A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
Combined arms clarification
-
Our house group plays 2nd Edition rules. We have playing under the assumption that for combined arms to be in effect, the two units must originate from the same territory. However, I was watching a G40 strategy video and the maker was using combined arms even though the units did not originate from the same territory.
An example would be on G1, Germany used the fighter from Holland and the tactical from West Germany. Does the tactical benefit from combined arms in this case?
Obviously(?), a mech infantry must begin its movement in the same territory as a tank to benefit from blitzing, right?
Are we playing this correctly or not? :?
-
Good day NavyMule.
You have been playing that wrong. For combat, it does not matter from where the Tac originates. The bonus is added (like your Dutch/ German example).
As you have said, it only matters for movement: a Mech must move both spaces with a Tank to Blitz. -
We have playing under the assumption that for combined arms to be in effect, the two units must originate from the same territory.
This is correct for pairing a MechInf with a Tank for blitzing, only.
@rulebook:
Blitz: A mechanized infantry unit must normally stop when it enters an enemy controlled territory. However, when paired
one-for-one with a tank, it can make a blitz movement (see “Tanks,” page 27) along with that tank. The movement of both
units must start and end in the same territories.All the other combined arms benefits apply to the Combat phase only. See the blue box on page 18:
@rulebook:
…
Some unit types require one-to-one pairing with
another unit type and may be paired with more
than one other unit type. Each unit may be paired
with only one other unit at the same time, but may
be paired with different units at different times
during the same turn. For example, an individual
artillery unit may not be paired with both an
infantry and a mechanized infantry during the same
combat round in the Conduct Combat phase in
order to make both units attack at 2. However, the
same mechanized infantry unit may be paired with
a tank during the Combat Move phase in order
to blitz, and then be paired with an artillery in the
Conduct Combat phase in order to attack at 2. -
Thank you! That makes such a huge difference for the Axis in the early game.
-
Also you can combine different arms into one big one and it still counts as I have clarified this. Example; Mech Infantry, Artillery, Tank, and Tactical bomber can all be combined for there strengths as long as it still remains a 1:1 ratio. And there is only one defensive combined arms which is destroyer allowing aircraft to target submarines.
-
@Caesar:
Also you can combine different arms into one big one and it still counts as I have clarified this. Example; Mech Infantry, Artillery, Tank, and Tactical bomber can all be combined for there strengths as long as it still remains a 1:1 ratio.
To be clear about this:
@rulebook:
Some unit types require one-to-one pairing with another unit type and may be paired with more than one other unit type.
Each unit may be paired with only one other unit at the same time, but may be paired with different units at different times
during the same turn.
For example, an individual artillery unit may not be paired with both an infantry and a mechanized infantry during the same
combat round in the Conduct Combat phase in order to make both units attack at 2. However, the same mechanized infantry unit may
be paired with a tank during the Combat Move phase in order to blitz, and then be paired with an artillery in the Conduct Combat phase
in order to attack at 2.@Caesar:
And there is only one defensive combined arms which is destroyer allowing aircraft to target submarines.
No. The combination is always valid, regardless of attacking or defending.
-
I mean the destroyer + aircraft rule isn’t exclusive to attack as combined arms likes to make it seem.