oysteilo (Allies+9) vs Simon33 (Axis) BM3

  • '19 '17 '16

    You can’t intentionally crash the fighter.

  • '19 '17 '16

    Pac rules, p21, 2nd last para:
    “You must have a carrier move, remain in place, or be
    mobilized (new carriers only) to pick up a fighter or
    tactical bomber that would end its noncombat movement in
    a sea zone. You can’t deliberately move an air unit out of
    range of a potential safe landing space.”

  • '19 '17 '16

    That’s why I asked what you wanted me to do after Japan’s turn.


  • i did not understand your question after japans turn

    Well, so it is ok to attack a fleet with 1 sub against a bunch of defenders (say 10 destroyers, 10 carriers and 20 fighters) and assume you will win this battle and in nc move in a carrier to land a fighter exactely in this sea zone? This is a potential safe landing space, isnt it? and hence this move is legal, but in real life the fighter does not have a safe landing space

    I read the rules this way: you must have a potential safe landing space for the move to be legal

    I have that, but it does not say I have to land on that spot. I agree, if there is no potential safe landing landing space, then the move is not legal.

  • '19 '17 '16

    Ok, but even if the sub dies and CV can’t move to SZ41, the CV and fighter can still move to SZ57 and must do so. As per the rule I quoted.

    Now if I had blocked SZ55 you would be under no obligation to attack it providing you attacked SZ42. In that case no NCM would be possible and you could then crash the fighter because you had no choice.

  • '19 '17 '16

    I’m pretty sure there’s no way you can get that TT without it costing you a CV+ftr.

  • '19 '17 '16

    Similarly with the SZ43 one.


  • @simon33 said in oysteilo (Allies+9) vs Simon33 (Axis) BM3:

    Ok, but even if the sub dies and CV can’t move to SZ41, the CV and fighter can still move to SZ57 and must do so. As per the rule I quoted.

    Now if I had blocked SZ55 you would be under no obligation to attack it providing you attacked SZ42. In that case no NCM would be possible and you could then crash the fighter because you had no choice.

    what if you had blocked all sea zones in the same way, then the attack is not legal in any way according to you?, what are the criterias then a 10% win chance or a 90% win chance?

    I am not saying you are incorrect. I am just confused. I am requesting a rulig!

    @Panther , can you rule this? Please look at the file and conversation from end of japan.

    If I attack the transport in sumatra sea sone with a fighter, do I have to move carrier to 57?

    alternatively, how does it play out if all of 42, 45 and 55 are massivly blocked for this move?

  • '19 '17 '16

    Ok, but the rule I quoted doesn’t clear it up for you?

    If I had blocked 42, 45 and 55, you could have attacked 41 with a plane only if you attacked either SZ55 or SZ42. Attacking SZ42 if SZ55 is attacked is not needed because the CV doesn’t need to reach SZ41, only SZ57. Similarly if you attack SZ42 and SZ45, your CV can move SZ54->SZ46->SZ45->SZ42 in theory.

    Similarly with SZ43. You could attack SZ45 in that scenario because the CV only needs to reach SZ44.

    In the scenario in this game, you could expend a sub to attack SZ42 and attack both undefended TTs but it still costs a CV because it has to move to catch one of the planes.

    I feel I’ve covered all the scenarios.

  • '19 '17 '16

    @simon33 said in oysteilo (Allies+9) vs Simon33 (Axis) BM3:

    Ok, but the rule I quoted doesn’t clear it up for you?

    If I had blocked 42, 45 and 55, you could have attacked 41 with a plane only if you attacked either SZ55 or both SZ42 & SZ45. Attacking SZ42 if SZ55 is attacked is not needed because the CV doesn’t need to reach SZ41, only SZ57. Similarly if you attack SZ42 and SZ45, your CV can move SZ54->SZ46->SZ45->SZ42 in theory.

    Similarly with SZ43. You could attack SZ45 in that scenario because the CV only needs to reach SZ44.

    In the scenario in this game, you could expend a sub to attack SZ42 and attack both undefended TTs but it still costs a CV because it has to move to catch one of the planes.

