Now for some Very Simple Rules™ for “G40 Lite” …or whatever this is called. Note that sections 1-3 below have nothing to do with this 1940 setup and simply catch up to a couple of the new (an totally optional) features on this and my other AA50 map overlays: Recruitment Centers, the Burma Road, and the Trans-Siberian Railroad.
0.0 Starting Assumptions
0.1 Unless directly contradicted by the following, all rules for Axis and Allies: Anniversary Edition (with errata) shall apply with precedence.
Misc. Rules for AA50 Modular Overlays:
1.0 Recruitment Centers
1.1 Recruitment Centers count as eligible Territories for the placement of newly-purchased Infantry units (only), as long as the RC was in controlled at the start of the turn (not newly-liberated/captured).
1.2 The Production Capacity for Infantry units at a Recruitment Center is the IPC value of the territory.
1.3 Recruitment Centers may be “upgraded” into Industrial Complexes. The cost to build an Industrial Complex in any territory with a Recruitments Center is reduced by 5 IPCs. Recruitment Centers that are upgraded in this way cease to have any function.
1.4 Captured Recruitment Centers in non-neutral territories cannot be used by the capturing power. Captured Neutral Recruitment Centers may be used (and/or upgraded) by whoever controls them.
2.0 The Burma Road
2.1 The Burma Road shall be considered “Open” if the Allies control every Territory through which it passes.
2.2 If the Burma Road is “Open” up to one new Chinese Infantry unit may be placed as an Artillery unit instead.
3.0 The Trans-Siberian Railroad
3.1 During the NON-COMBAT MOVE phase, USSR Infantry units that begin and end their movement on the Railroad may move two spaces instead of one.
Rules for G40 Lite:
4.0 Neutral Territories
4.1 Neutral Territories (unless marked “Impassible”) are now legal playing spaces on the map, subject to the following rules.
4.2 Neutral Territories have a Standing Army equal to a number of Infantry twice the IPC value of that Territory (e.g. a Territory worth 2 IPCs has a Standing Army of 4 Infantry). This Standing Army is placed on the map immediately the first time the Territory is invaded, and is never placed again.
4.3 Neutral Territories may have one of three Alignments which appear immediately below the Territory name on the map: Pro-Axis, Pro-Allies, or Unaligned (if there is no alignment text below the Territory name).
4.4 Neutral Territories of any alignment may be invaded by any Power during that Power’s COMBAT MOVEMENT phase.
4.5 If the invading Power’s Alliance matches the Alignment of a Neutral Territory (e.g. an Allied Power invading a Pro-Allied Neutral), that Territory immediately joins that Power. Place a Roundel belonging to that Power in that Neutral Territory and adjust that Power’s IPC income accordingly, and place that Neutral’s Standing Army in the Territory as Infantry units belonging to the invading Power.
4.6 If the invading Power’s Alliance does not match the Alignment of a Neutral Territory (e.g. an Allied Power invading an Unaligned or Pro-Axis Neutral), that Territory’s Standing Army is placed in the Territory in the form of Infantry belonging to a Power of the opposing Alliance’s choice, and a Battle will occur here in the CONDUCT COMBAT phase of the Turn.
— 4.6.1 If the invading Power is victorious, place a roundel belonging to that Power in the Territory and adjust the IPC Income of that Power accordingly. If the invading player retreats or is otherwise defeated, leave any remaining Standing Army units in the Territory. They may not leave the Territory until it is invaded and controlled by a Power matching their Alliance.
4.7 Each time an Unaligned Neutral Territory is invaded, other Unaligned Neutral Territories may align against the invading Power.
— 4.7.1 For each other remaining Unaligned Neutral Territory, the invading Power may pay 1 IPC. If they do not, roll one d6. On a roll of 3 or less, that Territory remains Unaligned. On a roll of 4 or more, that Territory aligns against the invading Power (it is now considered “Pro” that Power’s opposing Alliance) for the rest of the game.
5.0 United States
5.1 The United States begins the game with 0 IPCs.
5.2 Until the start of the 3rd US Turn, the US income is halved (round down)
5.3 Until the start of the 3rd US turn, US units are restricted in the following ways:
— 5.3.1 US land units may not enter any non-US Territory.
— 5.3.2 US naval units may not move.
— 5.3.3 US air units (except the fighter in China) are restricted to only Territories and Sea Zones that contain US land or naval units.
