Don’t worry, the rules are not that hard. I am 12 myself! Let me answer your questions.
In a combat move, you can move as many troops as you like from as many territories as you want. For example, if America took over the Kwangtung, the Japanese could make a joint attack from French Indochina and Manchuria. If there was two infantry and a tank in Manchuria, you could use all of them to mount the attack. If you do not have any troops in a territory, it is still under your control until an enemy takes it. You can mount completely seperate battles in the space of one turn as long as they don’t happen at the same time.
Now for the dice question. When you place your troops on the battle strip in the correct places, you can see a units attack number. You roll once for each unit, even if they have the same attacking or defending number. If you roll that unit’s number or less, you score a hit.
Lastly, I must give some fighter/bomber clarification. If you have planes on an island, and you see a ship or fleet coming towards, most likely for an amphibious assault, then you can bomb the ships IF the ships have finished their turn, and it is now yours. Remember, ships can move two sea zones per turn. I do not fully understand your second question. It does not matter whether enemy ships are in a sea zone friendly to you or not. You can send fighters and bombers over the ships both ways, as long as you have enough moves for the plane to get back to friendly land or sea territories. However, I would advise not to send bombers to attack ships that are in a sea zone right next to where the enemy has amassed AA guns.
That’s all. Don’t worry about asking simple questions. I did the same thing when I was first introduced to A&A.
1942: Territory question
-
I received my copy of 1942 today.
I’m wondering about Iceland and Formosa. Both territories are labelled, both do not have an IPC value, both do not have a control marker.
Are these territories “Neutrals”?How to handle them?
Thank you.
:-)
-
Hi P@nther,
I assumed Iceland was US territory (as it’s green) and Formosa as Japanese territory being (orange).
I also assumed that it’s there for landing planes. I could be totally wrong.
Krieghund would have a better answer.
-
Hey Panther, I was just about to answer your post in the ABattleMap thread :roll:
Anyway, here’s what I wanted to say:
@P@nther:I’m wondering about Iceland and Formosa. Both territories are labelled, both do not have an IPC value, both do not have a control marker.
They don’t have a control marker, unlike Greenland, Gibraltar or Caroline Islands, so I think they’re “just for fun”, and aren’t separate territories.
-
Maybe some “rest” of the AA50-map that was accidentally not deleted.
;-)
-
For now, I’m going to say that Iceland and Formosa are not game spaces. I’m working on getting an official answer.
-
The official word is that these islands are game spaces. Iceland should have a UK roundel, and Formosa should have a Japanese one. This will be in the FAQ.
-
Thank you for the clarification :-)
-
another territory question
the sz to the north east of UK and north west of Norway…. does it touch the UK? I think it does, but the map sure looks like it could go either way. -
Sea zone 3? Yes.
-
SZ3 slightly touching UK is old issue from Revised
wish they adjusted the sea zone line so this doesn’t get asked all the time





