Now for some Very Simple Rules™ for “G40 Lite” …or whatever this is called. Note that sections 1-3 below have nothing to do with this 1940 setup and simply catch up to a couple of the new (an totally optional) features on this and my other AA50 map overlays: Recruitment Centers, the Burma Road, and the Trans-Siberian Railroad.
0.0 Starting Assumptions
0.1 Unless directly contradicted by the following, all rules for Axis and Allies: Anniversary Edition (with errata) shall apply with precedence.
1.0 Recruitment Centers
1.1 Recruitment Centers count as eligible Territories for the placement of newly-purchased Infantry units (only), as long as it was not newly-conquered/liberated this turn.
1.2 The Production Capacity for Infantry units at a Recruitment Center is the IPC value of the territory.
1.3 Recruitment Centers may be “upgraded” into Industrial Complexes. The cost to build an Industrial Complex in any territory with a Recruitments Center is reduced by 5 IPCs. Recruitment Centers that are upgraded in this way cease to have any function.
1.4 Captured Recruitment Centers in non-neutral territories cannot be used by the capturing power. Captured Neutral Recruitment Centers may be used and/or upgraded by whoever controls them.
2.0 The Burma Road
2.1 The Burma Road shall be considered “Open” only if the Allies control every Territory through which it passes.
2.2 When placing Chinese units at the end of the US turn, if the Burma Road is “Open” up to one new Chinese Infantry unit may be placed as an Artillery unit instead.
3.0 The Trans-Siberian Railroad
3.1 During the USSR’s NON-COMBAT MOVEMENT phase, USSR Infantry units may move two spaces instead of one, provided that they begin and end thier turn on in a Territory containing the Trans-Siberan Railroad.
4.0 Neutral Territories
4.1 Neutral Territories (unless marked “Impassible”) are now legal playing spaces on the map, subject to the following rules.
4.2 Neutral Territories have a Standing Army equal to a number of Infantry twice the IPC value of that Territory (e.g. a Territory worth 2 IPCs has a Standing Army of 4 Infantry). This Standing Army is placed on the map immediately the first time the Territory is invaded, and is never placed again.
4.3 Neutral Territories may have one of three Alignments which appear immediately below the Territory name on the map: Pro-Axis, Pro-Allies, or Unaligned (if there is no alignment text below the Territory name).
4.4 Neutral Territories of any alignment may be invaded by any Power during that Power’s COMBAT MOVEMENT phase.
4.5 If the invading Power’s Alliance matches the Alignment of a Neutral Territory (e.g. an Allied Power invading a Pro-Allied Neutral), that Territory immediately joins that Power. Place a Roundel belonging to that Power in that Neutral Territory and adjust that Power’s IPC income accordingly, and place that Neutral’s Standing Army in the Territory as Infantry units belonging to the invading Power.
4.6 If the invading Power’s Alliance does not match the Alignment of a Neutral Territory (e.g. an Allied Power invading an Unaligned or Pro-Axis Neutral), that Territory’s Standing Army is placed in the Territory in the form of Infantry belonging to a Power of the opposing Alliance’s choice, and a Battle will occur here in the CONDUCT COMBAT phase of the Turn.
- 4.6.1 If the invading Power is victorious, place a roundel belonging to that Power in the Territory and adjust the IPC Income of that Power accordingly. If the invading player retreats or is otherwise defeated, leave any remaining Standing Army units in the Territory. They may not leave the Territory until it is invaded and controlled by a Power matching their Alliance.
4.7 Each time an Unaligned Neutral Territory is invaded, other Unaligned Neutral Territories may align against the invading Power.
- 4.7.1 For each other remaining Unaligned Neutral Territory, the invading Power may pay 1 IPC. If they do not, roll one d6. On a roll of 3 or less, that Territory remains Unaligned. On a roll of 4 or more, that Territory aligns against the invading Power (it is now considered “Pro” that Power’s opposing Alliance) for the rest of the game.
5.0 United States
5.1 The United States begins the game with 0 IPCs. Until the start of the US 3rd Turn:
- 5.1.1 The United States’ income is divided in half (round down).
- 5.1.2 US units outside of China may not enter any non-US Territory.
- 5.1.3 US naval units may not move at all.
5.2 If the US is attacked in any way before its 3rd Turn, the above rules shall immediately cease to apply.
6.0 Soviet Union
6.1 The USSR begins the game with 0 IPCs.
6.2 Until the start of it’s 3rd Turn, the USSR’s income is divided in half (round down).
6.3 If the USSR is attacked before its 3rd Turn, it’s income immediately reverts to normal.
7.0 France
7.1 While Paris is France-controlled, France shall be considered a Major Allied Power, moving last each Round.
7.2 When Paris falls to the Axis, France’s IPCs go to the victorious Power and IPC incomes are adjusted as usual. The first time that Paris falls to the Axis, the following special procedure is then carried out:
- 7.2.1 If Algeria is not already controlled by an Axis Power, immediately place a German roundel there and adjust IPC incomes accordingly. Remove any Allied units in the Territory and place 1 [additional] German Infantry unit there. Axis aircraft can land here this Turn.
- 7.2.2 If Southern France is not already controlled by an Axis Power, immediately place a German roundel there and adjust IPC incomes accordingly. Remove any Allied units in the Territory and place one [additional] Italian Infantry and two [additional] German Infanty and one German AAA Gun there. Axis aircraft can land here this Turn.
- 7.2.3 For each other French-controlled Territory on the map, roll one d6. On a roll of 3 or less, the Territory and any units present in that Territory remain French-controlled (they join Free France). On a roll of 4 or greater, the Territory sides with Vichy France and joins the Axis. If the Territory is West of India place a German roundel there, or if East of India place a Japanese roundel there. In either case, adjust IPC incomes accordingly and replaced any French units there with German or Japanese versions of the same units as appropriate. Any other Allied units that were in these Territories must be immediately relocated by their owner to an adjacent Allied-controlled Territory if possible, or be destroyed.
- 7.2.4 For every individual French Ship on the map, roll one d6 re-rolling any ones. On a roll of 2 or 3, the ship remains French (it joins Free France). On a roll of 4 or 5, the ship sides with Vichy France and joins the Axis. On a roll of 6, the ship is scuttled - remove it from the map.
- 7.2.5 The UK Player now chooses one France-controlled Territory to become the Capital of Free France. Place one [additional] French Infantry and one French AAA Gun in this territory.
7.3 Whenever Paris is Axis-Conrolled, Free France is a Minor Allied Power with the Capital selected by the UK player per the above, controlled by and moving together with the UK in the same way that China is controlled by the US.
7.4 If the Free French capital is captured by the Axis, the UK player may choose a new capital for Free France at the start of its next Turn.
7.5 Free France collects no income and makes no purchases, instead placing new Infantry at the end of the UK Turn in a similar way to China at the end of the US Turn: one Free French Infantry for every two Territories it controls. Up to one of its new Infantry units may always be placed as an Artillery unit at its capital instead.
7.6 The first time Paris is liberated by the Allies, place two French Infantry there after the battle. If Free French units were part of the battle to liberate Paris, place four French Infantry there instead.