This was a rule that was added because of the Axis advantage in earlier games being able to bridge. From Italy to Africa and Japan to Korea, the axis had great advantage with that plus a defense of 1 so I assume transports at 0 forces the axis powers to actually commit a naval defense.
Sub rule
-
Global 1942 Larry Harris setup has a Japanese submarine starting in seazone 49 with a variety of USA boats, including a destroyer. On Japan’s first turn, can the sub leave that seazone or is it required to immediately fight due to the presence of the destroyer?
Thanks
Hawk -
Yes, it can leave. It does not have to conduct combat in another zone to leave either.
Europe 1940 2nd Edition (page 13)
-
@AndrewAAGamer
Thanks so much sir!