The Germans have no destroyer present, therefore the defending air units can not hit the sub, and of course the sub can never hit planes. Think of it in terms of the combined arms rule, air units can only hit subs if they are combined with at least 1 participating destroyer, the difference with this particular combined arms is that it works while attacking and defending. In the scenario that you described, the sub would destroy the remaining transport without rolling and the defending fighters can do nothing.
Dumb submarine question
-
A transport is planning to conduct an amphibious assault. To do that, it goes into a sea zone that contains an enemy submarine to load units. Is this legal? Can the “doesn’t block enemy movement” feature of submarines apply to transports loading and unloading in a sea zone with an enemy submarine?
-
@SuperbattleshipYamato
An enemy submarine does not make a seazone hostile. So of course the Transport may load units in that seazone, ignoring the submarine. However, in case the transport wants to unload for an amphibious assault from a seazone that contains an ignored enemy submarine, at least one warship belonging to the attacking power must also be present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.
(Rulebook Europe 1940.2 , p. 16) -
Thank you!
-
@SuperbattleshipYamato And the submarine does’nt prevent the unescorted transport from unloading into a friendly place in NCM
-
Thank you for clarifying!





