Destroyers delay the removal of sub casualties, allowing them to fire back in their normal step even if they are hit by a sub. However, both attacking and defending subs always fire in the Opening Fire step, so a defending sub will return fire even if it is hit, regardless of the presence of destroyers. This is because fire within a step is simultaneous. In effect, the presence of a destroyer only affects the ability of surface vessels to return fire when hit by subs.
Rules Question: Guest FTRS
-
Morning pro’s
Quicky here: US FTR lands on UK carrier- rules say it is treated as “cargo” Does this entail all the following
If the carrier is attacked by Germany on Germany’s go, the FTR does not contribute to the fight
If the carrier is attacked by Germany on Germany’s go. the FTR cannot be used to soak a hit
If the UK carrier attacks Germany on UK’s go, the FTR cannot be used to soak a hitThanks,
Trusty
-
@Trusty:
If the carrier is attacked by Germany on Germany’s go, the FTR does not contribute to the fight
Incorrect.
@Trusty:
If the carrier is attacked by Germany on Germany’s go. the FTR cannot be used to soak a hit
Incorrect.
@Trusty:
If the UK carrier attacks Germany on UK’s go, the FTR cannot be used to soak a hit
Correct.
Basically, units fight normally when it’s their turn or when they’re attacked. The US fighter will fight on the US’ turn and when the sea zone is attacked by an Axis power.
On the UK’s turn, it’s inert. It cannot fire or be taken as a casualty. If the carrier it’s on is lost, it’s also lost.
-
Thanks Krieghund, that’s most helpful…
Tom





