Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Register
    • Login
    1. Home
    2. Cernel
    3. Posts
    C
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 0
    • Topics 13
    • Posts 181
    • Best 29
    • Controversial 0
    • Groups 0

    Posts made by Cernel

    • RE: Submarine withdrawal question

      @krieghund said in Submarine withdrawal question:

      @cernel said in Submarine withdrawal question:

      Nit-picking question: is a sea zone with no units in it a friendly sea zone? The fact that, in other passages, the rules state “friendly or unoccupied” makes me think that a “friendly” sea zone is only a sea zone with one or more own or allied units in it, whereas an “unoccupied” sea zone is only a sea zone with no units in it. Otherwise, if “friendly” means having no enemy units in it, then saying “friendly or unoccupied” is exactly the same as saying just “friendly” (as all “unoccupied” zones would be “friendly”).

      “Friendly” is defined on page 12 of the Rulebook as “controlled or occupied by you or a member of your alliance.” This doesn’t include unoccupied sea zones.

      Well then, I guess the rule that, on page 19 of the rule-book, says that “attacking subs retreat first and withdraw BACK to ONE adjacent friendly sea zone from which they or any accompanying attacking naval units came”, as well as the clarification in the http://smo63.fatcow.com/pdf/ClassicSuppDoc.pdf, stating that “If retreating with other naval units, the attacking sub must withdraw first and must withdraw BACK to one adjacent friendly sea zone from which any of the attacking units came” means that attacking submarines can only withdraw to sea zones currently occupied by one or more units each of which is controlled by the same player controlling the submarine or by a member of his/her alliance (because both passages only say “friendly”, not “friendly or unoccupied”).
      So, is it correct (I believe it should not.) to state that, if I move a submarine of one space into combat from zone A to zone B, and, while resolving the battle in B, zone A is unoccupied (so not friendly), then I cannot withdraw the submarine to zone A, whereas I could if there would be one or more own or allied units in the zone? I’m fairly certain this has to be an oversight, and, in both aforementioned passages, the writer or the writers intended to write “friendly or unoccupied” and mistakenly only wrote “friendly”. That is why I was wondering if “friendly” just meant “non-hostile” so comprising “unoccupied” sea zones too, even though that doesn’t really make sense, also literally (hard to see something being friendly if there is nothing friendly there).
      However, a subsequent sentence states that “if several defending subs withdraw on the same round, they must also withdraw to the same sea zone–BACK to one adjacent friendly or unoccupied sea zone”. Thus, here, the zone can also be unoccupied, but this covers only the case in which “several” (whatever that means) submarines are withdrawing (so the clarification certainly cannot apply to the case in which I withdraw only one submarine).
      Moreover, the firstly aforementioned passage of the “Classic Support Document” appears to say that attacking submarines cannot even regularly retreat when they would be retreating with other units. Indeed, after having said that “Subs may retreat as above, or they could “withdraw,””, the document, on the same section, goes on stating that (as I’ve already quoted) “If retreating with other naval units, the attacking sub must withdraw first and must withdraw BACK to one adjacent friendly sea zone from which any of the attacking units came”.
      These two sentences appear to be in partial direct contradiction of one an other: the first sentence is telling me that I can choose either to retreat my submarine as normal or to withdraw them under their special rules, whereas the second sentence is telling me that, if I choose to “retreat” my submarines with other naval units, I must instead “withdraw” them, assumingly under their special withdrawing rules. So, literally, this means that I can normally retreat submarines only if all remaining naval units attacking in the battle are submarines, otherwise submarines must specially withdraw if they want to leave the battle together with non-submarine units.
      Is the sentence “If retreating with other naval units, the attacking sub must withdraw first and must withdraw BACK to one adjacent friendly sea zone from which any of the attacking units came” meaning the same as saying “If retreating with other naval units, the attacking sub must use its special withdraw ability” or not?
      At this point, all this being said, if we would take it all literally, beside the fact that (not to be oblivious to the obvious) we would understand “several” as certainly meaning “two or more” (even though “several” is a rather vague word, usually actually supposed to be an unspecified, yet at least greater than two, number), what I feel forced to understand is all the following, on any round of combat in which one or more defending units remain:

      • If I have one or more attacking submarines and no other attacking naval units, I can (referring to the attacking units only)
        normally retreat all submarines to one friendly or unoccupied zone
        or specially withdraw one submarine to one friendly sea zone
        or specially withdraw two or more (“several”) submarines to one friendly or unoccupied sea zone
        or both specially withdraw one submarine to one friendly sea zone and retreat all other submarines to the same zone or to an other friendly zone or to an unoccupied one
        or both specially withdraw two or more (“several”) submarines to one friendly or unoccupied sea zone and retreat all other submarines to the same zone or to an other friendly or unoccupied zone.
      • If I have one or more attacking submarines and one or more other attacking naval units, I cannot normally retreat all naval units together (because “If retreating with other naval units, the attacking sub must withdraw first”), but I can (referring to the attacking units only)
        specially withdraw one submarine to one friendly sea zone
        or specially withdraw two or more (“several”) submarines to one friendly or unoccupied sea zone
        or, if only one attacking submarine remains, both specially withdraw the submarine to one friendly sea zone and retreat all other units to the same zone or to an other friendly zone or to an unoccupied one
        or, if two or more attacking submarines remain, both specially withdraw all submarines to one friendly or unoccupied sea zone and retreat all other units to the same zone or to an other friendly or unoccupied zone.