    I feel I’ve covered all the scenarios.

    Slight correction in the bolded bit.


  • maybe I was a little unclear. (at panther and simon33)

    I want to attack the transport in 41 with an american plane from 54 and do not want to sacrifice the carrier. In this scenario the potential possible landing spots are sz 57 and 42 (and some unlikely sea sones, disregard what previously mentioned)

    1. Clear sea sone 42, unlikely in this situation
    2. move carrier to 57 and land there

    I am questioning if I have to move my carrier to 57, BECAUSE, assuming all of 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 57 and 58 (potential landing spots) were heavily blocked (like 42) then I think a legel move is to attack 52 with ONE sub and hope for a miracle because the rule says you need a potential landing spot. In any case I feel I have that, but the rule does not say it is illegal to crash a plane if you have a landing spot and choose not to use it… OR?


  • @oysteilo said in oysteilo (Allies+9) vs Simon33 (Axis) BM3:

    I think a legel move is to attack 52 with ONE sub and hope for a miracle because the rule says you need a potential landing spot. In any case I feel I have that, but the rul

    its impossible to get everything right

    I think a legel move is to attack 42 with ONE sub and hope for a miracle because the rule says you need a potential landing spot. In any case I feel I have that, but the rul

  • '19 '17 '16

    The rule seems clear to me that you have to move the cv to sz57, regardless of whether sz42 is attacked or not.

    @simon33 said in oysteilo (Allies+9) vs Simon33 (Axis) BM3:

    Pac rules, p21, 2nd last para:
    “You must have a carrier move, remain in place, or be
    mobilized (new carriers only) to pick up a fighter or
    tactical bomber that would end its noncombat movement in
    a sea zone. You can’t deliberately move an air unit out of
    range of a potential safe landing space.”


  • @simon33 said in oysteilo (Allies+9) vs Simon33 (Axis) BM3:

    Ok, but even if the sub dies and CV can’t move to SZ41, the CV and fighter can still move to SZ57 and must do so. As per the rule I quoted.

    Now if I had blocked SZ55 you would be under no obligation to attack it providing you attacked SZ42. In that case no NCM would be possible and you could then crash the fighter because you had no choice.

    I guess this is correct Simon33, but still I would like to have this verified as it puzzles me.

    1. If all sea zones are blocked then crashing the plane is OK, because you lost the battle where the carrier was supposed to move and hence the carrier cant move there. This is ok even if you have no realistic chance of winning that battle
    2. In this case there is no need for a sea battle to clear the way for the carrier and hence the fighter has to be picked up

    Hmm, what if I had two fighters doing the same thing going in different directions and just one carrier. Can I do that? In this scenario one fighter will have to crash

    I guess the quoted rule indicates that the plane must be picked up:

    “You must have a carrier move, remain in place, or be
    mobilized (new carriers only) to pick up a fighter or
    tactical bomber that would end its noncombat movement in
    a sea zone. You can’t deliberately move an air unit out of
    range of a potential safe landing space.”

    Now, English is not my first language so maybe I am missing something here, I dont think this clearly says that you have to pick up the fighter, all it says is, you cant move an air unit out of range if there is no possible landing spot. I have that landing spot. Back to point 1 above, if all zones are blocked with a billion ships and you attack those billion ships with a single sub you have no realistic chance of winning, then I don’t see how you fulfill the quoted paragraph above as you have no carrier move remain in place. And i don’t see how this is any different than just crashing the plane as long as you have a carrier. You simply choose to move the carrier somewhere else


  • @Krieghund I am asking krieghund as well about this, although I think I know the answer… still could be good to get a rationale for why it is allowed as soon as the zones as blocked

    sorry for all the mess and all the wording

  • Official Q&A

    It is legal to move a fighter to attack a sea zone as long as it’s possible (no matter how unlikely) that the fighter can be picked up by a carrier afterwards. (One carrier cannot be used to justify attacking two different sea zones, as it cannot be in two places at once.) If the fighter survives and a carrier can move to pick it up (either the original or another one), it must do so. The fighter may only be allowed to crash if the circumstances after all combat is complete make it impossible to pick it up. If more than one fighter has to be picked up, but there is only one carrier available, the owner may choose which fighter to pick up, if a choice is available, but one must be picked up.


