L20 #2 trulpen (X) vs JDOW (A+12) BM3

  • '15 '14

    Re round 2. „japan had an extra plane“ must of course read „US had an extra plane“

  • '15 '14

    So? I assume you are asking other players for their opinion?

    I would like to underline that I am genuinely convinced that adjusting the actual dice based on my suggestion is the right way to do this. Gamerman stated in previous rulings involving dice outcomes that the spirit is always to keep as many original dice as possible. And in this case, this is perfectly possible because it was just one unit, the battle just lasted 3 rounds, the battle outcome wasn’t even close and it was an all-in/max defense battle with no casualty choices affected.


  • Not asking around. Just feeling depressed.

  • '15 '14

    Oh I C. So my suggestion is fine? I would roll your extra dice in the forum then.
    How is the new command again for forum dice?


  • @JDOW said in L20 #2 trulpen (X) vs JDOW (A+12) BM3:

    On my cell atm but this is how it would work:

    Round 1: I am willing to assume the Marine scored a hit.
    Japan loses one inf less
    Us takes an extra plane down instead of the marine

    Round 2: Japan has an extra inf that will roll at 2.
    Japan had an extra plane that I am willing to assume it did hit.

    Thus, after round 2 Japan has 2 extra units for round 3 = 2 shots at 4 for round 3.

    The implication of the extra inf hit Or not on round 3 is neglectable as round 3 is a kill anyway.

    Thus the summary would be:
    Us one extra plane down plus Japan has 1 extra shot at 2 und two extra shots at 4.

    This reflects the worst possible outcome to me expecting my extra units did always hit.

    Agree?

    The marine is still in there in round 2, which I believe needs adjusting. Thus J has 3 shots at 4 in round 3, right?

    Nothing of consequence, but in accordance with the logic at hand. I can roll it now if it’s correct.


  • Also, an eventual hit in round 1 will have implications.


  • Trying to get my head around this issue.

    I’ll start with rolling the inf in round 2.

    [dice 1d6]


  • 1d6: 4

  • '15 '14

    Actually, the marine is not there in round 2. I took it off as casualty in round 1, and, as said, I will take another plane off round 1 that compensates for the marine that should have never been there in the first place.

    So in terms of attackers, round 2 Japan is “accurate” with deducting one plane and thus deducting another hit.

    Thus, I am quite certain it is accurate to give Japan one extra shot @2 for round 2 and 2 extra shots @4 for round 3.

  • '15 '14

    @trulpen said in L20 #2 trulpen (X) vs JDOW (A+12) BM3:

    Also, an eventual hit in round 1 will have implications.

    It won’t as round 3 was an overwhelming kill. So whether your extra inf hits or not. Round 3 is a clearance and the only implication is whether US loses another plane or not.


  • @JDOW said in L20 #2 trulpen (X) vs JDOW (A+12) BM3:

    Actually, the marine is not there in round 2. I took it off as casualty in round 1, and, as said, I will take another plane off round 1 that compensates for the marine that should have never been there in the first place.

    So in terms of attackers, round 2 Japan is “accurate” with deducting one plane and thus deducting another hit.

    Thus, I am quite certain it is accurate to give Japan one extra shot @2 for round 2 and 2 extra shots @4 for round 3.

    I think that’s not correct, because you will always have that extra inf/art/marine in the actual battle.

    Doesn’t matter if you kept the actual marine or not, the land unit is there.


  • Therefore 1 unit is not hit in round 1 and 2 units are not hit in round 3. I think.


  • But maybe you’re right.

  • '15 '14

    I genuinely believe that I am correct here.
    An extra unit cannot proliferate. If I have one unit too much, I will have one unit too much in every single round of the battle.
    Thus, there can only be 1 unjustified hit per round.

    The thing that proliferates is the number of extra shots for Japan, this is an f(x) = x+1 function. If the battle lasted 4 turns, you would have had 3 extra shots in round 4 and 6 total. (Always assuming the extra units would hit, actually)

    So here is the thing: I am convinced, 1 bonus shot at 2 and 2 at 4 is correct, but I will not have a dispute about a single die.
    I have to say that these calculations are definitely confusing and although I am very certain to be correct here I would not bet my life on it.

    Thus, if you genuinely believe 1 at 2 and 3 at 4 is the way to go, just proceed this way and roll the dice.

  • '15 '14

    @JDOW said in L20 #2 trulpen (X) vs JDOW (A+12) BM3:

    this is an f(x) = x+1 function

    BS. I just meant it increases 1 per turn. 1+2+3+4+5…

  • '15 '14

    One more illustration.

    US had 37 units at the beginning of the battle, while it should have been 36 --> 1 too much

    1 shot down by AA and Japan scored 11 hits.

    Round 2 US has 25 attackers. Now pretend the Marine would have never been there. In this case, US would have started with 36 units and would lose 12, end up with 24 in round 2.

    –> US still has (just) one extra unit in round 2.


  • Maybe I was thinking if there was a hit in round 2.


  • [dice 2d6]


  • 2d6: 1, 5


  • One hit it was.

Suggested Topics

  • 35
  • 87
  • 368
  • 44
  • 42
  • 57
  • 64
  • 76
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

22

Online

17.8k

Users

40.5k

Topics

1.8m

Posts