      Obviously, I realize that what I just described makes hardly any sense (It is particularly weird that a lone withdrawing submarine cannot go into unoccupied zones while several ones together can.), but I also believe that is what the rules, and especially the clarifications, are actually literally saying.
      On the other hand, if I decide to disregard both the English meaning and the rule-book definition of “friendly”, going instead ahead deciding that “friendly” means “non-hostile” (which, in turn, for sea zones, is the same as saying “friendly or unoccupied”) and that the phrase “If retreating with other naval units, the attacking sub must withdraw first” means “If the other attacking naval units (possibly comprising one or more submarines which are not being withdrawn) are retreating, all attacking submarines which are being withdrawn must do so before the other naval units” (and that “several” still means “two or more”), then, on any round of combat in which one or more defending units remain,
      if one or more (possibly all) of the remaining naval units are submarines, I can (referring to the attacking units only)
      normally retreat all naval units (comprising all submarines) to one friendly or unoccupied zone
      or specially withdraw one or more submarines to one friendly or unoccupied sea zone
      or both specially withdraw one or more submarines to one friendly or unoccupied sea zone and retreat all other naval units (comprising any submarines which I have not withdrawn) to the same zone or to an other friendly or unoccupied zone.

      What I just said (meaning everything I wrote from the latest “on any round of combat” phrase onwards) is what I believe the writer intended the rules to say (so it is how I would play the game), as well as what I understand you are saying in this topic, yet it is not what I understand the rules and their clarifications are literally actually saying.
      In particular, I assume that I am allowed, on a same combat round, to pull the move of special-withdrawing one or more attacking submarines to one zone and regular-retreating all other attacking submarines to one other zone, thus practically being able to split my attacking submarines into two retreating groups on a same round of combat.

      Isn’t it reasonable to assume that being able to resolve the regular battle first and then conduct SBR only in case the territory was not overtaken is merely another oversight in these old rules, especially considering that the most recent ones force making the SBR first, so the two battles never actually influence each other?

      Actually, per the 1991 Rules Clarifications, the SBR must be resolved first.

      Is it correct to say that in the most recent rules-sets two battles never influence what may be done in each other beside the case of naval battles before sea-borne assaults?

      The case of both attack and SBR against the same territory remains.

      Can you please be clearer on how the two battles influence each other in any ways? I see no influence at all! In the SBR, the bomber will either be shot down or will destroy some IPC and, thereafter, will be completely ignored in the regular battle on the same territory. By “influence” I meant “add or remove options to what you can do or change any probabilities”: the rules (as explained) imply that withdrawing from a sea zone may remove withdrawing options within a battle which is made thereafter in an other sea zone, whereas I’m not seeing any kind of options being added or removed in a land battle by making a SBR in the same territory. By the way, I’m not seeing any influence also in games in which SBR damages Industrial Complexes, or whatever else, as long as this is not going to influence what the defender may do (because whether or not the attacker is going to capture or liberate a territory having any amount or some more damage doesn’t matter for combat).

      On this matter, since you said

      This isn’t the only instance on the results of one battle affecting another. The best example is both attacking and performing an SBR against the same territory, just in case the territory is not captured.

      are you sure that, in Classic, a SBR is a “battle”? When I was talking about “two or more battles”, I was assuming that was simply not comprising strategic bombing raids. Reading the rule-book, it doesn’t appear to me that SBR are considered to be battles. Of course, these are just semantics, but I’m curious whether or not a SBR is a battle, in Classic (because I tend to understand that battles and SBR are different things there, but I may be overlooking something somewhere).

      Regardless, even if SBRing and regular-attacking the same territory would exert any sort of influence between each other (which I’m not seeing), that is a case of two battles in the same zone, so it is a special case, especially in the moment it is stated that one of the two combats (namely, the SBR) always happens before the other one, as here we have a case in which the rules appear to imply that one happens after the other one, whereas I was actually thinking only about battles in different zones. It is a very different matter to say that two unrelated naval battles in different sea zones may influence each other, as those may be reasonably assumed happening at the same time even though they are resolved one after the other. So let me rewrite my previous statement

      My understanding is that (beside sea battles preceeding amphibious attacks, where the offload movement happens after the sea battle), if you have two or more battles, you resolve them in the order you choose, but the battles themselves are assumed happening at the same time, not one starting after the previously resolved one has ended.

      as “My understanding is that (beside sea battles preceding amphibious attacks, where the offload movement happens after the sea battle), if you have two or more battles each of which is in a different zone, you resolve them in the order you choose, but the battles themselves are assumed happening at the same time, not one starting after the previously resolved one has ended”.

      As to why I think so, I can further explain.