  • @oysteilo Sorry for being late… any more questions on this issue?


  • @Panther said in oysteilo (Allies+9) vs Simon33 (Axis) BM3:

    @oysteilo Sorry for being late… any more questions on this issue?

    Its all good! Thanks to everyone! and simon33 I will move saturday morning europe time


  • TripleA Turn Summary: UK_Pacific round 3

    TripleA Turn Summary for game: World War II Global 1940 Balanced Mod3 with Combat Move First, version: 3.4

    Game History

    Round: 3
    
        Combat Move - Americans
            1 infantry moved from Morocco to Algeria
            2 fighters moved from Gibraltar to Algeria
            1 bomber moved from Gibraltar to Algeria
    
        Purchase Units - Americans
            Americans buy 1 carrier, 1 destroyer, 2 fighters, 2 infantry, 2 submarines and 2 transports; Remaining resources: 3 PUs; 
    
        Combat - Americans
            Battle in Algeria
                Americans attack with 1 bomber, 2 fighters and 1 infantry
                Neutral_Axis defend with 1 infantry
                    Americans roll dice for 1 bomber, 2 fighters and 1 infantry in Algeria, round 2 : 2/4 hits, 1,83 expected hits
                    Neutral_Axis roll dice for 1 infantry in Algeria, round 2 : 0/1 hits, 0,33 expected hits
                    1 infantry owned by the Neutral_Axis lost in Algeria
                Americans win, taking Algeria from Neutral_Axis with 1 bomber, 2 fighters and 1 infantry remaining. Battle score for attacker is 3
                Casualties for Neutral_Axis: 1 infantry
    
        Non Combat Move - Americans
            2 fighters moved from Algeria to 92 Sea Zone
            1 carrier moved from 91 Sea Zone to 92 Sea Zone
            1 cruiser and 2 submarines moved from 91 Sea Zone to 92 Sea Zone
            2 transports moved from 91 Sea Zone to 92 Sea Zone
            1 transport moved from 91 Sea Zone to 88 Sea Zone
            2 infantry moved from French Guiana to 88 Sea Zone
            2 infantry and 1 transport moved from 88 Sea Zone to 92 Sea Zone
            2 infantry moved from 92 Sea Zone to Morocco
            1 aaGun moved from Central United States to 101 Sea Zone
            1 aaGun, 1 destroyer and 1 transport moved from 101 Sea Zone to 91 Sea Zone
            1 aaGun moved from 91 Sea Zone to Gibraltar
            1 bomber moved from Algeria to Gibraltar
            1 bomber moved from Western United States to Queensland
            1 mech_infantry moved from British Columbia to Central United States
            1 armour and 1 infantry moved from Western United States to 10 Sea Zone
            1 armour, 1 carrier, 2 destroyers, 1 infantry, 2 submarines and 1 transport moved from 10 Sea Zone to 26 Sea Zone
            1 armour and 1 infantry moved from 26 Sea Zone to Hawaiian Islands
    
        Place Units - Americans
            2 fighters and 1 infantry placed in Eastern United States
            1 transport placed in 101 Sea Zone
            1 carrier, 1 submarine and 1 transport placed in 10 Sea Zone
            1 destroyer and 1 submarine placed in 101 Sea Zone
            1 infantry placed in Western United States
    
        Turn Complete - Americans
            Americans collect 54 PUs; end with 57 PUs
            Objective Americans 1 Homeland: Americans met a national objective for an additional 10 PUs; end with 67 PUs
            Objective Americans 8 Pacific Airfields: Americans met a national objective for an additional 5 PUs; end with 72 PUs
            Objective Americans 3 Defense Obligations: Americans met a national objective for an additional 5 PUs; end with 77 PUs
            Objective Americans 2 Outer Territories: Americans met a national objective for an additional 5 PUs; end with 82 PUs
    
