• '10

    All, clarification question - can an attacking sub fire at a defending sub once during the sneak attack phase, prior to the defending sub rolling/submerging?  ie if he scores, then the defending sub is sunk before it can submerge?


  • @RisingDragon:

    All, clarification question - can an attacking sub fire at a defending sub once during the sneak attack phase, prior to the defending sub rolling/submerging?  ie if he scores, then the defending sub is sunk before it can submerge?

    No.  A sub is invincible if there is no enemy destroyer, because it can submerge before each round, including the first.  Attacking subs get zero attempts at the defending sub, unless the defending player says he’s not submerging.

    Um, it’s here in the errata.
    “Q. Exactly when is the decision made whether or not to submerge submarines?”
    “A. The decision whether to submerge submarines is made before any dice are rolled by either side in an exchange of fire, and the subs submerge immediately.  The attacker decides before the defender does”.


  • Where can I find the rulebook for AAE50?

  • Official Q&A

    Here.


  • Thanks Krieghund!


  • do casualties of bombardments get to fire back?


  • @Sgt.:

    do casualties of bombardments get to fire back?

    Yes, in AA50 they always do.  Also, note that aircraft can be hit by bombardment in this version.

  • '16 '15 '10

    @Krieghund:

    The answer to both questions is yes.  The key concept is that any land units that load onto a transport in the Combat Move phase must also unload in an amphibious assault in the same turn, unless the transport retreats from the sea battle, in which case they must remain on board.  Units that load in the Noncombat Move phase or that loaded in prior turns are free to either unload or remain on board.  Of course, a transport may not unload one unit in combat and the other in noncombat in the same turn, as unloading ends a transport’s actions for the turn.

    If I load 2 units onto a transport in combat, is it legal to unload 1 unit (in combat) and keep the other unit on the transport (eg not to be unloaded in ncm)?

  • Official Q&A

    No.

  • '16 '15 '10

    Eek that means most of us have been playing wrong for some time now (TripleA and GTO allow 1 unit offloads, for starters).  Definitely a good one for the FAQ.

  • Official Q&A

    GTO doesn’t support AA50.  This was legal in OOB Revised, so perhaps that’s what you’re thinking of.  I can’t speak for TripleA.


  • [off topic]
    @Zhukov44:

    Eek that means most of us have been playing wrong for some time now (TripleA and GTO allow 1 unit offloads, for starters).  Definitely a good one for the FAQ.

    for TripleA, they are aware of the rule, but decided to not change this point (I posted a bug report about that some times ago ; the answer was that they do not want to be exactly as AA50 so they keep the game like that)
    [/off topic]


  • Yep, totally different game when you play it that way! <sarc>  :-)</sarc>


  • Here’s one for you Krieghund:

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=22604.0

    Thanks!


  • @Krieghund:

    @Lynxes:

    Another one: apparently there are no Chinese control markers in the game (I haven’t got mine yet, just looked at the pics), but I guess this is since they can only enter Manchuria, Kiangsu and Kwangtung? I.e., a Chinese attack on Manchuria means that Manchuria is Chinese controlled and if there’s an IC there it will then not be able to produce since China has no IPCs? And this is the same if for example Soviet Union attacks Manchuria since it is then liberated to revert to Chinese control?

    This is all correct.  If there is an Axis control marker on Manchuria or Kiangsu, it belongs to that Axis power; otherwise it belongs to China.

    ok for this but i want to make sure about something: In the 1942 Scenario, are the pacific islands (with control markers on), burma and kwangtung have to be considered as originally controlled by japan. Then usable to get the UK bonus?

    Thanks

    LP

  • Official Q&A

    Only territories with a Japanese roundel printed on the game board (excluding those with a Chinese roundel also) count.


  • @Krieghund:

    Only territories with a Japanese roundel printed on the game board (excluding those with a Chinese roundel also) count.

    perfect. Thanks Krieghund


  • This has probably been asked before, but for the paratroopers tech does the bomber have to drop the trooper in the first hostile territory it encounters?  I.E. if someone were to have a bomber in Germany and were trying to drop an inf in Arc but BSt and Kar were both under Russian control is that doable? Also isn’t the limit for a drop 3 spaces from starting territory?  Thanks


  • @Sgt.:

    This has probably been asked before, but for the paratroopers tech does the bomber have to drop the trooper in the first hostile territory it encounters?  I.E. if someone were to have a bomber in Germany and were trying to drop an inf in Arc but BSt and Kar were both under Russian control is that doable? Also isn’t the limit for a drop 3 spaces from starting territory?   Thanks

    YES the bomber CANNOT fly over any hostile TERRITORY (sea zones are fine) before dropping paras.  So yes you have to drop in the first hostile LAND territory it encounters.

    No, you can drop infantry FIVE spaces from the starting territory (SEVEN if you have LRA), if you have a safe landing place for the bomber in an adjoining territory after the drop.  And one more thing - the bomber can fly over hostile territories after dropping.

  • Official Q&A

    @gamerman01:

    And one more thing - the bomber can fly over hostile territories after dropping.

    Yes, in noncombat movement, after the battle.

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

33

Online

17.7k

Users

40.3k

Topics

1.8m

Posts