      Of course, since the official FAQ affirm that “defending subs can withdraw into sea zones that the attacking forces came from, thus cutting off the attacker’s avenue of retreat. As long as there are no enemy units currently in a sea zone, it’s a legal withdrawal path for defending subs.”, it is clear enough that those submarines must be cutting off retreat to the zone they withdrew and doing so also for all attacking units of every battle still to be resolved, so it is indeed officially stated that battles in different sea zones may thus influence each other (in that a battle may reduce the retreat options of a subsequently resolved battle, for either or both of the attacker and the defender). However, I want to stress that is not convincing me to believe that the withdraw movement was made before the next resolved battle started. In particular, I believe that assuming so would be inconsistent with the fact that, in the “Classic Support Document”, there is a clarification stating that “Subs cannot retreat or withdraw to a sea zone that is or was a battle site on the same turn!”.
      For example, let’s say that I attack a battleship alone with a submarine alone moving of one space from zone A to zone B, and in a zone C, which is adjacent to both zone A and zone B, there are only attacking battleships and defending submarines at the end of the Combat Movement phase.
      I firstly resolve the battle in zone B, during which both units miss and the attacking submarine withdraw to zone A.
      I secondly resolve the battle in zone C, during which all units miss and all the defending submarines withdraw.
      In this situation, the defending player is unable to withdraw any defending submarines to A because (apparently) an enemy submarine (withdrawn during a previously resolved battle) is now in the zone and they are also unable to withdraw any defending submarines to B solely because the same enemy submarine has been (or was?) in there: it is like the submarine is at the same time in two different places contemporarily, since the same submarine is the only enemy units which is making impossible for me to move to either one of A and B.
      It seems clear enough to me that the rule forbidding you to withdraw to a battle site on the same turn regardless of what happened in that battle has to be based on the assumption that the battle happens at the same time as the currently resolving battle because, if it happened beforehand and each of the defending units was either killed or withdrawn, now that zone would be either friendly or unoccupied from the perspective of the attacker, so there is no reason for it to be non-eligible.
      But if the already withdrawn defending submarine in the previously resolved battle is actually still in the zone of that battle when I am withdrawing from the next one (as their presence, which caused the battle, is the only reason why the rules forbid me to go to that zone), then they cannot also be in the zone to which they have been withdrawn.
      Also for these reasons, I maintain that I’m still under the strong impression that the original author (Larry Harris) meant that, beside land battles having one or more units offloading from hostile sea zones and beside strategic bombing raids (if strategic bombing raids are battles too), all battles happen at the same time (even though they are resolved sequentially) and every retreated or withdrawn unit is still in the zone of its battle when any subsequently resolved battle ends, so all retreating movements which are happening during the “Combat” phase are just as simultaneous as the movements happening during any other phase, so they all actually happen after all battles of that “Combat” phase have ended. Why, otherwise, would I be forbidden to withdraw defending submarines into a zone where a battle was made on the current phase against only one defending submarine which was withdrawn if that would mean that now there are no enemy units left in that zone?


      Apologies for the lengthy post, but I don’t think I can make it much smaller and still say all I want to say.

      posted in Axis & Allies Classic
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Submarine withdrawal question

      @thrasher1 said in Submarine withdrawal question:

      • Attacking subs should not use retreating as a way to actually move further. So: move back to a seazone where at least one of your units came from. (That can be from the ‘opposite’ directions indeed).

      They certainly do that every time an attacking submarine withdraw to a zone it didn’t come from. Consider, for example, having four sea zones adiacent only to the nearby ones in the sequente A, B, C and D. If you have an enemy battleship in C and move a submarine from A to C through B and an other submarine from D to C and all attacking submarines survive and withdraw to D, your submarine which started the turn in A is now in D, which is a zone 3 movements away from A.

      posted in Axis & Allies Classic
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: AA50 on Steroids!

      @bigwatcher All right. If you would either change the location where the Ural mountains are drawn or avoid drawing them at all, I can take a look at the Sovietic Union once again and give a new set of suggested names for the various territories. I’m not sure of the names I’ve given as I believe that is very hard to collocate names with the map as it is because of the relative positions of the Ural mountains and the north-western corner of China (which is adjacent to both Mongolia and the Sovietic Union and I assume is the Altai prefecture of Sinkiang). Also the Russian railway from Moscow to Vladivostok not passing through the SAMARA territory is a limiting factor to proper naming, as the city which is nowadays known as Samara was a possible albeit not obligatory hub of it.
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trans-Siberian_Railway#/media/File:Transsib_international.svg

      posted in House Rules
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Playing in 2017 still, General Strategy/Discussion

      Anyone else than me has issues with the Eastern United States sea zone having 1 cruiser and 2 transports which can be attacked only with 1 German submarine?

      That is an exactly 50/50 battle that ends either with a +26 unit value for the Axis or a +6 for the Allies: a huge 16 value standard deviation of no little importance right on the first turn of the game, basically turning the whole game into a coin-throw of a starting setup unbalanced in favour of the Axis or of the Allies.

      Of course, I know that there are a lot such starting battles in Axis&Allies games, swinging heavily on round 1, but this one looks too extreme to me in its coin-throwing extreme simplicity (and it would be the same even if you play Low Luck!).

      posted in Axis & Allies Spring 1942 Edition
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Submarine withdrawal question

      @krieghund said in Submarine withdrawal question:

      @cernel said in Submarine withdrawal question:

      Am I now understanding correctly, instead, that, even in Classic II Edition without optional rules, you can have enemy units sharing the same zone across turns by retreating one or more defending submarines to a currently empty zone whence one or more offending sea units came and thereafter retreating one or more offending units to the same zone?