        Combat Move - Chinese
            1 infantry moved from Yunnan to Kwangsi
                  Chinese take Kwangsi from Japanese
    
        Purchase Units - Chinese
            Trigger Chinese Artillery Supplies: Chinese has their production frontier changed to: productionChinese_Burma_Road_Open
            Chinese buy 3 artilleries; Remaining resources: 1 PUs; 
    
        Combat - Chinese
    
        Non Combat Move - Chinese
            1 infantry moved from Yunnan to Burma
            5 infantry moved from Yunnan to Szechwan
            4 infantry moved from Yunnan to Szechwan
            1 fighter moved from Shensi to Szechwan
            2 infantry moved from Shensi to Szechwan
    
        Place Units - Chinese
            3 artilleries placed in Szechwan
    
        Turn Complete - Chinese
            Chinese collect 10 PUs; end with 11 PUs
            Objective Chinese 1 Burma Road: Chinese met a national objective for an additional 3 PUs; end with 14 PUs
    
        Combat Move - British
            1 infantry moved from Yunnan to Shan State
                  UK_Pacific take Shan State from Japanese
    
        Purchase Units - British
            British buy 1 armour, 1 artillery, 1 fighter, 2 infantry and 1 transport; Remaining resources: 0 PUs; 
    
        Purchase Units - UK_Pacific
            UK_Pacific buy 1 artillery and 3 infantry; Remaining resources: 0 PUs; 
    
        Combat - British
    
        Non Combat Move - British
            4 mech_infantrys moved from Yunnan to India
            1 aaGun moved from Yunnan to Szechwan
            2 aaGuns moved from Yunnan to Burma
            1 artillery and 6 infantry moved from Yunnan to Burma
            2 fighters and 1 tactical_bomber moved from Yunnan to India
            2 infantry moved from Persia to 80 Sea Zone
            2 infantry and 1 transport moved from 80 Sea Zone to 39 Sea Zone
            2 infantry moved from 39 Sea Zone to India
            1 bomber moved from Egypt to India
            1 bomber moved from Union of South Africa to India
            1 infantry moved from Rhodesia to Tanganyika Territory
            1 infantry moved from Rhodesia to Belgian Congo
            1 armour and 1 mech_infantry moved from Union of South Africa to Belgian Congo
            1 artillery and 4 infantry moved from Egypt to Trans-Jordan
            1 armour and 1 mech_infantry moved from Egypt to Trans-Jordan
            1 fighter moved from 92 Sea Zone to Egypt
            1 fighter moved from Gibraltar to 92 Sea Zone
    
        Place Units - British
            1 transport placed in 106 Sea Zone
            1 artillery and 2 infantry placed in Egypt
            1 fighter placed in United Kingdom
            1 armour placed in Union of South Africa
    
        Turn Complete - British
            British collect 29 PUs; end with 29 PUs
            Trigger British 3 No Enemy Submarines: British met a national objective for an additional 3 PUs; end with 32 PUs
    
        Place Units - UK_Pacific
            1 artillery and 3 infantry placed in India
    
        Turn Complete - UK_Pacific
            UK_Pacific collect 7 PUs; end with 7 PUs
            Trigger UK Pacific 4 No Enemy Submarines: UK_Pacific met a national objective for an additional 3 PUs; end with 10 PUs
            Some Units in India change ownership: 1 artillery and 3 infantry
    

    Combat Hit Differential Summary :

    Americans : 0,17
    Neutral_Axis : -0,33
    

    Savegame

  • '19 '17 '16

    TripleA Turn Summary: Italians round 3

    TripleA Turn Summary for game: World War II Global 1940 Balanced Mod3 with Combat Move First, version: 3.4

    Game History

    Round: 3
    
        Politics - Italians
            Italians takes Political Action: Political Action Axis To War With Russians
                Italians succeeds on action: Political Action Axis To War With Russians: Changing Relationship for Italians and Russians from Neutrality to War
    
