@Stoney229:
Page 20: “(Note, if you are playing in the 1942 scenario, place you marker on top of the original control
marker; do not remove it)”
What is the purpose of this statement, if the original controller is printed on the gameboard? If Japan starts 1942 in control of Philipines, and UK conquers it, do you place a UK marker over the Japan marker which is on top of the US symbol, or do you just remove the Japan marker and control goes to US?
The statement has no purpose. It was a leftover from a previous rule. There’s no need to have more than one control marker on a territory. Per the FAQ, the original owner of each territory is the same regardless of the scenario being played, and it’s the marker printed on the board. In your example, the US would gain control of the Philippines.
@Stoney229:
A sub move into a SZ with an enemy destroyer. Can the sub just stop there, or is it forced to attack?
If a sub ends its combat movement in a hostile sea zone, it must attack, however the sub can submerge before any shots are fired if there are no enemy destroyers in the sea zone. It may only move into a hostile sea zone without attacking during noncombat movement.