      No. From the FAQ:

      Q. When subs withdraw from combat, where can they go?
      A. If the subs were attacking, they can withdraw to any adjacent sea zone that naval units came from when launching this attack.

      If the subs are defending, the rules state they can withdraw to any friendly or unoccupied adjacent sea zone. Ultimately, both of these amount to the same thing; any sea zone that does not contain enemy naval vessels or aircraft at the time the subs withdraw. That last bit is very important because it means defending subs can withdraw into sea zones that the attacking forces came from, thus cutting off the attacker’s avenue of retreat. As long as there are no enemy units currently in a sea zone, it’s a legal withdrawal path for defending subs. (Units on an island don’t matter; they’re in a land territory, not in the sea zone).

      I’m not surprised of this clarification, as I’ve always been under the impression that the standard Classic II Edition rules-set was meant to assure enemy units would never share the same zone at the end of any turn. Correct?

      I see now that, on page 19, it says that “attacking subs retreat first and withdraw BACK to ONE adjacent friendly sea zone from which they or any accompanying attacking naval units came”, whereas on page 17 it says “attacking submarines must withdraw BACK to ONE adjacent sea zone from which they or any accompanying attacking naval units moved into combat”. Hence, it is practically page 17 that is missing to specify that the sea zone has to be friendly (which cannot be considered a problem with the rule-book since that section references page 19 for details).

      Nit-picking question: is a sea zone with no units in it a friendly sea zone? The fact that, in other passages, the rules state “friendly or unoccupied” makes me think that a “friendly” sea zone is only a sea zone with one or more own or allied units in it, whereas an “unoccupied” sea zone is only a sea zone with no units in it. Otherwise, if “friendly” means having no enemy units in it, then saying “friendly or unoccupied” is exactly the same as saying just “friendly” (as all “unoccupied” zones would be “friendly”).

      I have the feeling that this is colliding with the simultaneous actions principle. I’ll explain why.

      My understanding is that (beside sea battles preceeding amphibious attacks, where the offload movement happens after the sea battle), if you have two or more battles, you resolve them in the order you choose, but the battles themselves are assumed happening at the same time, not one starting after the previously resolved one has ended. Right?

      This isn’t the only instance on the results of one battle affecting another. The best example is both attacking and performing an SBR against the same territory, just in case the territory is not captured.

      Isn’t it reasonable to assume that being able to resolve the regular battle first and then conduct SBR only in case the territory was not overtaken is merely another oversight in these old rules, especially considering that the most recent ones force making the SBR first, so the two battles never actually influence each other? Is it correct to say that in the most recent rules-sets two battles never influence what may be done in each other beside the case of naval battles before sea-borne assaults?

      posted in Axis & Allies Classic
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Submarine withdrawal question

      @the_good_captain said in Submarine withdrawal question:

      Where do you see that all combats are simultaneous? I don’t have a word document of the manual so can’t search by keyword, but I’m not seeing it for combat…

      I feel like what happens in the combat movement phase is simultaneous but that individual battles are sequential. So you can have a blitzing tank capture an AA gun and still have that AA gun shoot at an enemy bomber in the combat movement phase as it flies over.

      But once you get to the combat phase, the combats are sequential - attackers choice of order. I feel strongly that the sub withdrawal rule is one of the more fun and nuanced rules for exactly the reason you posted. They can be slippery as hell.

      And for the record - attacking units can retreat to any space from which an attacking unit came. One potential way around the very rare headache situation you illustrated is to have a naval or air unit approach the battle from a 2nd or 3rd sea zone thereby allowing it as an additional potential zone of retreat.

      It can be deduced in a series of passages.

      First of all, we can demonstrate that all actual combat is instantaneous.

      Since there is not a maximum to the number of combat rounds each battle may last (that is you can have a battle lasting for near-to-infinite combat rounds), this necessarily implies that each combat round is timeless. In turn, every combat round taking no time implies that the whole battle, beside retreating actions, takes no time, as well.

      Since, on the other hand, units cannot move of infinite spaces, it is clear that movement is not timeless: every unit takes some unspecified yet positive time to move from a zone to an other one.

      Therefore, being retreat a form of movement and the battle ending as soon as all remaining units of one side retreat, the instantaneous series of combat rounds of the next battle can only happen when the retreating units of the previous battle are starting their movement, so they are still in the formerly embattled zone, at that point.

      Similarly, for submarines that have withdrawn during a combat round of a battle that lasts for one or more subsequent combat rounds, since all combat rounds are instantaneous but movement is not, all the following combat rounds happen when the units have just started their withdrawing movement (and have actually not moved at all).

      Therefore, in the example I previously made, regarding the case in which I firstly resolve battle B and secondly resolved battle A, what I picture is happening is that, in the instant in which the defending submarines in battle A retreat to zone C, the offending submarines which I previously retreated to zone C are just starting their movement, so they are still in zone B.

      Hence, I believe that the only way to make dynamically sense is allowing defending submarines to retreat to any sea zone which was empty of enemy units at the start of the Conduct Combat phase (Let’s call the phase as such for clarity, even though in Classic it is just called as “Combat”.).

