The game rules regarding submarines not making a sea zone hostile do not seem to reflect the realities of what submarines did in WW II. The Allies developed anti-submarine forces and the convoy system to fight the German submarine threat in the Atlantic theater and were, after a time, able to virtually eliminate the submarine threat from this “hostile sea zone”. On the other hand, the Japanese never bothered with anti-submarine forces or the convoy system and, by the end of the war, Allied submarines had essentially run out of targets to sink.
Prewar Boat movement?
-
I just want to make sure I got a ship movement rule right.
May the US Destroyer @ Philippines move to SZ 35-45-55-54 on turn 1 when ANZAC ships start in 54?
May this same Destroyer @ Queensland move SZ 54-49-30-26 on turn 2?
Both questions assume war has not been declared by anyone (except Japan vs China).
Does anything change if UK/ANZAC goes to war with Japan but not the US?
The question is really moot because this same Destroyer can move SZ 35-45-46-49 in turn 1 and then make it to Hawaii on turn 2 in two steps. The details are only an illustration so I can verify that ports are inactive for “future allies” (e.g. nations that will later fight on the same team) but ships may occupy the same sea zone before open hostilities begin. Thanks.
-
May the US Destroyer @ Philippines move to SZ 35-45-55-54 on turn 1 when ANZAC ships start in 54?
Yes.
May this same Destroyer @ Queensland move SZ 54-49-30-26 on turn 2?
No.
Does anything change if UK/ANZAC goes to war with Japan but not the US?
No.
The question is really moot because this same Destroyer can move SZ 35-45-46-49 in turn 1 and then make it to Hawaii on turn 2 in two steps. The details are only an illustration so I can verify that ports are inactive for “future allies” (e.g. nations that will later fight on the same team) but ships may occupy the same sea zone before open hostilities begin. Thanks.
All true.





