Logic for occupying enemy/ally Industrial Center


  • Hello.

    I’m trying to correctly understand the rules related to occupying an enemy or ally Industrial Center.

    I put together a flowchart that tries to capture what I think the decision flow is for determining the effect+factors related to this.

    Here’s my best stab at it so far. I would love to get feedback and suggestions for correction. If you do have corrections, perhaps identity the incorrect flow textually using the node/connector names separated by ‘>’, so that I’m certain which part you’re referring to.

    Thank you!

    1de77017-5659-41e9-8861-735601750e09-image.png

  • Official Q&A

    @lagouyn That looks correct, except for one small, but important, thing. In order to take control of a territory controlled by an ally while their capital is enemy-controlled, you must recapture it from an enemy. You cannot ever take control of a territory directly from an ally (except when regaining control of one of your own original territories after your capital is liberated).


  • @Krieghund

    Thanks for your reply. The rules around this are subtle for me.

    In the 1941 rules, “Order of Play” > “Step 7. Conclude Combat” > “Liberating a Territory”, it says:

    “If the original controller’s capital is in enemy hands at the end of the turn in which you would otherwise have liberated the territory, you capture the territory instead.”

    I’d like to understand whether this rules agrees with what you wrote. Could you advise?

    Thanks again.

    For completeness, here the entire section under “Liberating a Territory”:

    Liberating a Territory

    If you capture a territory that was originally controlled by another power on your side, you “liberate” the territory. You do not take control of it; instead, the original controller regains the territory and adjusts that power’s national production level accordingly. Any industrial complex in that territory reverts to the original controller of the territory.

    If the original controller’s capital is in enemy hands at the end of the turn in which you would otherwise have liberated the territory, you capture the territory instead. You adjust your national production level instead of that power’s, and you can use any industrial complex there until the original controller’s capital is liberated. “

  • Official Q&A

    @lagouyn None of that contradicts what I wrote. I simply said that you cannot take control of a territory currently controlled by an ally, even if their capital has been captured. Your chart seems to imply that you can do so by occupying the territory. You can fix it by changing the text in the first box to “You capture another player’s IC” and the text of the second to “Did I capture the IC this turn?”


  • @Krieghund
    Thank you.

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 3
  • 6
  • 5
  • 11
  • 6
  • 11
  • 97
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

45

Online

17.8k

Users

40.5k

Topics

1.8m

Posts