      Unfortunately, the rules, instead, appear to say that I have to check the state of the board at the moment I take the decision to withdraw, instead of checking the state of the board at the start of the Conduct Combat phase, and this is where I see an inconsistency with the implied universe otherwise constructed by the set of rules.

      To be clear, if it were me, an errata ought to be released stating something like:

      Change the sentence “defending submarines must withdraw to ANY ONE adjacent friendly or unoccupied sea zone” at page 17 to “defending submarines must withdraw to ANY ONE adjacent sea zone which was friendly or unoccupied at the start of the phase”.

      As a side note, I don’t like that there is such a marginal exception potentially causing enemy units to share the same zone across turns (which I believe can otherwise never happen in the II Edition of Classic when not using the optional “Placing Your Naval Units in Enemy-Occupied Sea Zones” rule, so, if updating the rules, I would rather just forbid every defending submarine to retreat to any zone which either was or may be eligible for retreating offensive units at any point during the phase, or really whatever makes sure not to have enemy units sharing a same sea zone at the end of the turn, but this is just my preference.

      Obviously, not much left to do here but waiting for @Krieghund.

      posted in Axis & Allies Classic
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Submarine withdrawal question

      Until now, I thought that playing Classic II Edition without additional optional rules (namely, the placement in hostile sea zone rule) meant that it was impossible for enemy units ever to share the same zone across turns (which, in Classic, I have thus far believed it could possibly happen only via placing in hostile sea zones or via submerging submarines).

      Am I now understanding correctly, instead, that, even in Classic II Edition without optional rules, you can have enemy units sharing the same zone across turns by retreating one or more defending submarines to a currently empty zone whence one or more offending sea units came and thereafter retreating one or more offending units to the same zone?

      I have the feeling that this is colliding with the simultaneous actions principle. I’ll explain why.

      My understanding is that (beside sea battles preceeding amphibious attacks, where the offload movement happens after the sea battle), if you have two or more battles, you resolve them in the order you choose, but the battles themselves are assumed happening at the same time, not one starting after the previously resolved one has ended. Right?

      Now, let’s assume we have two sea battles, one in zone A and the other one in zone B. In both cases, all offending units each of which is in either battle moved 1 space only and started their turn in zone C (so they all came from zone C).

      In the battle in zone A what happens is that one or more defending submarines withdraw to zone C and all offending units are killed.

      In the battle in zone B what happens is that one or more offending submarines withdraw to zone C and all defending units are killed.

      Now my understanding is that what I described happening in the battles can actually happen only if I resolve first the battle in zone A because, if I resolve first the battle in zone B, then the defending submarines in zone A will be unable to withdraw to C.

      Isn’t this creating an extraneus case in which battles are rendered substantially non-simultaneous? Is it acceptable that what happens in a battle changes what can happen in an other battle on the same turn beside the case of sea-battling before offloading? Is this actually fine? Has Larry Harris ever been aware of this possibility?

      posted in Axis & Allies Classic
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: AA50 on Steroids!

      @bigwatcher said in AA50 on Steroids!:

      inspired by Lt.Dan’s BBR Global40 map.

      I think it would be good if you give a link to that, so one can compare.

      Anyway, I think a foremost issue in how hard is to make sense of Asian Russia is the drawing of the Urals. I don’t know if you decided to draw the Ural mountains there yourself or that comes from this other map you have referenced.

      Assuming you did it, I guess that you got this “Urals” territory from Axis&Allies Europe/Global and so decided actually to show the Ural mountains themselves on the map, drawing them along the eastern border of the territory. I think that, instead, if wanting to draw the Ural mountains (which is really not necessary), you should have drawn them on the western (not eastern) border of the “Urals” territory (so, having the Ural mountains between the current “Nenetsia” and the current “Urals”).

      Indeed, if you look at the original Axis&Allies Europe 1940 map, you can see that straight to the south of the “Urals” territory there is the “Novosibirsk” territory. Knowing where New Siberia is, this can only sensibly mean that the territory called “Urals” is meant to be mostly or entirely east of the Ural mountains.

      posted in House Rules
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: AA50 on Steroids!

      @bigwatcher You’re welcomed.

      However, I was pondering again my suggestion of splitting the VOLOGDA territory in two, calling them VOLOGDA and KHANTY-MANSI NATIONAL OKRUG. Unfortunately, that would not fit with how and where the Ural mountains are drawn, since the current VOLOGDA territory appears to be all west of the Urals as drawn (so it cannot comprise KHANTY-MANSIA) (By the way, the Ural mountains are rather small mountains, so they are not realistically impassable.).

      So now I’m oriented to see the VOLOGDA territory as being an area spanning about from the Vologda province to the Kirov province and possibly also the Perm province: it can be still split in two vertically, calling them VOLOGDA and KIROV, or it can be left as a single territory.

