You’re right that this rule is ambigious in this rule book. But to me the intention of the game makers is very clear. That shows not from this rule book, but from all rule books after this version. For example in the rule book from 1943 2nd, They state specifically that all strategic bombing raids take place first. This resolves any argument about who pays the IPC’s to the bank, the attacker or the defender! Since they solved this in the next rule book, i think it is quite obvious what they intended and tried to correct.
Re: use of industrial complexes if friendly power's capital captured
-
That is to the best of my knowledge of course
-
Thanx AJGundam that has been a great help :-). I’m new to the game and was getting confused over the wording in the rule book… This makes sense now
Just noticed, I kept referring to Caracus instead of Caucasus… what an idiot ;-)!!! but you knew what I meant …:-)
-
OK, going to post my verison…
The only way that an IC from a fallen ally can be used is if the fomer aly’s IC is TAKEN from the ENEMY. Then and only then may the SINGLE NATION that took control of that territory use that IC on subsequent turns, but only so long as the original ally’s capital is enemy held. Once liberated, all original territories held by allies revert to their original nation.
-
Also, You can collect income from a liberated territory if the original owner’s capital is in enemy hands.
Example, Germany captures Moscow, and is in control of Archangel but not Karelia. USA invades German Archangel, conquering it, and also lands troops in Russian Karelia. USA gets +2 income from Archangel and places a USA control marker there - it’s American now. Karelia remains Russian and does not provide income to anyone. Should Moscow be liberated at any point, all red territories with USA or UK control-markers in them revert to Russian control immediately.
~Josh
-
Yep.
-
I thought I covered it all ….
-
You may have.
And it was covered several times before in earlier threads.
But since it keeps coming up, we rephrased just in case a different verbage was more easilly understood by different readers :-)
-
I’ll hijack this one a little, or just expand on the question, depending on your viewpoint:
In Classic, when a capital is captured, all empty territories that were owned by the fallen player changed ownership to the player capturing their capital. Does this still happen in revised?
-
I am not aware of that being the rule, either in the rule book, or in the CDR version.
It does NOT happen in Revised
-
Thanks.