5.4 If any US units or Territories are attacked before its 3rd Turn, the above rules shall immediately cease to apply.
6.0 Soviet Union
6.1 The USSR’s starting IPCs are halved (round down).
6.2 Until the start of it’s 3rd Turn, the USSR’s income is halved (round down).
6.3 If original USSR Territories are attacked before its 3rd Turn, it’s income immediately reverts to normal.
7.0 France and Vichy/Free France
7.1 While Paris is France-controlled, France is a Major Allied Power, moving last each Round.
7.2 If Paris falls to the Axis, France’s IPCs go to the conquering Power and IPC incomes are adjusted as usual.
7.3 The first time that Paris falls to the Axis, France will fracture and become Vichy France (a minor Pro-Axis Neutral Power controlled by Germany) and a new power— Free France, a new Minor Allied Power— will split off from it. Blue French units will now be Vichy French units; use a distinguishing marker to denote Free French units and Territory control (see below for some Free French Roundels!).
The following special procedure is carried out to split Free France off from [now Vichy] France:
- 7.3.0 Northern France remains the Capital of [now Vichy] France under German control.
- 7.3.1 If Southern France is not already Axis-controlled, it immediately joins Vichy France:
— 7.3.1.1 Immediately remove all French and Allied units there, place a German roundel there, and adjust IPC incomes accordingly.
— 7.3.1.2 Place one [now Vichy] French, one [additional] Italian, and two [additional] German Infantry and one German AAA Gun there.
- 7.3.2 If Algeria is not already Axis-controlled, it immediately joins Vichy France:
— 7.3.2.1 Immediately remove any French or Allied units there, place a German roundel there, and adjust IPC incomes accordingly.
— 7.3.2.2 Place one [now Vichy] French and one [additional] German Infantry unit there.
- 7.3.3 The UK player may now select one French-controlled Territory to become the Capital of Free France. Replace any French units there with Free French units, and place one additional Free French Infantry and one Free French AAA Gun in that Territory.
- 7.3.4 For each other French-controlled Territory on the map, roll one d6.
— 7.3.4.1 On a roll of 3 or less, the Territory and any units present in that Territory join Free France. Replace these units with Free French units.
— 7.3.4.2 On a roll of 4 or greater, the Territory and any French units present remain [now Vichy] French: place a German roundel there if west of India and a Japanese roundel if east of India. In either case adjust IPC incomes accordingly. Any other Allied units that were in these Vichy Territories must immediately relocate to an adjacent Allied-controlled Territory if one exists, or else be destroyed. Axis aircraft may land in Vichy Territories the same turn they are created.
- 7.3.5 For each individual French Ship on the map, roll one d6.
— 7.3.5.1 On a roll of 1, the ship is scuttled - remove it from the map.
— 7.3.5.2 On a roll of 2 or 3, the ship joins the Free French— replace it with a Free French version and leave it where it is.
— 7.3.5.3 On a roll of 4 or 5, the ship sides with Vichy France— move it immediately to SZ 13.
— 7.3.5.4 On a roll of 6, the ship joins the Axis: move it to SZ 5 and replace it with an equivalent German unit.
- 7.3.6 All other French units in non-French Allied Territories (e.g. London) when Paris falls become Free French. Replace them with equivalent Free French units.
7.4 While Paris remains Axis-Controlled, Free France is a Minor Allied Power controlled by and moving together with the UK, and Vichy France is a Minor Pro-Axis Neutral Power controlled by and moving together with Germany.
Vichy France is subject to the below rules and restrictions:
- 7.4.1 Vichy France collects no income and makes no purchases, instead placing one additional new infantry in Southern France at the end of the German turn for every two Vichy French territories on the map.
- 7.4.2 Vichy French units may not enter Northern France.
- 7.4.3 Vichy French land units may not enter or attack non-blue (original French) Territories.
- 7.4.4 Vichy French naval units may not leave SZ 13.
Free France is subject to the below rules and restrictions:
- 7.4.5 Free France collects no income and makes no purchases, instead placing one new Infantry in the Capital of Free France at the end of the UK Turn for every two Free French Territories on the map. Up to one of its new Infantry units may always be placed as an Artillery unit at its capital instead.
- 7.4.6 Free French units are not restricted to only blue territories in the same way that Vichy units are.
- 7.3.4 If the Free French capital is captured by the Axis, the UK player may choose a new capital for Free France at the start of its next Turn.
7.5 When Paris is liberated by the Allies, France immediately becomes whole again and the Vichy and Free French Powers are dissolved back into one France, which reverts to being a Major Allied Power moving last after the US.
- 7.5.1 The first time Paris is liberated by the Allies, place two [additional] French Infantry there after the battle.
- 7.5.2 If Free French units took part in the battle to liberate Paris, place an [additional] two French Infantry there.
- 7.5.3 All Vichy French units remain [now normal] French units.
- 7.5.4 Replace all Free French units everywhere with equivalent normal French units.
Here are some Free French roundels, if you need them:
