@lagouyn said in 1941: combat move rule uncertainty:
Does this paragraph just mean you control a territory you’ve vacated until an enemy captures it?
Hi lagouyn
Yes. That is what it means.
Me and my family rather enjoy playing axis and allies and currently experimenting with the 1941 version. My question is about a debate I got in with my cousin. If you are moving a plane into naval combat in the sea and the sea zone is in its 4th/last move space however you are also bringing an aircraft carrier into that zone is it a legal move for the plane to engage in combat than land on the carrier in the same zone after? My cousin was arguing that the plane can only move into a 4th space to land on a carrier but not engage in combat on a fourth move than land.
Welcome to the forum, Guitarboo88.
You are right - and your cousin is wrong:
@rulebook:
Air Units
Each air unit that moves in the Combat Move phase must generally reserve
part of its Move value for the Noncombat Move phase, when it must return
to a safe landing place using its remaining movement. See page 23 for
examples.
An air unit’s movement in any complete turn is limited to its total Move
value. For example, a bomber has Move 6, but it cannot move 6 spaces to
end its movement in a hostile space. It must save enough movement points
to get to a friendly territory where it can land. A fighter can move up to its
full Move value of 4 to attack in a sea zone, but only if a carrier could be
there for it to land on by the end of the Mobilize New Units phase.
HTH :-)