        Combat Move - Italians
            1 infantry moved from Romania to Slovakia Hungary
            1 armour moved from Western Germany to Slovakia Hungary
            1 artillery and 1 infantry moved from Romania to Eastern Poland
            1 infantry moved from Tunisia to Algeria
            1 armour, 2 artilleries, 4 infantry and 1 mech_infantry moved from Tunisia to Algeria
            1 fighter moved from Southern Italy to Slovakia Hungary
            1 bomber moved from Southern Italy to Eastern Poland
    
        Purchase Units - Italians
            Italians buy 1 fighter, 1 infantry and 1 mech_infantry; Remaining resources: 0 PUs; 
    
        Combat - Italians
            Battle in Algeria
                Italians attack with 1 armour, 2 artilleries, 5 infantry and 1 mech_infantry
                Americans defend with 1 infantry
                    Italians roll dice for 1 armour, 2 artilleries, 5 infantry and 1 mech_infantry in Algeria, round 2 : 3/9 hits, 2.50 expected hits
                    Americans roll dice for 1 infantry in Algeria, round 2 : 0/1 hits, 0.33 expected hits
                    1 infantry owned by the Americans lost in Algeria
                Italians win, taking Algeria from Americans with 1 armour, 2 artilleries, 5 infantry and 1 mech_infantry remaining. Battle score for attacker is 3
                Casualties for Americans: 1 infantry
            Battle in Slovakia Hungary
                Italians attack with 1 armour, 1 fighter and 1 infantry
                Russians defend with 1 armour
                    Italians roll dice for 1 armour, 1 fighter and 1 infantry in Slovakia Hungary, round 2 : 0/3 hits, 1.17 expected hits
                    Russians roll dice for 1 armour in Slovakia Hungary, round 2 : 0/1 hits, 0.50 expected hits
                    Italians roll dice for 1 armour, 1 fighter and 1 infantry in Slovakia Hungary, round 3 : 0/3 hits, 1.17 expected hits
                    Russians roll dice for 1 armour in Slovakia Hungary, round 3 : 0/1 hits, 0.50 expected hits
                    Italians roll dice for 1 armour, 1 fighter and 1 infantry in Slovakia Hungary, round 4 : 1/3 hits, 1.17 expected hits
                    Russians roll dice for 1 armour in Slovakia Hungary, round 4 : 1/1 hits, 0.50 expected hits
                    1 armour owned by the Russians and 1 infantry owned by the Italians lost in Slovakia Hungary
                Italians win, taking Slovakia Hungary from Russians with 1 armour and 1 fighter remaining. Battle score for attacker is 3
                Casualties for Italians: 1 infantry
                Casualties for Russians: 1 armour
            Battle in Eastern Poland
                Italians attack with 1 artillery, 1 bomber and 1 infantry
                Russians defend with 1 infantry
                    Italians roll dice for 1 artillery, 1 bomber and 1 infantry in Eastern Poland, round 2 : 2/3 hits, 1.33 expected hits
                    Russians roll dice for 1 infantry in Eastern Poland, round 2 : 0/1 hits, 0.33 expected hits
                    1 infantry owned by the Russians lost in Eastern Poland
                Italians win, taking Eastern Poland from Russians with 1 artillery, 1 bomber and 1 infantry remaining. Battle score for attacker is 3
                Casualties for Russians: 1 infantry
    
        Non Combat Move - Italians
            1 bomber moved from Eastern Poland to Western Germany
            1 fighter moved from Slovakia Hungary to Western Germany
            1 armour moved from Romania to Bessarabia
            2 aaGuns moved from Romania to Bessarabia
            1 mech_infantry moved from Yugoslavia to Bessarabia
            2 fighters moved from Southern Italy to Cyprus
            1 mech_infantry moved from Southern Italy to Yugoslavia
    
        Place Units - Italians
            1 fighter, 1 infantry and 1 mech_infantry placed in Southern Italy
    
        Turn Complete - Italians
            Italians collect 18 PUs; end with 18 PUs
    

    Combat Hit Differential Summary :

    Italians : -1.33
    Americans : -0.33
    Russians : -0.83
    

    Savegame

Suggested Topics

  • 9
  • 54
  • 16
  • 145
  • 31
  • 242
  • 307
  • 957
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

32

Online

17.8k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts