Cool. Thank you. This makes a lot more sense.
More questions to come!
If I have a fighter on a carrier and the fighter moves 2 spaces away to attack something and then 2 spaces back to land on the carrier during the non combat movement phase, it has then used all 4 of its movement points. Can that carrier then also move 2 spaces carrying the spent fighter as part of the carriers non combat movement phase?
No, by the rules (page 20):
" An aircraft carrier and a fighter must both end their moves in the same sea zone in order for the fighter to land on the carrier."
@panther
Interesting. Thank you.