Thanks guys - this makes sense. Just a clarification on Q4 and Q5.
Apologies - I am not sure if you (ncscswitch) understood exactly what I meant in Q4.
From Shadowhawks’ answer I understand that as the US I can’t load or offload from Sea Zone 63 to Alaska without destroying the German battleship in Sea Zone 64. (Note that the German battleship is in a different sea Zone to where I am offloading from which I think is the misunderstanding by ncscswitch. Hence I am not undertaking the sea combat portion of an amphibious attack just wanting to know whether I can load/offload).
Can I conduct an amphibious assault from Sea Zone 63 to Alaska (assuming Alaska is enemy controlled) with a German battleship is Sea Zone 64 or must the German battleship be destroyed first?
Q5: The reason I asked whether it was land units only that could be hit by battleships during bombardment in an amphibious attack is because this is what it says on page 15 (bottom of right hand column - “If there are no land units present ignore this step and leave the battleships on the board”). Is the firing on aircraft by battleships (in contradiction to this rule) a LHTR modification?
By the way the link to the LHTR doesn’t seem to be working.
Thanks.