I know that in the LHTR (V2) that say I was the US the UK could place a FTR on my carrier. If I as the US chose to move the carrier the UK plane would move as cargo.
The FAQ was recently amended on Larry Harris’ site to remove all ambiguity on this point. It now reads as follows:
Q. If I liberate a friendly power’s territory, what happens to the antiaircraft guns and industrial complexes there?
A. They are returned to the control of the original controller of the territory.
Yes. Air attacks (other than SBRs) work in the same way as any other attack. The attack continues until one side or the other (or both) is destroyed, or the attacker retreats (or the defender submerges if it’s a sub).