      Here are the new rename changes for Siberia, which do not imply redrawing any borders nor splitting any territories:
      NENETSIA->KOMI A.S.S.R.
      URALS->EASTERN KOMI A.S.S.R.
      VOLOGDA->VOLOGDA
      SAMARA->KUYBYSHEV
      NOVOSIBIRSK->BASHKIR A.S.S.R.
      TUNGUSKA->OMSK
      EVENKI NATIONAL OKRUG->NOVOSIBIRSK
      YAKUT S.S.R.->KRASNOYARSK
      STANOVOY KHREBET->BURYAT-MONGOLIAN A.S.S.R.
      BURYATIA->WESTERN YAKUT A.S.S.R.
      SIBERIA->YAKUT A.S.S.R.
      SOVIET FAR EAST->NORTHERN KHABAROVSK
      AMUR->KHABAROVSK

      As for territory changes:

      • I would merge NENETSIA and URALS into a single territory called KOMI A.S.S.R. (because those areas as drawn are currently very narrow east-west in reality).
      • I would split VOLOGDA vertically into two territories, called VOLOGDA and KIROV.

      The above is, at the end, merely a compromise to temperate the huge distortions inherent in the drawing. I believe that they make more sense than my previous suggestions if you look at the Urals as drawn, but make matters some whorse with respect to western China (Sinkiang) as drawn. If you look at China and Mongolia, the current NOVOSIBIRSK territory (which I suggest to rename to BASHKIR A.S.S.R.) would be actually eastern Kazakhstan, SAMARA would be western Kazakhstan and KAZAKH S.S.R. would be southern Kazakhstan plus Kyrgyzstan, plus Uzbekistan (or at least its Kara-Kalpakian part), plus Tajikistan.

      posted in House Rules
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: AA50 on Steroids!

      @bigwatcher said in AA50 on Steroids!:

      Thanks to Oztea’s suggestions. I had been trying out to improve the current AA50 map and setups that can play on BBR for the past months. Just printed out a copy and test-played with my buddy… so far so good, still some minor balancing to do.
      I wanted something in-between Anniversary and Global40…less rules and time consuming but bigger map. Since its a game im playing with my young son, i tried my best to add in some historical battles, figures and events into the map…inspired by Lt.Dan’s BBR Global40 map.
      Next I will be doing up a 1940 setup.

      A5v3a_A.jpg
      1941a setup.jpg
      1941b setup.jpg

      Definitely better than the original, in my opinion.

      Since you seem fairly serious on putting some historicity into the map (and realizing that is starting from Axis&Allies…) I’ll make a review on this, and, don’t worry, I’m not going to nit-pick on good enough names (like calling the Netherlands as Holland, which is acceptable, or calling Northern France as just France, which I find acceptable too):

      • RIO DE ORO would be better called SPANISH SAHARA.
      • FRENCH CENTRAL AFRICA makes me think you are referring to FRENCH EQUATORIAL AFRICA. The territory is the eastern (and less important) part of FRENCH WEST AFRICA, so it can be called simply NIGER (as the territory you have drawn appears to be almost only Niger plus the British colonies) or, more correctly, EASTERN FRENCH WEST AFRICA. However, it would be better making it British and calling it NIGERIA (or NIGERIA GOLD COAST) because Nigeria was arguably the most important African colony at the time. Alternatively, I guess you can change the name from FRENCH CENTRAL AFRICA to CENTRAL FRENCH AFRICA, but I don’t like this idea.
      • ANGOLA is completely outside of Angola. That is mostly SOUTH WEST AFRICA (which was British, game-wise). I understand and agree ANGOLA is wanted on the map, but I just suggest cutting a piece of BELGIAN CONGO for representing it.
      • KENYA is completely or near-to-completely outside Kenya: better calling it SOUTHERN ANGLO-EGYPTIAN SUDAN or UGANDA.
      • ANGLO-EGYPT SUDAN should be called ANGLO-EGYPTIAN SUDAN.
      • I understand that the map generally follows the convention of naming the main part of a territory as just the whole territory, but it is really weird to see a name like UNITED KINGDOM next to SCOTLAND (even calling it GREAT BRITAIN would be too much): I would consider renaming UNITED KINGDOM to ENGLAND.
      • BALKANS would be much better called as YOUGOSLAVIA. Also, make sure to use the pre-WW2 borders with Italy (Istria was Italian!).
      • Since it borders BELORUSSIA across the marshes, EASTERN UKRAINE is more like NORTHERN UKRAINE, or rather just UKRAINE if it comprises the city of Kiev and you follow the (RUSSIA-territory-like) convention of naming the main part of a territory as just the whole territory. If EASTERN UKRAINE is UKRAINE, then UKRAINE has to be renamed to something like SOUTHERN UKRAINE.
      • I understand that the point is not having a territory with the same name as its victory city, but seeing VOLGOGRAD is horrible. I suggest calling it STALINGRAD even if it is the same name as the victory city. If that is unacceptable, maybe call the territory STALINGRAD PROVINCE or STALINGRAD OBLAST or ROSTOV or maybe VOLGA.
      • SAMARA must be renamed to KUYBYSHEV. By the way, that was the new capital of the Soviet Union from late 1941 until 1943.
      • A territory north of Moscow that spans as wide as to border Belorussia in the west and Tunguska in the east is a major challenge for naming (and for making sense as a zone to start with). Consider splitting it west-east into two territories, calling them VOLOGDA and KHANTY-MANSI NATIONAL OKRUG, respectively.
      • The Siberian territories as a whole don’t really make sense and some names are just wrong as names (for the period, at least). I’m just going mostly to ignore all the names there and try to find good enough new ones based on their borders, also with respect to lake Baikal as drawn: rename NOVOSIBIRSK to OMSK, rename TUNGUSKA to NOVOSIBIRKS, rename EVENKI NATIONAL OKRUG to KRASNOYARSK (albeit it can retain the name as a second-best alternative), rename YAKUT S.S.R. to IRKUTSK, rename STANOVOY KHREBET (or however it is spelled in the map) to BURYAT-MONGOLIAN A.S.S.R., rename BURYATIA to WESTERN YAKUT A.S.S.R., rename SIBERIA to YAKUT A.S.S.R. (and have the Yakutsk city in it if anywhere), rename SOVIET FAR EAST to NORTHERN SOVIET FAR EAST or NORTHERN KHABAROVSK or maybe KAMCHATKA. As for AMUR, I don’t think there are really much better names for a territory that goes from Chita to Primorye, but it may be better renamed to KHABAROVSK if renaming SOVIET FAR EAST to NORTHERN KHABAROVSK.
      • KANSU would be much better called SINKIANG.
      • NINGSIA would be better called KANSU if renaming KANSU to SINKIANG.
      • HOPEH is completely misplaced by a long shot (so much that I wonder if that is a misspelling of HUPEH): it can instead be called SZECHWAN (where the provisional capital of China, Chungking, was located). If you meant and want it to be HUPEH (which I advice against too), then I strongly suggest renaming SIKANG to SZECHWAN, instead.
      • JEHOL would be better called HOPEH.
      • TAIWAN (Formosa) would be better called FORMOSA (Taiwan), mostly for consistency with KOREA (Chosen).
      • EAST INDIES would be better called DUTCH EAST INDIES or JAVA SUMATRA (and, no, this is not like renaming Madagascar to French Madagascar: East Indies is a much larger area than the Dutch part of it, largely overlapping the Malay Archipelago and comprising at least the Philippines).
      • CENTRAL UNITED STATES is largely outside the conglomerations of States known as “West North Central” (whose westernmost States were North Dakota, South Dakota and Nebraska), “East North Central” (whose westernmost State was Wisconsin), “West South Central” (whose westernmost State was Texas) and “East South Central” (whose westernmost State was Mississippi): I highly recommend renaming CENTRAL UNITED STATES to MOUNTAIN UNITED STATES. Moreover, once CENTRAL UNITED STATES is renamed to MOUNTAIN UNITED STATES, WESTERN UNITED STATES should be renamed to PACIFIC UNITED STATES. Moreover, if actually wanting to have CENTRAL UNITED STATES, I suggest splitting ESTERN UNITED STATES in two, vertically about on the border between Alabama and Georgia, calling the western part of it as CENTRAL UNITED STATES and the eastern part as ATLANTIC UNITED STATES. As a final note, to have the two westernmost areas of the United States (which, as drawn, are clearly Pacific and Mountain) having a total production of 16 out of 28 is crazy, especially for the time: they were nowhere near that important (but similar observations could be made for other parts of the map, like China). Also, Alaska was almost worthless, and the Aleutians were the definition of worthless.

