I got a question regarding this rule.
In my last game, the us player attacked my jap fleet.
I had 3 transports, 1 cruiser, 1 battleship, 2 carriers and 4 fighters.
He had 4 subs, 2 destoyers, 1 battleship, 1 fighter and 1 carrier.
My fighters could only hit his surface ships, while my other ships were hitting his subs.
So what remained was that i had 4 fighters left vs 3 of his subs.
I also had 3 transports. So my question is: do you sink the transports and land the fighters at the island? Or do the transports remain and the subs have to submerge? We decided to sink the transports and land the fighters, but there was alot of discussion about this.