 within Soviet Home Country. So they could not move to attack anything outside of the USSR original territories.

      posted in Global War 1936
      C
      Chris_Henry
    • 1 / 1