Just to add to wittmann, the Russians are played with different political rules on each map (Europe/Pacific). They are still one power though, so you can send units from the Euro side to the Pac side if you want. For example if you are at war w/Japan you can send Russian ground and air units that start on the Euro map into China to help prop them up (because the Chinese are also at war w/Japan). You could even send those Russian ftrs to Burma or India (via China) once the UK Pac is at war with Japan (but just because you can doesn’t mean you should LOL)
Can you land fighters on a Friendly Neutral converted on the same turn?
-
Hello, all:
OK, it’s round one. UK sends a transport to Greece on the non-combat move making it British. UK then also land fighters on Greece.
I was under the impression planes couldn’t land the same round. The rulebook seems to confirm that, but I’ve been wrong before.
Can anyone definitively confirm one way or the other?
Thanks.
-
I agree with that the rule book says you can’t; while it specifically states the DEI exception to the rule. Even though I could quote the rule book all day, only the official rules people can definitely “confirm.”
-
OK, it’s round one. UK sends a transport to Greece on the non-combat move making it British. UK then also land fighters on Greece.
I was under the impression planes couldn’t land the same round. The rulebook seems to confirm that, but I’ve been wrong before.
I agree with that the rule book says you can’t…
Both of you are correct:
@rulebook:
Phase 4: Noncombat Move
…
Where Units Can Move
…
Air Units: An air unit must end its move in an eligible
landing space. Air units can land in any territory that
was friendly (but not friendly neutral) at the start of the
current turn.
…HTH :-)
-
One exception: If the Friendly Neutral has been attacked by the opposite side already. Then it doesn’t need to be converted for you to land planes on it.
In the Greece UK1 example, that would require Germany to send a plane to attack it.
-
One exception: If the Friendly Neutral has been attacked by the opposite side already. Then it doesn’t need to be converted for you to land planes on it.
In the Greece UK1 example, that would require Germany to send a plane to attack it.
By that German attack Greece would immediately join the Allies.
UK could then land a plane in Greece already being a friendly territory, as allowed by the quoted rule, too. -
Thanks for the replies everyone.
As it happens, there was some confusion about when the planes actually landed, so it turns out both my opponent and I were correct in a sense.
The UK planes actually landed on Greece during Italy’s turn after an adjacent UK carrier was damaged, so the move was legal after all.
My bad for incorrectly believing the planes landed on Greece during the UK turn, and neither of us realized what the other was talking about. :-D
Good to see our fellow AAAers always ready to help out with good answers, though, so thanks again all. :-)