      Of course, I realize that some of the above name-changes will require moving city names around on the map, but I think that’s fairly obvious in every case.

      Moreover, if the French roundel means “Vichy-France aligned”, that is wrong for FRENCH EQUATORIAL AFRICA. If the game starts at the start of Barbarossa, Iraq should be British or British-aligned.

      Also, I want to point out that, in the setup tables, you are using the country flag for every power but using the army war flag for Japan only, whereas I see that the capital of Japan is arguably correctly flagged on the board (although that looks more like the air force roundel than the national flag), but inconsistently with the flag on the tables, while all other flags are consistent between what you have for the capitals and what you have for the setup tables.

      posted in House Rules
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Rule Question Fighter and Aircraft Carrier

      @cernel said in Rule Question Fighter and Aircraft Carrier:

      Of course, this is substantially off-topic because this is the “Classic” sub-forum.

      The correct sub-forum is
      https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/category/41/axis-allies-spring-1942-edition

      posted in Axis & Allies Classic
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Rule Question Fighter and Aircraft Carrier

      @the-captain said in Rule Question Fighter and Aircraft Carrier:

      @pillhuhn

      Hi Pillhuhn,

      No matter which Axis & Allies version you play, Fighter units and Aircraft Carrier units always move seperate from each other.

      Not true (beside of course allied fighters, for which it is never true): in Revised non-LHTR, currently carried fighters which are owned by the same power by which the carriers which are carring them are owned can remain cargo of the carriers while the carriers move. However, in this case, the fighters (being cargo) are being moved on the board yet not actually moving themselves. So I would agree with saying that “if they both move, they always move separately”.

      Of course, this is substantially off-topic because this is the “Classic” sub-forum.

      I’m sure @Krieghund will correct me if I said something wrong.

      posted in Axis & Allies Classic
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Rumor about 1914 reprint?

      @zooooma I really wonder how much successful zombies has been, at the end (units sold), but I guess such data is not released.

      When it came out, I was really wondering whether it would have been a success or a flop, and I’ve still no idea.

      posted in News
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: In GENERALS !

      Nevermind: I should have checked if @aequitas-et-veritas already clarified, which he/she did.

      @aequitas-et-veritas said in In GENERALS !:

      @CWO:

      @aequitas:

      And who do you think would be fit best as his counterpart?

