I know that in the LHTR (V2) that say I was the US the UK could place a FTR on my carrier. If I as the US chose to move the carrier the UK plane would move as cargo.
If you are referring to the original A&A (Classic), then I don’t think that was the rule. You could always load/unload in the same turn, to my knowledge.
And, since you can pick the route, by all means pick the route with the least amount of hazards! Sometimes those AA’s seem to have eyes (so to speak) and get a lot more hits than are warrented.