The Captain’s Global 1940 House Rules Collection includes a link to barnee’s G40 for TripleA thread, since that thread is based on the Axis & Allies Global 1940 House Rules Expansion.
Global 1940 Flak Tower
-
Nice. Seems historically accurate.
What happens when a territory with a Flak Tower is captured? Is it destroyed ala Chinese industrial complexes in out of box or can the occupying power use them?
-
Right on. I think I have it figured now. Bit of a jag on last night :)
One question though. If the Capital falls, the Tower would just become inoperable for the Victor ? If Capital is liberated, then it’d be back in action ?
Unlikely to happen, but plausible :)
I just need to find an image now. i don’t ever remember seeing one in triplea. It won’t work without some edit but thats ok. People make it that far in the game, they’ll know what edits all about lol
Edit
Oh yea, does this make sealion a nonstarter now ?Edit 2
Hmmm … thinking some more, the othe aaGuns don’t get to shoot, so a bit of an advantage to the Tower. Maybe 1 more plane kill. 1 more extra hp compared to the 4 Inf you could buy. But then you lose the Home Defense for the Inf.I guess, it’s actually pretty close to a wash then.
-
If the Capital falls the game is most often over - even if the Capital is re-captured - since there is no money to purchase new units - so the Capital would eventually fall again.
Concerning Sealion:
We have a German Strategy for the Sealion that involves German Landing Craft units.
Even when the Germans put everything in their arsenal for Sealion, the UK player would be able to defend against the invasion - since the Home Defense rule and the Bristish 1st Tank Army would be ready for defense in Late 1940 or Early 1941.
The UK player also has an option to place Mines in United Kingdom - this would reduce the effectiveness of German Landing Craft units.Remember:
If Landing Craft units attack across a sea zone, this sea zone must be clear from enemy surface naval units from the start of the turn.In other words:
A single UK surface naval unit would prevent the German Landing Craft units from attacking…We haven’t seen a UK Flak Tower yet - due to the scenario described above.
-
You still haven’t answered the question. If a capital falls, does the occupying power control the flak tower? It may not matter, but you need to cover all hypothetical questions.
-
It Says never destroyed. So the attacker gets the flak and with any damage if they capture the capital since they were very hard to destroy.
-
Thank you for clarifying!
-
The Flak Tower rules have been clarified concerning capturing by enemy forces.
The pdf file is updated today.
-
Thank you!
-
This is a picture of the newest Expansion unit: Flak Tower.
This picture origins from the Global 1943 Expansion Revised Edition.
-
Nice!