      Do you mean his counterpart in another country beside Germany?Â

      Honestly?! Yes ,I realized after IL’s comment that counterpart also includes the meaning of a sidekick.
      I do apologize but I’m willing to keep it the way it is running right now and open another Topic later.

      posted in World War II History
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: In GENERALS !

      @imperious-leader said in In GENERALS !:

      @superbattleshipyamato123

      again the other part of the question:
      “And who do you think would be fit best as his counterpart?”

      Rommel had no counterpart in battle, so the two Generals that worked best as team was…Manstein and Guderian …The two best grouping of men without peer.

      https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/counterpart

      a person or thing that has the same purpose as another one in a different place or organization

      Under any definition of counterpart, I would say that the second question is “who do you think was the best commanding non-German general through WW2 having had a role similar to any one which whoever you named as an answer to the first question had?”. Moreover, since this is a war, I suspect the counterpart was supposed to be an Allied general (though I’ve written just non-German because this is not literally implied).

      Maybe @aequitas-et-veritas should clarify what he/she meant (if he/she still can).

      posted in World War II History
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Is Larry Harris' website down again?

      @playing-kid said in Is Larry Harris' website down again?:

      There were photographs of the original 1942 prototype Larry Harris made of Axis & Allies in the 1970’s on there. Does anyone have those preserved

      Exklusive Bilder aus dem “private War Room” und von der Ursprungsversion von Axis and Allies

      posted in News
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: In GENERALS !

      @yavid said in In GENERALS !:

      You lost me at best general of WW2. I would have to say that honor goes to Zhukov. And to me it comes down to a simple question. What was the name of the battle Zhukov lost or his failed mission?

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Mars

      The offensive was a joint operation of the Soviet Western Front and Kalinin Front co-ordinated by Georgy Zhukov.

      …

      The battles became known as the “Rzhev meat grinder” (“Ржевская мясорубка”) for their huge losses, particularly on the Soviet side. For many years, they were relegated to a footnote in Soviet military history.

      …

      The Soviet forces concentrated for Operation Mars were much larger than the ones used in Operation Uranus at Stalingrad.[11] Military historian David M. Glantz believes that Operation Mars was the main Soviet offensive and that the narrative that it was intended as a “diversion attack” was a propaganda effort on the part of the Soviet government. He termed Operation Mars as the “greatest defeat of Marshal Zhukov”.

      In the unlikely event that Zhukov was correct and Mars was really a diversion, there has never been one so ambitious, so large, so clumsily executed, or so costly.— David M. Glantz

      posted in World War II History
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: 2nd printing of War Room

      @malmessi74 Not what you asked for, but I believe there are already two virtual and online implementations of War Room:
      https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1972854446
      https://tabletopia.com/games/war-room-a-larry-harris-game

      I understand they are officially supported by the copyright holders of the game:
      https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/nightingale-games/war-room-a-larry-harris-game-2nd-edition

      CONTINUED DIGITAL VERSION SUPPORT

      • continued Tabletop Simulator support
      • continued Tabletopia support
      • NEW! 3 player War in the Pacific scenario on Tabletopia (October 2021)
      posted in War Room
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: What if a truce ended the war on the Eastern Front in 1942 or 1943?

      @imperious-leader said in What if a truce ended the war on the Eastern Front in 1942 or 1943?:

      The plan was either ask for armistice conditions or move the capital 500 miles east to ? ( forgot the name).

      Kuybyshev (which is next to Moscow, incapable to be a capital and still named as Samara in the Axis&Allies alternate universe).

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samara

      During World War II, Kuybyshev was chosen to be the alternative capital of the Soviet Union should Moscow fall to the invading Germans, until the summer of 1943, when everything was moved back to Moscow. In October 1941, the Communist Party and governmental organisations, diplomatic missions of foreign countries, leading cultural establishments and their staff were evacuated to the city.[21] A dugout for Joseph Stalin known as “Stalin’s Bunker” was constructed but never used. To mark its role as wartime national capital a special Revolution Day parade was held at the city’s Kuybyshev Square on November 7, 1941

      posted in World War II History
      C
      Cernel
    • RE: Is Larry Harris' website down again?

      Actually, I made some research in internet dictionaries, and now my understanding is that, if “may” is used for permission, “may not” means that you are not permitted, yet, if “may” is used to refer to possibility, “may not” means that there is the possibility of something not happening (so, contrary to what I assumed, it doesn’t actually mean that there is not the possibility of something happening).
      If my understanding is now correct, then the following sentence
      “air units may not be hit by bombardment”
      may mean either that
      “it is not permitted to hit air units by bombardment”
      or that
      “it is possible that air units are not hit by bombardment”.
      Clearly, saying that “it is possible that air units are not hit by bombardment” is substantially a meaningless statement because that can simply happen under every rules-set in which air units are not the only possible targets of bombardment, and this is actually true for each of the rules-sets.
      So I understand that the sentence in question can be correctly read in a way giving useless information unless one can assume that every instance of “may” in the document expresses permission (not possibility), thus making its meaning both unambiguous and correct. Especially since I’m not a native English speaker, I’m far from sure.
      I mostly made this reply just to correct what I said in my previous post, but I wonder what others think.

      posted in News
      C
      Cernel
    • 1 / 1